Old 7th August 2024, 13:45   #766

re: Scoop! Tata Curvv test mule spotted in India. EDIT: Curvv Petrol launched at Rs. 10.00 lakh

Originally Posted by harry10 View Post
Liked the Presentation.
No unnecessary fillers and to the point.
Tata has put almost every feature think able in Curvv ev. It's a love or hate design. I love it because it brings in a new segment in our car space. If priced right this will be a smashing hit in Ev space. A real world range of 400kms is very good for outstation trips.

By the way if I was in market to buy a car in this price range this will be on top of my list. Got tiago ev 10 days back and I am already a convert from ICE to Ev.

Edit- Priced decent in my opinion.
I am having too much of a buyers remorse, brought a Punch EV 3 months back, love it but its real-world 240 km to 90% range is too tight for me for highway use which is my primary use, already have done 12k kms and a 350kms real world EV would have been perfect for me. Looking at these prices what a miss for me, Kudos Tata you are epic!!!
mh09ad5578 is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 7th August 2024, 13:47   #767

re: Scoop! Tata Curvv test mule spotted in India. EDIT: Curvv Petrol launched at Rs. 10.00 lakh

Originally Posted by PrasannaDhana View Post
Nexon EV MR Creative Plus is 14.5 lakhs ex showroom

That is, 2 lakhs cheaper than Curvv EV 45

Attachment 2638026

Comparing the Nexon EV and Nexon 1.5 turbo diesel, the latter is a little over a lakh more expensive than the EV, for the same variant.

If we had to see the same trend with Curvv EV 45 and Curvv 1.5 Kryojet, it puts the diesel Curvv Creative Plus(pretty loaded variant) at 19L on road ball park.

Decent pricing, if it happens.

I don't understand why Tata has to play hide and seek with ICE prices like this. They should have revealed it today.
Unfortunately it won't work out like this. Curvv is a >4m car, which means that the taxation for ICE will be worse compared to EV. For sub-4m, it's 5% v/s 29/32% for EV v/s petrol/diesel, whereas for >4m it'll be 5% v/s 43/45% for the same.

You need to add ~15% compensation cess to your pricing to get a better estimate.
darkgamer is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 7th August 2024, 13:49   #768

Infractions: 0/2 (11)

Originally Posted by DicKy View Post
The Curvv was initially said to be launched as an EV first, but when the last concept was unveiled, it was said that the diesel will be launched first, with no news of the petrol.
Those were Autocar rumour mongering, the company was very clear that it will be an EV first launch.

Originally Posted by DicKy View Post
Basalt was initially said to be a Honda City competitor, but in a high riding form.
The City is a more premium product, the C3 on which this is based, was designed and built for the budget conscious buyer and the primary focus was to keep costs low unlike the Honda. Hence the C3s 6 lac price tag. In my personal opinion, I do not think people in the market for a Honda City, Verna etc... will be looking at the Citroen currently and vice versa.
shortbread is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 7th August 2024, 13:51   #769

Originally Posted by darkgamer View Post
Unfortunately it won't work out like this. Curvv is a >4m car, which means that the taxation for ICE will be worse compared to EV. For sub-4m, it's 5% v/s 29/32% for EV v/s petrol/diesel, whereas for >4m it'll be 5% v/s 43/45% for the same.

You need to add ~15% compensation cess to your pricing to get a better estimate.
That's the reason why Nexon Diesel is more expensive than the Nexon EV. (15.3 vs 16.4 L otr)

Curvv EV 45 will be 18.5 L otr
I estimate diesel Curvv at 19.5 ish.

Last edited by PrasannaDhana : 7th August 2024 at 13:53.
PrasannaDhana is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 7th August 2024, 13:51   #770

Originally Posted by udaikalra01 View Post
Really excited to see the Tata Curvv get “unveiled” for the (checks notes) 4th time!
Originally Posted by mh09ad5578 View Post
I am having too much of a buyers remorse, brought a Punch EV 3 months back, love it but its real-world 240 km to 90% range is too tight for me for highway use which is my primary use, already have done 12k kms and a 350kms real world EV would have been perfect for me. Looking at these prices what a miss for me, Kudos Tata you are epic!!!
Same for me as well. felt cheated
DHARM is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 7th August 2024, 13:53   #771

I am comparing the Curvv EV and Curvv ICE diesel. Both 4+ m tax class.

Not Nexon Diesel and Curvv diesel directly. I just replicated the trend in pricing between Nexon EV vs Nexon Diesel to the pricing of Curvv EV and estimated Curvv Diesel price.
Yes, and for that you need to account for the extra tax the government will take from Curvv ICE variants.

Tata won't be able to keep the price parity like it was able to for nexon because of the additional cess for ICE Curvv.

Let me clarify:

ICE variants for 4+m cars get extra cess, while EVs have flat GST of 5% regardless of vehicle length, power, manufacturer etc etc.

Last edited by darkgamer : 7th August 2024 at 13:55. Reason: added clarification
darkgamer is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 7th August 2024, 13:55   #772

Yes, and for that you need to account for the extra tax the government will take from Curvv ICE variants.

Tata won't be able to keep the price parity like it was able to for nexon because of the additional cess for ICE Curvv.
Yes I misread your response. I have corrected the previous post. Pls check.
Old 7th August 2024, 13:57   #773

That's the reason why Nexon Diesel is more expensive than the Nexon EV. (15.3 vs 16.4 L otr)

Curvv EV 45 will be 18.5 L otr
I estimate diesel Curvv at 19.5 ish.
Yes I misread your response. I have corrected the above post. Pls check.
Cheers. However you're still not accounting for the extra cess that's only on the ICE Curvv but not on EV.

The extra cess is only applied to ICE cars >4m. So by this estimation, I expect ICE curvv diesel to be around 22.5 lakhs accounting for the additional 15% cess.
darkgamer is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 7th August 2024, 14:00   #774

Cheers. However you're still not accounting for the extra cess that's only on the ICE Curvv but not on EV.

The extra cess is only applied to ICE cars >4m. So by this estimation, I expect ICE curvv diesel to be around 22.5 lakhs accounting for the additional 15% cess.
Ah yes!

So now the hope is to look at lower variants Smart - Pure - Adventure so that the sticker price is lower enough to give a good competition to the Koreans.

EVs don't get those lower variants.
PrasannaDhana is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 7th August 2024, 14:02   #775

Ah yes!

So now the hope is to look at lower variants Smart - Pure - Adventure so that the sticker price is lower enough to give a good competition to the Koreans.

EVs don't get those lower variants.
Yes, or they juggle the features of different variants a bit, or reduce their profit margins on the ICE cars.

The tax laws are highly unfortunate. However, the silver lining with Curvv is that the 55kwh EV has enough range that it can be a primary car for a lot of households (which can get a charger installed in parking).
darkgamer is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th August 2024, 14:10   #776

I'm interested in the Currv EV and I liked the pricing and the fact that they are planning to launch 4 exclusive EV showrooms in Kerala (so issues with servicing also taken care) -- wondering what will be the onroad prices here as there's no 0 road tax in Kerala like in Tamilnadu/Gujarat etc. Variant wise am thinking Accomplished +S at 19.99 ex-showroom has all the necessary goodies? Only powered seat and ventilated seats missing,right?
Krishnan83 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th August 2024, 14:10   #777

Got the brochure for the TATA curv ev.
File Type: pdf Curvv.ev Brochure.pdf (7.01 MB, 146 views)
luffy_op is online now   (22) Thanks
Old 7th August 2024, 14:22   #778

Has anyone managed to get the brochure for the curvv ev??
Old 7th August 2024, 14:22   #779

Originally Posted by sri_tesla View Post
No matter how many features they will cram in their cars, people will not buy if they ignore the most important EV specs (range and charging speed). They also need to price their EVs much lower. Otherwise, they will lose their first-mover advantage in no time to the likes of MG and Mahindra. They should do away with small battery variants of Tiago and Punch EVs and price all their models by 2-3 lakhs lower. Also, the DC charging speed has to be at least 60KW going forward, especially for Currv EV.
Tata has addressed most major concerns (Price, range, and charging speed) with the Currv EV. Currv EV 45 is priced to compete with the XUV400 40kWh battery variant. Currv EV has a bigger battery (45 kWh), and faster charging speed (70KW?) at a similar price. Cuurv EV 55 is priced to compete with ZS EV, and the variant distribution also closely matches ZS EV variants. Currv EV comes with a slightly bigger battery at a similar price to the ZS EV.

With the Currv EV launch, I don't see any reason for people to pick up the Nexon EV at current prices. They need to axe the smaller battery variants of Nexon, Punch, and Tiago EVs and reduce the prices of bigger battery variants by 2-3 lakhs. They are already giving huge discounts on EVs due to a huge decline in EV sales. 5% GST, PLI schemes, and rapidly declining battery prices allow them to reduce prices a lot.

Now, Mahindra and MG need to price their upcoming EVs (XUV 300 EV, MG Windsor EV) well to compete with Currv EV. Mahindra may also need to reduce the prices of XUV 400 EV to compete well with Curvv EV.
sri_tesla is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 7th August 2024, 14:25   #780

I think the curvv is very well priced.

Worth mentioning is how the curvv ev absolutely blows the mg zs ev out of the water (on paper at least mind you)

Has a bigger battery, more features, is similarly sized has comparable power figures (despite being lower than the zs)

And even then a mere 7 horsepower increase for 4 lakhs more does not sound enticing at all.

The curvv ev will definitely kill the long range nexon ev unless tata decides another price reduction for the nexon ev LR and to accommodate the nexon the punch ev too might see a drop in prices.

I think despite the tiago being a great product it's either time for a complete overhaul or a price drop making it even more affordable.

Also dashcam included in the accessories is a great touch.

The blind view camera should have been integrated in the drivers display a long time ago, but it has been done now and I hope that tata adds an option in the existing cars to switch the blind view monitor to the drivers display.

Also seems like lane keep assist will be available right from launch which is good.

Tata is on a roll with their EVs and they might have finally fixed their largest problem with the petrol engine too. All that remains is the after sales service and fit and finish now and I don't think anything stands in their way of that #2 spot.

Also funny how a tata is now the most powerful car below 20 lakhs ��
Spectral189 is offline   (24) Thanks