Old 14th August 2007, 16:15   #16

Originally Posted by hkanitkar View Post
Hi guys,

Spotted a Merc R class - light champagne colour - on BMCC road yesterday. Sadly, i did not get time to get any pics. Also, couldn't see if the car was registered or on test as he just zoomed away, but my guess is it was here for homologation.

Any news on R class being launched in India ????

are you sure it is not GL-class,cause i heard that GL class was targeted for the Q7 and the range rover as it is more or less of the same size and also a good off roader
Old 14th August 2007, 16:37   #17

seen a white coloured one in delhi near the khan market area. did not have time to take pictures of the car as it was crossing me. will keep an eye open and get pictures
Old 14th August 2007, 16:40   #18

very nice beauty....hope they will launch this with all new C-class..
so whats the price?? 30 lakhs??
Old 14th August 2007, 18:01   #19

Originally Posted by tushky View Post
very nice beauty....hope they will launch this with all new C-class..
so whats the price?? 30 lakhs??

LMAO.. 30 lakhs for an r class?

no ways dude..

it will be defiantely above the pricing of the e class..
Old 14th August 2007, 19:47   #20

R-class with sports suspension package would definitely be something many will look for. I wonder if there is any AMG on R class.

Unfortunately it has everything apart from bling factor going for it, which is one reason why this product does not get the accolades it deserves.

Last edited by 1100D : 14th August 2007 at 19:48.
Old 14th August 2007, 19:51   #21

Saw one in Bangalore last Friday

At JP Nagar/ Jaynagar or thereabouts at about 4:35PM. I thought it looked like a real beaut. Looks taller in reality than it appears in the pics. Very refined and classy. Very Merc in its stance.
Old 14th August 2007, 20:07   #22

Is the above photo snapped by you? :
If not, why is it here?
Old 14th August 2007, 20:20   #23

Originally Posted by speedzak View Post
Is the above photo snapped by you? :
No, it's not.

Originally Posted by speedzak View Post
If not, why is it here?
1. if we were having a discussion about the R series, would it matter if I shot the pic or someone else did?. Good pictures make a conversation richer.
2. because the posting tool allows me to link to external web images.

Sheesh, if there is a protocol against posting external pics, it certainly missed me. I know better now.
Old 14th August 2007, 20:21   #24

Originally Posted by AMATMO View Post

are you sure it is not GL-class,cause i heard that GL class was targeted for the Q7 and the range rover as it is more or less of the same size and also a good off roader
the GL class is on the same grounds as the ML class. the R class is in a different league. it is a cross over, something in between a car and a van.
the car should be priced around 50 lacs or more not less for sure.
GL class.
Old 14th August 2007, 21:01   #25

I've never really liked the design of the R-class.Seemed like any other crossover/MUV.
I was wondering..Are all mercs now sold as imports that have been assembled out of India,or are they all assembled within India?
Old 14th August 2007, 22:04   #26

Originally Posted by 1100D View Post
R-class with sports suspension package would definitely be something many will look for. I wonder if there is any AMG on class.
Ask and ye shall get one.
Please allow me to introduce to you the R63 AMG.

Type: V8 Displacement cu in (cc): 383 (6208) Power bhp (kW) at RPM: 503(375) / 6800 Torque lb-ft (Nm) at RPM: 465(630) / 5200 Redline at RPM: 7200
Remember how you enjoy throwing your RWD sports car into the corners when driving alone? Now you can do the same with your wife and three kids.
Old 15th August 2007, 00:31   #27

nitin the mercedes sold as imports in india are assembled outside the country.
1100d there is the r63 amg like mentioned by mayavi and also brabus is tuneing the r class as well. so if you want more power head to brabus with the r class.
Old 15th August 2007, 01:19   #28

I don't know how you guys would rate fifth gear reviews but they certainly don't like it,[2 stars only].

Fifth gear review
Not Recommended. This curiously impractical 4x4 MPV will appeal to Mercedes badge-snobs, but almost nobody else.
Source:
Mercedes R Class review, road test, prices - Fifth Gear

Top gears take[they have given a better 4 star for this vehicle]:
Mercedes will run out of letters before it runs out of ridiculous ideas for cars. The R-Class is a 4WD luxury SUV crossover thingy. And it makes John Prescott look pretty

While there's no doubt this is an interesting yet practical alternative to a full-size MPV and SUV, it's essentially a rather expensive people carrier, especially one that has one seat less than premium rivals such as the Espace.
Source:
Top Gear | Drives | Overview
Old 15th August 2007, 09:30   #29

First don't go by Top geat and fifth gear alone.

people who have tested it on a lng term basis loved it.

Car is an experiment to see how far the MPV market can go. The R uses M/GL platform so investment is not too much.

In the UK, the R63 has been discontinued and also the R500. Not sure worldwide. folloed one on the motorway and boy they move and are stable
Old 15th August 2007, 12:39   #30

Many people (yes! That includes me too.) were shocked when this huge bread box was launched by Mercedes. Many automobile enthusiasts went to their limits putting out their kind hatredness on this one. Some even called it as a shame on Mercedes because they felt it was some desperate action to mimic BMW.

But about a year after the launch, many tongues took a uturn. Some drove back fast and others took time. Then it was time to shower praises on this shapeless Mercedes breadbox. Almost everywhere this car was launched, it didn't fail to impress except some rare cases.

It is indeed a niche market this car is focused upon. And that niche market has it's presence in our country, that too in a good respectable amount compared to other niche markets.

Hence, no wonder why it is considered by Mercedes here.
And for the customers it is intended to, does price make any difference?