Old 4th May 2009, 12:28   #481

just got a call from my local dealer here at chennai..
She gladly said that the car would arrive in showrroms by this month end and will be available from june..
So, waiting for a test drive..I am almost certain to book this car,as i'm 6'3'' tall and have no good choices in this category..I love the swift but i hv to own it at the cost of rear seat passenger space..
Old 4th May 2009, 13:12   #482

I had gone to the showroom on saturday and spoken to the sales guy:

Here are few details i got :
1.The engines would be same as the Linea spec
2.The top end cars would come with alloys & Blue&Me.
3.Orders have already been placed and the cars are expected by May end
4.Bookings & Delivery will open once the national launch has been confirmed(which will be anytime between first and 2nd week of June).

Prices for the top end diesel would be between 6.5-7 lacs.

After the Jazz prices were announced today, I have almost decided on the GP. Keeping my fingers crossed now for the launch .
Old 4th May 2009, 14:15   #483

Originally Posted by aqualeo2040 View Post
Ex-showroom, or, on-road?
Old 4th May 2009, 14:44   #484

Originally Posted by Su-47 View Post
Ex-showroom, or, on-road?
Sorry, missed that one.
Its On Road price.

We definitely have a winner here if FIAT plays the card well.
Old 4th May 2009, 15:14   #485

The price appears to be a bit steep.Unless fiat keeps the topend diesel variant around bottom of 6lakhs it cannot expect the product to succeed and will get the same fate as the fabia..The swift is too good to be beaten at this position..People would definitely think twice to shell out those few grands for a product which has just a little more space and with an uncertain A.S.S..We can expect an aggressive pricing atleast for the intitial few days as Fiat needs to market the product by the product itself for which the car needs to be on road..
Any idea why fiat is not going to bring "Bold Red Color"? When something that attracts the customer is not being offered, doesn't the company lose customers??
Hope Fiat's listening!!

P.S: From whatever pics of the indian version i have seen, the interiors appear bland and not striking, the alloys are not that catchy either..Hope we get a spiced up product..
Old 4th May 2009, 15:29   #486

Saw 8 GP's being tested at the Katraj Ghat on Pune Satara Highway yesterday, being driven in a nice synchronized fashion..
Old 4th May 2009, 16:33   #487

Its On Road price.
Fantastic. If Fiat launches it at 6.5 with the safety gear, it would be good fun to watch this segment. Its time that the Swift Vdi sees some real competition.

And, I hope the success of Linea (and maybe GP as well) doesn't get into the heads of Tata-Fiat dealers. The dealers (and service centers) screwed Palio. Hope the story is different this time around.

Originally Posted by ram_hyundai View Post
The launch date would be June 3rd nation
... Hope punto repeats what linea has already done.
Thanks for the info on the launch date.

I feel that, the Punto has the potential to better what Linea has done. The segment of people willing to buy a nice spacious hatch isn't that small. Its just that there are no good options available today for a serious buyer.
i20: I drive i10-kappa and its not the torquiest engine. Not difficult to extrapolate the performance of i20.
Swift: Not as spacious as a premium-ish hatch should be.
Getz-Crdi: Has the goods, but doesn't have the looks or the safety gear.
Fabia: It is a Skoda.

Lets see how things pan out with Ritz-DDis and Jazz. The next two months would be fun-filled.

Su-47

Last edited by Su-47 : 4th May 2009 at 16:46.
Old 4th May 2009, 16:35   #488

The launch date would be June 3rd nation wide and the trainings would happen by may 14th.Already fiat product managers are called for product enlightening meet in mumbai.Hope punto repeats what linea has already done.

ram
Old 4th May 2009, 17:34   #489

Thats great news Ram & good to see you back
Old 4th May 2009, 17:48   #490

I had gone to the showroom on saturday and spoken to the sales guy:

Wow! with all the goodies if the top end diesel is coming around 6.5 lacs then I am surely booking one

FIAT pls dont remove Climate Control.
Old 4th May 2009, 18:01   #491

An Observation!

The incidents might look isolated,but they sure do link up remotely.
A classical example of the 'chaos theory' i would say.

Ever noticed how Fiat and Yamaha's India comeback plans have been similar?

1.Yamaha upgrades it last decently selling model, then launches a no-competition bike(R15).---- Fiat upgraded the Palio and then launched the Linea

2.After setting the market expectations to higher standards and better quality, Yamaha launches a stunner of a bike(read VFM)which has set sales charts on fire, mainly because of the product's excellent pricing.--- Fiat is about to launch a similar product with very good VFM and competitive pricing.

Any suspicion as to why they are linked in MotoGP??

Could be a conspiracy theory! just my observation maybe.
Apologies for the OT, but couldnt find a better place to post this!
Old 4th May 2009, 20:36   #492

Great news if Punto is getting launched in June. I can't wait to have a test drive. I am almost sure getting one for myself come what may.

@aqualeo2040
yes, Fiat and Yamaha seem to walk similar paths in India. Both make good products, but don't know how to market them.
Old 4th May 2009, 20:42   #493

Im waiting eagerly for Grande Punto...Its time to see this car on Indian roads at last.
Old 4th May 2009, 21:41   #494

Had almost decided on a Swift. Waiting to check GP.

@ Cliffhanger..

Which dealer did u check out in Chennai. I am from chennai too...
Old 4th May 2009, 22:45   #495

Ahh finally a hot hatch which hopefully isnt as overpriced as Jazz ! I just love this hatchback, the white Abarth one is droollll. Bring it on Fiat!