Old 4th December 2024, 13:03   #256

re: Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)

Here are the key highlights from the launch event:

- Honda aim for zero environmental impact by 2050
- Will continue to be invested in ICE, while expanding electric powertrains; no mention of hybrids, surprising considering that Maruti will invest in hybrids in their affordable models
- 3 new nameplates to arrive by 2026-'27
- Amaze will be the most affordable car with ADAS in India
- Amaze contributes to 40% of Honda's sales
- 50% Amaze buyers are 1st time car buyers
- 5.8 lakh Amaze customers to date
- Many standard features
- 6 colours will be on offer; no dual tone
- Test drives and sales to start from today

Key features:

- Will continue with the same 1.2L i-VTEC petrol engine; produces 90hp and 110 Nm of torque, available with a 5-speed MT and 7-step CVT
- Fuel efficiency:
MT - 18.65 km/l
CVT - 19.46 km/l
- Turning radius = 4.7m
- Features like LED bi-projector headlights + fog lights, LED taillights, wireless charger, anti-pinch driver's window with auto up-down, 8-inch touchscreen with wireless smartphone connectivity, 6-speaker sound system, lane watch camera, remote engine start-stop, smart keyless entry with walk away door lock, paddle shifters with CVT.
- 6 airbags standard, 3-point seatbelts and rear headrests for all passengers
- 37 connected car features
- Honda Connect with 5-years free subscription
- Lane-watch camera
- Segment first ADAS
- Three variants: V, VX, ZX; all variants will get MT and CVT options
- Ground clearance = 172 mm
- 416L bootspace
- Wheelbase = 2470 mm
- Standard warranty of 3 years / unlimited kilometers

Introductory prices of the Honda Amaze; to be valid for 45 days from today:

Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-screenshot-20241204-124727.png

More screenshots:

Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-screenshot-20241204-123550.png

Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-screenshot-20241204-123131.png

Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-screenshot-20241204-122626.png

Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-screenshot-20241204-122547.png

Name:  Screenshot 20241204 122413.png
Views: 453
Size:  251.6 KB

-------------------

In my opinion, the pricing of the higher variants is slightly optimistic. The ZX CVT commands a price premium of 1.2 lakhs over the MT. Considering that the Dzire tops out at 10.14 lakhs, I feel the Amaze could've been priced slightly lower - but then again, Honda uses a more sophisticated CVT instead of an AMT. On the other hand, the base variant looks fairly VFM, considering all the standard features it packs in.

All in all, I'm quite excited to see the numbers this will do

Last edited by CentreOfGravity : 4th December 2024 at 13:22.
CentreOfGravity is offline   (28) Thanks
Old 4th December 2024, 13:07   #257

Overall a nice product from honda. I think they should have given an entry level trim E with barebone interior with price close to Dzire to boast the pricing. Waiting for the official team bhp review.
3HAR6AV is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th December 2024, 13:08   #258

India's most affordable car with ADAS for 969000/-
As a sedan lover i am looking forward for atleast 1 premium sedan like civic from honda.Honda please focus on Indian market.
Old 4th December 2024, 13:08   #259

Good enough pricing, happy to see VX CVT under 10L ex showroom, good job Honda . With the exponential growth of SUVs across all segments, it will not be easy for Honda to retain the same or more numbers that the Amaze used to do.

More so with the segment leader Maurti DZire also getting better looks and safety, it would be interesting to see how the numbers look for Honda in 2-3 months.

Last edited by tsi_niks1989 : 4th December 2024 at 13:11.
tsi_niks1989 is online now   (8) Thanks
Old 4th December 2024, 13:08   #260
REN

Good pricing across the range. Clean exterior and interior design, physical buttons all around, 4-cyl engine, CVT, good safety kit with an option of ADAS, option of 10-year warranty — Amaze for me is now the most sensible choice around 10 lakhs considering the competition comes with 3 cylinders and AMTs.

The lack of centre armrest when I saw the leaked videos yesterday irked me - glad to know that they are providing one as an official accessory.

Last edited by REN : 4th December 2024 at 13:13. Reason: Added a point
REN is offline   (17) Thanks
Old 4th December 2024, 13:09   #261

New amaze looks much better than outgoing version. But still it is just face and rear has been re-done. I think side profile and bonnet are more or less same. So it is not all new AMAZE.

Using face and rear of Elevate and city has given good result to Amaze, but it still lacks novelty factor which Dzire has given. Still, happy that they have not used lot of chrome in the grill and border of the square grill is black. So for me it's a mix bag.

Honda still needs serious efforts to change their attitude to sustain in India by pouring fresh blood in their body and mind. Competition is way ahead in all the aspects and Honda is stuck in their old school approach. Needs new engine, new body style, new products to survive.

All the best.
nikvint is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 4th December 2024, 13:14   #262

Originally Posted by gopalnt View Post
Honda should be applauded for maintaining 4 cylinder engine rather than downgrading to 3 cylinder in the name of fuel efficiency.
Nah - that would have meant more development costs. The current 1.2L has been in production long enough and would have reached efficiencies of scale vs using an all new engine.

Originally Posted by gopalnt View Post
Difference between base and top trim MT & CVT is 1.2 lakhs. But for mid spec, the difference is only 90k. What could be the reason?
That is to price it <10L as in some states this is the start of the next higher tax slab. Great move IMO! And kudos to Honda for the same.

Does anyone know if the gear indicator besides the lever, is backlit?

All in all looks like a very good package indeed esp in comparison with the high pricing of the auto variants of the current crop of sub compact 'SUV's.

Only miss is probably the 'mostly useless' sunroof at least in the top end variant. But that would have added developmental costs to strengthen the roof and driven up the top end prices further.

Good job Honda. Now only if the masses can humour you with sales.
kedar_GT is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 4th December 2024, 13:21   #263

19kml mileage claim for CVT is bogus. My Amaze barely gives 11kpl in city and 15 on highway, irrespective of how you drive.

I checked the invoice of my VX CVT which we bought a year ago. Ex showroom price was 9.8 lacs. VX was the top most variant back then. Now the ZX costs a lac more. Not sure if this is justified enoughh.

Between two useless features, I will pick the one with more desirability. I wish they offered a sunroof. I am yet to come across a person who properly uses ADAS to its full potential. But I think Honda has given it ADAS for bragging rights.

Edit: Now imagine if VW/Skoda came up with a sub 4m sedan. Proper action in the sedan space. It shouldn't be too tough for them to do so IMO.

Last edited by saikishor : 4th December 2024 at 13:24.
saikishor is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 4th December 2024, 13:29   #264

Originally Posted by saikishor View Post
Between two useless features, I will pick the one with more desirability. I wish they offered a sunroof. I am yet to come across a person who properly uses ADAS to its full potential. But I think Honda has given it ADAS for bragging rights.
There are months where I like the sun-roof. Not exactly useless I would say and gives a sedan a nice premium touch for sure.

Regarding ADAS, these features will eventually trickle down to all cars when prices for the tech comes down and is mandated by regulations. Roads will definitely be safer once all cars on roads come with ADAS. Stuff like rear ending, head on collisions should reduce, while pedestrian safety etc should increase. However, people always find a bad way of using good stuff also. Like eating, drinking, partying in the car while being on the driving seat leaving the car fully on ADAS.

Last edited by saket77 : 4th December 2024 at 13:30.
saket77 is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 4th December 2024, 13:31   #265

Originally Posted by saket77 View Post
There are months where I like the sun-roof. Not exactly useless I would say and gives a sedan a nice premium touch for sure.

Regarding ADAS, these features will eventually trickle down to all cars with prices coming down and mandate by regulation. Roads will definitely be safer once all cars on roads come with ADAS. Stuff like rear ending, head on collisions should reduce, while pedestrian safety etc should increase. However, people always find a bad way of using good stuff also. Like eating, drinking, partying in the car while being on the driving seat leaving the car on ADAS.
I absolutely love sunroofs, especially single pane ones on sedans. Honda should have given this, stupid skip IMO.

I will believe in proper functioning of ADAS the day our roads will be entirely pothole free. Until then, even if I had a car with ADAS, I will drive it with ADAS switched off.

I also feel offering ADAS is a clever way to increase margins by high pricing.
saikishor is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 4th December 2024, 13:36   #266

Here is a proper inside-outside walk around video review of the new Amaze.
Looks under-tired as always.

Mini - Citivate (City + Elevate)

Last edited by fazalmirza : 4th December 2024 at 13:37.
fazalmirza is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 4th December 2024, 13:45   #267

I think Honda are looking at ADAS more from the collision prevention POV than comfort/convenience as in their 2023 ESG report they commit to make ADAS with motorcycle detection standard on cars worldwide by 2030.

Of course first they should probably investigate why Citys are phantom braking at 80 km/h. (ADAS dangerous in India | Sudden, unexpected braking causes rear-end collision)
ron178 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 4th December 2024, 13:47   #268

Originally Posted by CentreOfGravity View Post
Introductory prices of the Honda Amaze; to be valid for 45 days from today:
Fantastic. The car per se has no novelty proposition relative to the previous model, however, addition of equipment and redone exterior and interior can prove to be a nice edge over the new Dzire.

I've seen some people cribbing about lack of a sunroof, but any intelligent prospective buyer would shy away from losing structural integrity of an already small segment car by plonking a hole in the roof. Maruti shouldn't have bothered with a sunroof in Dzire, and it's good Honda hasn't gone down that path and instead utilized that money into offering better comfort.

Overall, my thoughts on the car: -

1: Fantastic pricing. This segment is riddled with first time car buyers who are price conscious and want something reliable to go about. Dzire is a strong competitor, but for a customer who enters the showroom and sees the new amaze, he will feel he's driving a better product. Due to the solid part sharing from the City and Elevate, the equipment in general feels nice and attracts attention.

At 10.89 L one gets the smoothest automatic transmission in the entire segment. The CVT has passed the test of time and in my opinion will be a deal-breaker for many who wouldn't like Dzire's old AMT.

2: I'm happy to see the new trend of airbags and three-point seatbelts these days. One particularly great thing about Honda, which also caught my attention during the launch event, is that they make Auto-headlamps standard on Honda cars equipped with it, meaning you can't put it on OFF position.
Now this rain integration will prove great in increasing safety on Indian roads - particularly on national highways where drivers refuse to turn on their headlights and instead press their hazards and dangerously drive at 80kmph on slippery roads.

I hope ten years down the line, auto-headlamps are standard in most cars.

3- Most aware buyers may find it hard to ignore the 3-cyl arrangement in Maruti's Dzire - Honda's frugal 4-cyl with a CVT can do wonders for people, especially women who're buying a car for the first time. With the highest numbers in the segment, it will also perform better in faster highway drivers than its rival, just what I think as of now. I shall wait for the official review.

4- Skoda must learn from Honda on how to launch a product (can't believe I'm saying this) - keep it simple and concise. Rohit Shetty won't compel people to spend their savings on a car which can't offer a rear wiper in its second highest trim. Instead of wasting money on brand-building in a country where people are loyal to select few brands, should've worked hard to understand what motivates an Indian buyer in this segment to buy a car.

Is it the action-packed movie they'll see on YouTube? Or is it the value your car offers for that individual's hard-earned money?

5- Three launches by FY 26-27 seems like a LONG TIME. They better launch a ground-breaking Honda City next generation by next year or the car I love the most will be a goner, literally. Out of those three launches, let's try and bring a COMPACT SUV to tackle Sonet and Venue head-on (Honda can't score over Breeza, let's be real).

6- It NEEDS a five-star safety rating Honda, please don't screw this up. Four stars will ruin whatever you've worked for. People know the rival has a safer car, and the market has now changed. Adapt.

Finally, I wish them my best. Let's see the reviews and hope people don't flock to the Dzire just for the sunroof. Time to wait and watch.
TheHondaLover is offline   (19) Thanks
Old 4th December 2024, 13:47   #269

With the new Dzire, Maruti took it up a notch in the looks department. Now I feel Honda has matched them with the Amaze. They both look like proper sedans when viewed from the side. Does the Amaze have a raised stance because some of the photos from the front give me a compact SUV vibe?
StarrySky is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 4th December 2024, 13:50   #270

19kml mileage claim for CVT is bogus. My Amaze barely gives 11kpl in city and 15 on highway, irrespective of how you drive.

I checked the invoice of my VX CVT which we bought a year ago. Ex showroom price was 9.8 lacs. VX was the top most variant back then. Now the ZX costs a lac more. Not sure if this is justified enoughh.

Edit: Now imagine if VW/Skoda came up with a sub 4m sedan. Proper action in the sedan space. It shouldn't be too tough for them to do so IMO.
Efficiency: On my CVT Amaze I get 15kmpl within city NCR & 22 on flat highways, cruising at 1500 rpm/80kmph

ADAS: is a life saver. No doubt.

Sunroof: While it looks good, how practical & maintenance free is it in tropical conditions?
carhead is offline   (12) Thanks