Old 11th December 2024, 11:42   #391

Re: Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)

Originally Posted by GhatsGears View Post
I took a test drive of new Amaze CVT on previous weekend. The test drive vehicle was ZX trim, and it had the reverse camera with guidelines (though they are static guidelines)

The sales executive informed that mid and top variant comes up with reverse camera
Thanks for the update.
I will confirm myself whether the VX trim also has these guidelines. No point in not having them.
faust is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th December 2024, 12:07   #392

I've finally received the on-road price list for Amaze 3rd gen. This is without the extended warranty. I've booked ZX CVT. I know the VX CVT is great value for money, but I’m going with the ZX CVT for ADAS as it’ll help my wife, who’s new to driving, and adaptive cruise control will be great on highways.

Is there any room for negotiation on the final on-road price?
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-screenshot-20241211-12.02.108239pm.png  

iVishIDrive is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 11th December 2024, 12:19   #393

Originally Posted by romeomidhun View Post

My advice to Honda: Anyway, you have watered down the "City" brand by giving City'ish design elements to Amaze. Then why can't you call it "City Junior" / "Metro City" / "City Mini" / "Little City" instead of Amaze?

I'm sure City sales can't go down much, as it is already at 3-digit numbers. But Amaze sales can be definitely improved if they rename it after "City".

Your only selling point in India, if any, is the "City" brand name.
Really nice suggestion, totally agree, at this point of time, looking at the kind of numbers the 'City Segment' and City itself are doing, Honda would be better of concentrating on this 'City Junior' as incremental improvements in this offering can easily offset volumes lost from City, heck, if the City Junior performs well enough, it alone can do more volume than the entire 'City Segment' combined and that's why Honda should double down on this segment and leverage the 'City' name.

What they can also do is, jack up the City hatch a bit, launch it as 'City Cross' maybe or something else they may fancy, this will give them better chances (Therefore volumes) in the 'Creta Segment' and at the same time, Honda will be able to evolve the 'City' as a strong sub-brand.
GS2323 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th December 2024, 13:42   #394

When a new Maruti scores 5 stars, a Maruti showroom is near your college, your college leaves you earlier than usual, and you're a car enthusiast, I don't see why you wouldn't drop by to take a look at the car in question! The car in question, ladies and gentlemen, is the new Dzire. Sure, the 5-star safety rating is the big headline here, but for us enthusiasts, a new car = excitement anyway . It is this excitement that took me to the Maruti showroom near Fort, Mumbai to check out the hotly discussed Maruti Dzire. Here are my first impressions of the 2025 Maruti Dzire ZXI+....

Wait a minute.

What am I doing in the Honda Amaze thread? Good question. You see, very rarely does it happen that the next generation models of two well established nameplates are launched hot on the heels of each other. While the new Dzire is a brilliant improvement over the outgoing car, the new Amaze is arguably the most "complete" product in Honda's lineup. If there is a car that can actually pose a challenge to the Dzire, it is the Amaze (not in sales terms of course). Obviously then, I couldn't resist visiting Arya Honda, Prabhadevi the very next day to see how the most affordable ADAS equipped car in India, the all-new Amaze, stacks up against India's best selling sedan!

Do note, I didn't drive either car as I got my driving license recently and didn't want to risk driving brand new cars, so this report doesn't contain driving impressions. And if this helps, we have a 2022 Honda City ZX MT in the garage. Anyway, on with it:

Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-mixcollage11dec20241144am9153.jpg

Maruti Dzire ZXI+:

- The 4th-gen Dzire is easily the best looking Dzire ever. Those clean lines lend it a timeless and be'audi'ful look! I can't comment on the effectiveness of the reflector type LED lights, but they sure tick the box when it comes to 'form'.
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0046.jpg

- The overall proportions are good for a compact sedan except the rear end looks that chopped off. The taillight design is reminiscent of various cars like the Grand i10 Nios, Kylaq, Virtus, XUV700 all at once. Nevertheless, this is a good-looking car. Nice to see four parking sensors in an age where OEMs show 'kanjoosi' (stinginess) and offer only two:
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0043.jpg

- This is a rare Maruti that has many panel gaps - the other one being the Swift. Panel gaps are surprisingly inconsistent:
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0008.jpg

- The front wheel well gets full cladding, while the rear gets partial cladding.
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0044.jpg

- Missed clicking the wheels, but I remember the size = 185/65 R15.

- Yes, the Dzire gets a sunroof, but it is too small - dare I say, almost useless. Is a small sunroof better that having no sunroof at all? No, I don't think so.
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0041.jpg

- The boot is the smallest in the segment at 382L. It does get a boot light. Also, the underside of the boot is exposed. Not nice:
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0007.jpg

- The doors felt slightly heavier that the other Marutis on sale, although to be honest, I do think that the NCAP rating was playing on my mind when I was judging the heft.

- The Dzire is fairly spacious. For reference, I'm a 5'8'' tall 18-year-old with a lean build. Excellent legroom and kneeroom on offer, but the under thigh support is lacking. The headroom is good enough for a sedan, and it's definitely better than our Honda City. I had about 4-5 inches of headroom to spare in the Dzire.

- The headrests are adjustable, but a centre headrest is not provided. Also, the floor hump will come in the way of the centre passenger, resulting in a relatively knees-up position. What comes as a relief is the seat foam that extends all the way to the ends, which means shoulder room would be adequate:
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0040.jpg

- The rear AC vents are too small, placed too low, and raked at an angle too high. I doubt how effective they will be. The central tunnel doesn't look intrusive in this image, but a knees-up position is somehow achieved:
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0042.jpg

- Two reading lights are provided at the back, both of which are positioned beside the grab handles. The grab handles are spring loaded and damped.

- The seat belts aren't adjustable for height. Also, this part felt very flimsy:
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0039.jpg

- Here's the cabin of the new Dzire. I must say, the quality of materials, textures and layers on the dashboard are quite good and well executed. The plastics on the dash don't have that 'typical Maruti feel' to them'. Overall part quality is satisfactory and the cabin looks upmarket. No auto-dimming IRVM here:
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0045.jpg

- A look at the centre console. A driver armrest is a stupid exclusion in an otherwise sorted cabin:
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0036.jpg

- Love the instrument cluster and those sexy needles! This analogue unit is such a breath of fresh air in a sea of half-baked digital dials. Only issue = those ugly stalks that literally stick out like a sore thumb:
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0038.jpg

- Headroom in the front is alright. The sunroof does eat into some of it.

- The front seats are on the narrow side. Seat fabric quality felt decent.

- The front doorpads have a fabric padding to rest your arm on, but none for the rear doors. Strange:
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0035.jpg

- Overall ergonomics are spot on. The footwell area and the placement of the pedals is natural; however, a proper dead pedal is missed in the MT variant.

- The glovebox is fairly sized. It is neither cooled or damped:
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0037.jpg

Honda Amaze ZX:

- The design of the Honda Amaze is a mixed bag for me. I can see the elements of a great design in there, but they don't come together cohesively. The grill is too big for a compact sedan; it should've been trimmed down height-wise. Love the LED projector headlights though, and the integrated LED indicators. Front fascia screams Elevate:
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0034.jpg

- While the overall proportions are fine, the chopped ends spoil the look IMO. Can't really complain much as this is in the sub-4m segment after all:
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0017.jpg

- Front and rear ends look like they were actually chopped off:
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0004.jpg

- This is an interesting design detail = is it to give the car a more 'swooping' look from the side? The Verna has a similar design detail, although it is much more exaggerated which accentuates its 'wannabe coupe' look.
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0006.jpg

- The rear end looks unnecessarily similar to the City, but in person it is not easy to mistake the Amaze for the City thanks to the overall proportions, unless you're a total automotive noob that is. Only two parking sensors at the rear; the Dzire gets four:
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0032.jpg

- Nice to see a request sensor on the passenger door too, something that the Dzire also gets:
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0015.jpg

- This is the camera for the much-talked about ADAS. The Amaze is the most affordable car with ADAS in India. Pardon the reflections in the image:
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0018.jpg

- The ORVMs of the Amaze have now been repositioned to the doors instead of the A-pillar, just like in the City. Notice the lane-watch camera. On the other hand, the Dzire goes one-up on the Amaze with a 360-degree camera.
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0019.jpg

- The showroom car was shod with Goodyear Assurance Triple Max 2 tyres. Size = 185/60 R15 on the top trims; the diameter of the wheels is slightly smaller than the Dzire's. As far as I can tell, the alloys are the machine-cut version of the wheels that came in the V variant of the pre-facelift City. Fun fact: the pre-facelift Indonesian-spec City also had the same machine-cut alloys:
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0033.jpg

- Front wheel well gets partial cladding, while the rear gets none at all. Too bad, considering the Dzire offers full cladding at the front and partial cladding at the rear:
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0005.jpg

- Here's another interesting design detail I found in front of the front wheel. This vent leads to... a hole to the ground?!
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0010.jpg

- The Amaze has a big boot at 416L, second only to the Tigor and that too by 3L. It is definitely bigger than the Dzire not only from the spec sheet standpoint, but also from a practical standpoint. The loading lip is low in both cars. Also, the underside of boot is fully concealed, unlike the exposed one in the Maruti. Good touch!
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0020.jpg

- The spare wheel is a space saver steelie. Spare wheel is weirdly an MRF ZVTV (weird because this vehicle was shod with Goodyears), and the size if 175/70 R14. Notice how this area isn't painted properly:
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0011.jpg

Continued below...
CentreOfGravity is offline   (21) Thanks
Old 11th December 2024, 13:44   #395

- When I opened the door, I was in for a genuine surprise - all the doors are quite heavy, almost "German" heavy! How close their heft is to the Germans' is up for debate, but I can confirm that they are heavier than our City's doors.

- The legroom, kneeroom and under thigh support are fairly good. While the legroom and kneeroom felt slightly lesser than the Dzire, the under thigh support is noticeably better:
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0025.jpg

- Headroom is very similar to the Dzire - here too, I had about 4-5 inches of clearance, but as the clichéd phrase goes, "taller folk might find it inadequate". Comparison of the headroom in both cars (LHS: Dzire; RHS: Amaze):
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0001.jpg

- The centre passenger gets a headrest and 3-point seatbelt. The headrests, although not adjustable, will offer good protection for tall people. Seating three at the back will be manageable and more comfortable in the Amaze, as the central tunnel is far less intrusive than that in the Dzire. Overall, while both cars are spacious for their segment, I found the Amaze to be the car with the better back seat experience. Just like the Dzire, the seat fabric extends all the way to the ends:
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0012.jpg

- The rear AC vents are placed much higher and at a better angle than the Dzire. These are carried over from the City. Notice the 12V charging socket and the relatively small floor hump below:
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0024.jpg

- Halogen reading lamp is provided in the middle. It feels a little cheap.

- A look at the driver's door. Not visible in the picture is the exposed screw near the handle - this is a carry over from the Elevate and it looks cheap in both cars. All doors get the fabric padding unlike the Dzire, which gets it in the front doors only.
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0026.jpg

- The switchgear for the windows and ORVMs is carried over from the Elevate. The driver side window gets the one touch function with anti-pinch. Didn't bother clicking the Dzire's controls as we've been seeing them since 2005 .
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0013.jpg

- This panel is another direct lift from the City. Even the button for adjusting the brightness of the instrument cluster, which I missed clicking, is shared between them.
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0029.jpg

- The footwell area of the Amaze. The brake pedal is slightly above the level of the accelerator - never driven a automatic, so I can't say if this is standard affair or not. Dead pedal is useful:
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0016.jpg

- This panel is extremely flimsy and can be easily bent:
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0014.jpg

- The lever for the steering wheel adjustment looks dated. This comes from the Elevate!
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0028.jpg

- The cabin looks clean, even classy, at a first glance. However, a closer look reveals the average quality of plastics used. The upper black portion of the dashboard is scratchy and of poor quality. The mesh-like element in the middle also looks tacky and plays no part in enhancing the appeal of the dash. This is so 'vanilla' a cabin that it even comes across as boring. The AC controls seem like a direct lift from the Elevate. Side note = didn't get a chance to experience the touchscreen of both cars. Like the Dzire, no auto-dimming IRVM here:
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0023.jpg

- The steering wheel, which is a lift from other Honda cars, shockingly doesn't get the leather-wrapped treatment! Looks ugly IMO. This is something the Dzire gets.
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0031.jpg

- Couldn't click the 7-inch part digital instrument cluster, but I can tell you that it is a joy to use and look at. Information is laid out crisp and clear. One thing to nitpick at = the speedo is only marked till 180 kmph, but honestly, it's a non-issue. I simply can't choose between the Dzire's racy dials and the Amaze's classy display!

- A look at the centre console. Just like the Dzire, a centre armrest is missed. You can see how scratchy the plastics down here look!
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0030.jpg

- As expected from a Honda, ergonomics are on point and everything falls in place naturally.

- The seats felt more accommodating than the Dzire. Both cars get seat height adjustment for the driver. The headroom in the front seat is much better, thanks to the absence of a sunroof. IMHO, the Amaze felt more airy in the front seat in spite of the Dzire having a sunroof.

- Driver gets a grab handle too! Interesting. All grab handles are spring loaded and damped:
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0022.jpg

- The driver also gets a vanity mirror! I like how Honda don't cut costs in these areas:
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0021.jpg

- The glove box is adequately sized. Not too different from the Dzire in terms of capacity.
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0027.jpg

- The Amaze in Obsidian Blue shade. The car featured here had the chrome accessories:
Next-gen Honda Amaze launched at Rs 7.99 lakhs (ex-showroom)-img20241211wa0009.jpg

-----------------------

In my opinion, the Amaze is a culmination of the best parts of the City and Elevate (and also of their physical parts bin ), and it comes together as a great package. Although this car may not be Honda's best effort as such, it is easily one of the most impactful ones because all other segments that Honda operate in are full of options that are far superior to them. The Amaze is Honda's only hope to revive their sales numbers, and they had to give it the best shot. As far as I can tell, they did give it a strong shot indeed.

We all know that no force can stop the Dzire from being the segment leader in terms of sales. With this new gen, sales are only bound to increase as this is easily the best Dzire ever - it has all that one could ask for, while offering the peace of mind of a Maruti. Between these two cars, it is very difficult to pick one as they both are neck and neck, however, I would pick the Dzire for its more cohesive design, richer interiors, and features. The Amaze on the other hand impresses with its space, practicality, features (also) and (hopefully) better driving experience. But in the end, all that matters is that both brands have brought out strong products which leads to intense competition = win-win for the customer! Must say, BHPian @RavenAvi couldn't have made a better purchase decision - loved your review sir!

-------------------

OT: I'd like to talk about my showroom experience at Honda. After I was done checking out the Amaze, I thought of taking a pit stop at the Elevate Apex Edition. And man, was I disappointed. On one hand, I'm so happy that many interior parts trickled down to the Amaze from the Elevate, but on the other, it felt weird to see that the mid-size crossover's cabin had nothing left to distinguish itself from the budget sedan, from a purely aesthetic standpoint. If you want to feel me better, visualise the Creta with a rough sketch of the Aura's interior design and parts. That's actually what it felt like. And the rear bench? It is a shocker, considering how well-packaged the City and Amaze are. While the legroom, kneeroom, under thigh support and headroom are alright, the seat is stupidly narrow! Remember the seat padding in the Amaze that extends all the way to the ends? That isn't the case here, which is probably why is felt so narrow. Don't get me started on the roof-mounted seatbelt for the centre passenger - what an afterthought!

After this, a quick glance at the City's interior was all it took for me to realise that the City has the best interiors in Honda's lineup. That should give you a measure of how low the benchmark is (pun unintended), considering that other cars in that price range have much better interiors; I reiterate before the keyboard warriors start penning down their attack at me: all I said is purely from a cabin aesthetic standpoint. They need to have premium products in their lineup at sensible prices. In general, I want to say many hopeful things about Honda, but there is no point. Sentences that start along the lines of "I hope..., I wish..." have proven futile when it comes to Honda, and therefore, I had decided a while back that I would be a silent spectator until a new product comes out. Must say again though, the new Amaze is an exception in this streak of disappointments. As I bask in this relief today, I go silent again until the next product from Honda arrives, no matter how long it takes.

Thanks for reading. Cheers!
CentreOfGravity is offline   (90) Thanks
Old 11th December 2024, 23:39   #396

Originally Posted by iVishIDrive View Post
I've finally received the on-road price list for Amaze 3rd gen. This is without the extended warranty. I've booked ZX CVT. I know the VX CVT is great value for money, but I’m going with the ZX CVT for ADAS as it’ll help my wife, who’s new to driving, and adaptive cruise control will be great on highways.

Is there any room for negotiation on the final on-road price?
What is the meaning of base price / pearl price in the colour options?
Did you ask about the prices after 45 days (after the introductory period ends)
Old 12th December 2024, 06:49   #397

Originally Posted by faust View Post
What is the meaning of base price / pearl price in the colour options?
Guess it must be the extra charge for pearl white colour option. Atleast that's how it is at Toyota/Lexus.

Wonder why the VX CVT has the same price for both. Typo error?
DicKy is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 12th December 2024, 08:00   #398

Honda Amaze ZX gathers 60 percent of total bookings.

New Honda Amaze deliveries to start by the end of December.

Amaze ZX comes with a camera-based ADAS
Does not get a sunroof on any variant
Customer test drives for the new Amaze are slated to start on December 16, with deliveries expected to commence by late December 2024.

Link:

Last edited by volkman10 : 12th December 2024 at 08:02.
volkman10 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 12th December 2024, 09:38   #399

Originally Posted by DicKy View Post
Wonder why the VX CVT has the same price for both. Typo error?

Checked on the website, it is indeed 9,99,900 for both color options. Probably to keep it under 10L bracket.
sarwahi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th December 2024, 09:48   #400

Originally Posted by volkman10 View Post

Customer test drives for the new Amaze are slated to start on December 16, with deliveries expected to commence by late December 2024.
Already saw my local dealer handing out test drives in demo car. A blue car. Looked nice
Nithesh_M is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th December 2024, 10:46   #401

Originally Posted by ron178 View Post
Amaze prices start at 8L ex-showroom.

I seriously doubt the V variant will have many takers at compact SUV prices, but the ZX manual looks like pretty good value.
60 percent of bookings so far are for the ZX variant, as per this Autocar report. https://www.autocarindia.com/car-new...ookings-433821
chinchu.c is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 12th December 2024, 16:33   #402

Originally Posted by chinchu.c View Post
60 percent of bookings so far are for the ZX variant, as per this Autocar report. https://www.autocarindia.com/car-new...ookings-433821
I thought VX would've had highest bookings as its the most VFM variant esp in auto trim and ZX has ADAS which doesn't appeal to most.
venukrithish is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th December 2024, 17:16   #403

The Dzire simply looks elegant. Parts will be easy to procure, as it is a Maruti. It stands out the most. The Amaze isn't a head turner in my eyes.

Last edited by wheelspinner : 12th December 2024 at 17:17.
wheelspinner is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th December 2024, 17:41   #404

Originally Posted by volkman10 View Post
Honda Amaze ZX gathers 60 percent of total bookings.

New Honda Amaze deliveries to start by the end of December.

Link:
The report conveniently fails to give us the number of total bookings. It can be 100/500/1K/2K. This is yet another example of paid news by ACI. IIRC, even the previous gen had more bookings on top-end. Most of those skipping Dzire and choosing Amaze never had issues with pricing. They wanted the Honda experience.
RaghuVis is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 12th December 2024, 19:25   #405

Originally Posted by chinchu.c View Post
I checked the honda amaze brochure and also saw the price list. For a car costing 11 lacs (for zx manual), it offers tremendous value for money given the features on offer.
mack.mehul is online now   (2) Thanks