Old 4th May 2025, 09:57   #91

Re: Kia Carens facelift spied testing in South Korea

Originally Posted by Xpresstrainfast View Post
Diesels are just so outdated. The BS6 ones are a nightmare to live with, especially with that DPF Filter. Just ask Mahindra owners.
Why not ask Hyundai owners, since Hyundai shares so much tech with KIA? I got pulled into this discussion simply because I bought my first modern diesel car less than 18 months ago. Outdated? no way. DPF filter nightmare? I knew my usage is 90% highway before buying, so I have had zero problems with DPF.

Let's say one gets 12.5 KMPL with the Gas engine (Turbo) and 17.5 KMPL with the Diesel. For 1 km, it is 1/12.5 for the petrol, i.e 2/25. For the diesel, 2/35. When you calculate fuel prices (90 for diesel and 100 for gas), it becomes 200/25 (In simple, 8) per km for petrol and 180/35 for diesel (approx 5.2). You get a difference of 2.8. You need 17,800+ kilometers to justify the differences. Moderator GTO's car has just 56K on the odo after 12 years. In other words, if his coverage was uniform, he needed 3 to 4 years to justify that distance. If you were to argue that he spends half his mileage on media cars, then my father's XL6 probably has just 40K after 5 years, which is 8K a year. Show me a non-cabbie who does 17.8K in a year and I will stop speaking right there.
I have done 18000kms in less than 18 months, and my car stays unused 20 days a month, every month.

Then, don't forget the massive power compromise (158 BHP vs 113 BHP). Also, do you drive the entire time in a such a way that you get 12.5 KMPL? No. We sometimes do casual cruising too. So, it's more than 17.8 KMPL. I also don't like that Diesel clatter. Makes even the more premium cars sound like jugaad trucks.
Hmm, my Tucson diesel AWD has 183bhp/416Nm specs, not a compromise at all. And there is no diesel clatter at all, people are shocked when they hear my car is a diesel.

Kia Carens facelift spied testing in South Korea-pxl_20250429_072439270.mp2.jpg

And here is a screenshot from last week, I took this after driving for one hour on a busy highway. The stat speaks for itself. But if it is not clear, I got 20.5kmpl while driving the car at 73.5kmph average speed for one hour. And this is one of the most powerful cars under 40L (ex-showroom).

Therefore, let's not worry about if diesels are outdated, and come back to the topic.

Last edited by Samurai : 12th May 2025 at 14:58. Reason: typo
Samurai is offline   (29) Thanks
Old 5th May 2025, 11:32   #92

. Show me a non-cabbie who does 17.8K in a year and I will stop speaking right there.
I just clocked 57,800 on my U2 CRDI Creta and it's exactly at 3 year mark. So yes, there are a few folks like us who see real saving driving a diesel. Had this been even a NA petrol it'd have cost me a fortune fuelling the car. I think it's too premature to say that we don't have a market for diesels or anyone should shun it for certain specs on paper. To each their own would be a better argument here.

P.S. Did yet another Chennai-Bangalore-Mysore round trip and tank-to-tank mileage was 22.3 kmpl.
sleepyhead148 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 5th May 2025, 15:23   #93

My love affair with diesel engines started in 2010 with newly launched Ford Figo. Extended this love with XUV 5OO in 2014. Had a brief encounter with exciting TSI engine in VW AMEO for 7 months in 2015 before selling it and moving from IIT Kanpur to Bengaluru. Purchased S CROSS 1.3 ALPHA in 2016 and drove it till 2022 before switching to Sonet D AT. Last year got XUV 7OO AWD.

When I was in the market for purchasing a sub 40 L car then I test drove some turbo petrol engines also. But the connect and the pull you get from higher torque in diesels is unmatched by the turbo petrols. Just remember one thing- in Indian driving conditions you can and will redline the peak torque but rarely you will use the full power of any engine. I will keep on switching to diesels up until these cars are on sale, no matter the usage policy or price premium I have to pay.
marinerandy is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 5th May 2025, 21:37   #94

Originally Posted by Aditya_Bhp View Post
No DPF issues on my BS6.2 1.5CRDi. Also a full tank of DEF last for 20000kms and costs 700rs only.
I own a Diesel AT Carens(BS6.1) and have never faced a single DPF issue *touch wood*

My monthly running is around 2500-3000 kms and most of it its on highways.

For someone like me the only Diesel AT 7 seater in this price range is Carens.

Some one like me a good customer for a Diesel car, even 5 years down the road.

The Clavis looks good in my opinion, when my Carens hits 100K kms(which I predict will be by 2026 end) I may look towards one.

I am very happy with Kia India’s service and support, and will be willing to stick to it.

Last edited by kaustavguha : 5th May 2025 at 21:49. Reason: Added more information
kaustavguha is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 7th May 2025, 18:43   #95

Kia Carens Clavis brochure leaks before launch.

Kia Carens facelift spied testing in South Korea-fb_img_1746623633466.jpg

Kia Carens facelift spied testing in South Korea-fb_img_1746623635678.jpg

Kia Carens facelift spied testing in South Korea-fb_img_1746623639669.jpg

Kia Carens facelift spied testing in South Korea-fb_img_1746623642126.jpg

Last edited by Venkatesh : 7th May 2025 at 18:46.
Venkatesh is offline   (16) Thanks
Old 7th May 2025, 19:53   #96

Knowing the history of Carens, any chances of the Clavis getting a 5 star safety rating?
Old 7th May 2025, 20:17   #97

A big NO for that white interior!

Better wait for the X-Line variant which might get a darker interior.
sharmanova is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th May 2025, 07:47   #98

The Kia Clavis official release

The official release of Kia Clavis is today 12pm live on YouTube. Here is the link for the premiere. They will showcase all the features. It will be sold on the side of the existing carens. Watch on the YouTube channel "Kia India
Mahindra Boi is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 8th May 2025, 12:19   #99

First Look Carens Clavis. Lots of interior bits & pieces borrowed from Syros
Kia Carens facelift spied testing in South Korea-gqafomqxiaaynfk.jpg  

Kia Carens facelift spied testing in South Korea-gqafpbqxeaamvz5.jpg  

Kia Carens facelift spied testing in South Korea-gqafnqlwoaalk5.jpg  

Kia Carens facelift spied testing in South Korea-gqafnqzwmaefd_.jpg  

Kia Carens facelift spied testing in South Korea-gqahptgwuaexks.jpg  

Kia Carens facelift spied testing in South Korea-gqahptgxsaazvb7.jpg  

Kia Carens facelift spied testing in South Korea-gqahptow8aaqqlr.jpg  

Kia Carens facelift spied testing in South Korea-gqahpv_woaaaj04.jpg  

Last edited by RM Motorsports : 8th May 2025 at 12:27.
RM Motorsports is offline   (31) Thanks
Old 8th May 2025, 12:22   #100

Kia Clavis will share its steering wheel with the new Syros and the touchscreen layout with the new Carnival. Price reveal later this month.

Kia Carens facelift spied testing in South Korea-gqaggjlxmaar8ck.jpg

While the Carens comes with a single-pane sunroof, the Clavis will come with a panoramic sunroof.

Kia Carens facelift spied testing in South Korea-gqahno2xyaabnn0.jpg

Kia Clavis will open from 12:01 am tonight for a token amount of Rs 25,000.

Kia Carens facelift spied testing in South Korea-gqahh0xsaa5qbq.jpg

- Will also launch its first all-electric mass-market vehicle which will be based on the Clavis.

- 58% of the buyers preferred to buy a petrol version of the Carens, 32% prefer the AT or the iMT gearbox. 28% of the buyers bought a Carens with a sunroof

- Powertrain options on the Carens Clavis include the familiar 1.5-litre Smartstream NA petrol, 1.5-litre T-GDi turbo-petrol, and 1.5-litre CRDi VGT units. There are multiple transmissions to choose from – six-speed manual, six-speed torque converter automatic, iMT, and seven-speed DCT gearboxes.

- Customers can choose from seven variants, namely HTE, HTE(O), HTK, HTK+, HTK+(O), HTX, and HTX+.

- The Carens Clavis features Kia’s latest design language and gets more features and safety kit than the MPV it is based on, which will continue to be on sale.

- Prices are expected to be announced later this month but there is no clarity on that still.

- Considering the Carens is currently priced between Rs 10.60 lakh and Rs 19.70 lakh, the Carens Clavis will cost a marginal premium.

Last edited by volkman10 : 8th May 2025 at 12:51.
volkman10 is offline   (19) Thanks
Old 8th May 2025, 12:28   #101

Some screen grabs:

Kia Carens facelift spied testing in South Korea-screenshot_20250508122422299_com.google.android.youtube.jpg

Kia Carens facelift spied testing in South Korea-screenshot_20250508122444382_com.google.android.youtube.jpg

Kia Carens facelift spied testing in South Korea-screenshot_20250508122500456_com.google.android.youtube.jpg
sharmanova is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 8th May 2025, 12:38   #102

When the actual details are expected?

There was no mention of variants, price.

What about variants of existing Carens?

I have doubts about existing model as there is an HTE variant in brochure screenshot.

Only one point I could figure out is there will be manual option for turbo.
Vishal.R is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th May 2025, 13:16   #103

Originally Posted by Vishal.R View Post
When the actual details are expected?

There was no mention of variants, price.

What about variants of existing Carens?

I have doubts about existing model as there is an HTE variant in brochure screenshot.

Only one point I could figure out is there will be manual option for turbo.
1. Price reveal, later this month.

2. Variants listed in the above posts.

3. Existing Carens will be sold alongside the Clavis
volkman10 is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 8th May 2025, 13:41   #104

The new Carens feels upmarket but overall layout seems to be same.
Exterior and Interior changes are good, and addition of sunroof is very nice as customer will prefer sunroof models more.

Two things:
Firstly, concern I am having how well it succeeds the NCAP ratings comparing the previous one.

Secondly, how are they going to price as it will surely going to overlap Syros, Seltos and previous Carens

Originally Posted by volkman10 View Post
- Will also launch its first all-electric mass-market vehicle which will be based on the Clavis.
It will be interesting to see when the EV will launch and how much will it cost as it will be first EV MPV (after BYD). For a family 7-seater EV having range above 500 would be mindblowing.

Last edited by Axe77 : 8th May 2025 at 14:14. Reason: Merging back to back posts and trimming quoted post. Please don’t quote entire long posts while replying.
Born2Win is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 8th May 2025, 14:05   #105

Syros has way better interior than this. Sad that KIA didn't bring that into Clavis.

Given that Clavis will be electrified as well, that interior would have sold this a lot better.
aweracker is online now   (3) Thanks