Old 8th October 2004, 04:55   #1

Hey ppl!!

This is THE PLACE to get some good info and help

Ok finally decided on the BMW X5 3.0d. Found out about using Indian diesel and all that. everthings fine. nothing to worry about was what I was told when I spoke to BMW U.K international marketing.

Now for the tough part. Navnit Bangalore has quoted about 52 to 55 lacs. Is this the rite price or is it above what would you would end up paying if you had it imported yourself.

I do know ppl who are innolved in importing cars and we have imported a lot of heavy machinery and trucks using these ppl. What do you guys suggest import it by myself or let navnit handle the whole deal and pay him what hes asking for???

Thanx for all the help.

Civic93_Gen2
Old 8th October 2004, 05:50   #2

seems on the high side, ask him for msrp, along with options etc..

contact bmw germany find the price and then just do 101% for duty...

is 52-55 on road? if so then do the other calculations on your own with octroi and insurance and reg...which comes to 130% additional...

btw good choice

ps:-u got disconnected, didnt get a call back..whats ur num?
Old 8th October 2004, 10:13   #3

I think 52 is about the right price...considering that you are getting a localised car, warranty, white bill and authenticity throughout.

Old 8th October 2004, 21:14   #4

I guess 52L is just about the right price for the car with warranty n stuff.Its priced at about 40K $ in the US.So after conversion its :
40K $ = 18.5L Inr

So that 130% duty,octroi etc comes upto 50L if i'm not mistaken..... So i guess its a fair deal.

X
Old 8th October 2004, 23:12   #5

i said it was on the high side cuz someone bought the 3.0 petrol for 47...

but yeah its not totally off
Old 9th October 2004, 00:31   #6

Off the topic... are the 4.0i and the 4.4i a petrol version??
Old 9th October 2004, 00:46   #7

hey i think thts the right price..find out from the bombay navnit...might not make a diiference but just see
Old 19th March 2005, 21:34   #8

Originally Posted by Stratos
Off the topic... are the 4.0i and the 4.4i a petrol version??

There is no 4.0i for the X5 range. They have a 3.0d, 3.0i, 4.4i &4.8i.They used to have a 4.6i as well which is no longer available.
Old 20th March 2005, 00:07   #9

Why the 3.0d , why not the petrol ?
the amount u would spend extra on fuel will be compensated by the lower price of the petrol model. Plus driving pleasure is a big bonus.
Old 20th March 2005, 08:00   #10

Because if he got the petrol he'll spend another 50 lacs just on fuel for a year LOL!!

And becasue the diesel is better suited for indian driving, more low down torque.
Old 23rd March 2005, 11:44   #11

As far as i know the 530d and the 530i have the same prices with the same equipments. And finally after your road tax, registeration , insurance , transportation and all that in Bangalore it would be in the region of a 59 - 60lakhs.
Old 24th March 2005, 00:48   #12

I was getting a brand new 530i (or was it a 525i) with reg. and all for 47L on road bombay.
So i think you will be getting ripped off.
Old 24th March 2005, 09:59   #13

My friend got his Bangled 530i for 58 on rd in Mumbai.