Old 31st August 2007, 18:40   #31

They cant raise the prices much since they are using the same engine as before.
Old 1st September 2007, 01:57   #32

Originally Posted by Dippy View Post
That would put it right into BMW 320i territory. Am I right Gogi?
yes it does dippy right in the midst of it.

Originally Posted by BUSA View Post
They cant raise the prices much since they are using the same engine as before.
BUSA i just bought the E280CDI so i am working on that formula. the new c would come at a premium and not at the same price as the old one. i have given the actual cost of the current C class and it can be checked with the showroom also. takeing into consideration all the other costs involved i would estimate 32lacs on road. now all we have to do is wait n watch.
Old 1st September 2007, 11:31   #33

Yup, the new C should be anywhere between 30 - 32 on the road for the diesel.
Old 1st September 2007, 11:55   #34

I wish MB would stick the 280CDI engine into the C and price it aggressively, say around 33-34 lakhs on-road in Mumbai. They would see their C class sales SOAR if they did that. The current S class sales would look weak in comparison. That would stick it to BMW and then everybody would benefit. But, as I've said before, they are price-fixing with each other rather than competing as they should be.

Is there no law in India that targets cartels and price-fixing?
Old 1st September 2007, 12:50   #35

Originally Posted by kbk_75 View Post
I wish MB would stick the 280CDI engine into the C and price it aggressively, say around 33-34 lakhs on-road in Mumbai. They would see their C class sales SOAR if they did that. The current S class sales would look weak in comparison. That would stick it to BMW and then everybody would benefit. But, as I've said before, they are price-fixing with each other rather than competing as they should be.

Is there no law in India that targets cartels and price-fixing?
they had announced new engines for the C class but i doubt they would bring in the more powerful engines then what they are currently useing for india, but i would not mind a C280CDI, wow what fun!
i dont think it would make such a huge difference to BMW or MERCEDES as they both have their nische clientel. eventually with more players comming in and the market share reduceing the prices also would get affected. from their now price fixing attitude and the customers willingness to pay huge sums to competeing with each other for the pie.
Old 1st September 2007, 13:27   #36

Yup, the new C should be anywhere between 30 - 32 on the road for the diesel.
I think the present one costs 32 on road Mumbai! forget the discounts for the moment. So the New-C would be 34 on road!! and they will still sell!
IMO the 220CDI is good enough for India. Yes the 280CDI makes a lot of excitment but how many will they sell at a 3lac premium to the 220CDI?
Thats threason they offer only 1 variant each in diesel and petrol.
Old 1st September 2007, 14:05   #37

current C class is on 80 k discount and they are expecting new c class in january, they claim that new c class will be 3 lakh expensive then the current price.
Old 1st September 2007, 14:50   #38

Originally Posted by a4_attitude View Post
current C class is on 80 k discount and they are expecting new c class in january, they claim that new c class will be 3 lakh expensive then the current price.
current C is on 1.50 lacs+ discount. may even get 2.00 lacs off if down payment
Old 1st September 2007, 15:46   #39

Well if its 1.50 lakhs now and the new version is due in Jan then wait till the year-end and you will land up with a sweeeeeeeeet deal, as stock clearence+year-end discount
Old 1st September 2007, 17:22   #40

The C-Class has always had lesser power than the E, even with the same engine! Remember the C200 / E220 CDI? Plus, the 220 is already fast by Indian standards. I dont think you will be seeing a C280 CDI anytime soon.
Old 1st September 2007, 17:45   #41

The discount on the current C-Class is Rs.1,00,000/-

80,000/- from the company and 20,000/- from the dealer.

Source: 'What Car?' magazine Aug-Sept edition.

However, negotiation, finance discounts etc., should stretch that
Old 3rd September 2007, 21:36   #42

just notice C Class tail lamps resembles honda city isnt it
Old 4th September 2007, 01:35   #43

The C-Class has always had lesser power than the E, even with the same engine! Remember the C200 / E220 CDI? Plus, the 220 is already fast by Indian standards. I dont think you will be seeing a C280 CDI anytime soon.
So a C320 CDI would be out of the question then?!

@ Scooby: Who cares how many they sell? They already have the engine in India, giving customers a greater choice is never a bad thing. As long as someone is willing to pay a little more for more power with almost the same economy, why deny him? The way I see it, in our over-crowded cities, there will be buyers for smaller cars with hotter engines.

Last edited by kbk_75 : 4th September 2007 at 01:37.
Old 4th September 2007, 14:26   #44

Or bring out a limited edition ala E350.
Old 23rd November 2007, 23:23   #45

When is the new Merc C-class gonna be launched ?

Does any one of have any idea that when is the new C going to be launched ?What engines? Price? Transmission ?Features ?

I feel its high time they launch it because its facing stiff competition from the ßMW 3-series, Audi A-4,VW Passat etc...

Its been more then a year after its international debut.

Lets hope that M-B launches it soon .