View Poll Results: Which is YOUR car of 2024?
Maruti Swift 17 0.84%
Maruti Dzire 379 18.83%
Toyota Urban Cruiser Taisor 10 0.50%
Citroen Basalt 67 3.33%
Tata Punch EV 80 3.97%
Tata Curvv 167 8.30%
Mahindra Thar Roxx 870 43.22%
MG Windsor 187 9.29%
Force Gurkha 5-door 25 1.24%
BYD eMax 7 14 0.70%
BYD Seal 159 7.90%
Mini Cooper S 13 0.65%
Nissan X-Trail 3 0.15%
Kia Carnival 22 1.09%
Voters: 2013. You may not vote on this poll

Old 14th December 2024, 14:20   #256

Re: Team-BHP Car of the Year, 2024 | EDIT: It's the Thar Roxx

Though the voting and results have already been decided and i am late to the party, here are my two cents for my voting preference.

#1. MG Windsor : what MG has done with this model is brought a Maruti 800 / Hyundai Creta life to the EV market. With every other OEM (except Tata) seeing EV as niche and high priced segments, MG came with a product as mainstream as a ICE in terms of Price and comfort. And once someone gets a hang of using electric, there is no going back to ICE.

#2. Maruti Dzire : When was the last time a sedan + budget vehicle created such a buzz? And that too a Maruti? Wish Maruti gave the same wishful pricing and features to Swift. With each new car, Maruti design is evolving on the positive side moving away from the traditional boring designs.
Nobody understands the Indian customers better than Maruti and it stands true.

#3. Thar Roxx : Mr Behram Dhabar started a cult and what the new version brings would have definitely made him so proud. Finally a Thar which can be your primary + only car. And no more starring from your family when travelling it.

Whole congratulations to Team Mahindra. Definitely earned it. A whole more congratulations to their planning team who not has to identify and workout the customer needs but also get the team onboard the idea and get the management approvals for such projects. Automotive is one of the most capital intensive business apart from Airlines business where you have to invest a ton load of money (always some x thousand Crores of money), and what Mahindra is doing is proving the first mover and pricing decides the Product to be right fit. I remember one of the workshop teaching us - "There is no such thing as a Futuristic Product. It is always the right design, features and price value offered to the customer."

Last edited by graaja : 14th December 2024 at 18:04. Reason: Minor typo
Lazy Learner is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th December 2024, 09:59   #257

Originally Posted by gururajrv View Post
Hmm, Maruti / Hyundai never made it to COTY ever! They make best sellers.

What are/were they lacking? It still pricks my mind to think of it.

Hyundai now caters to enthusiasts clearly. But, still fails to get into COTY awards. They've a wide range of engine, gearbox combinations too. Strange, they still fail to impress the customers despite being reliable, luxurious at the respective ranges.

Maruti is comfortable living in the same mindset of producing lighter, frugal cars and I don't even want to talk about how boring their cars have turned out to be. Strangely, once known for being an enthusiastic favorite Swift, never got a true sportier version or even turbo petrol on offer.

Man, I'm so proud of Mahindra & Tata for bagging the awards time and again. Seeing the trend of companies bagging these awards have been providing for all type of customers especially appealing to enthusiasts with wide range of products of offer. Although, Renault dropped the ball after Duster/Kwid, they did bag the award. Whilst the sister company Hyundai failed to get one, Kia compensated for them. Seltos seems to be enthusiasts favorite car too. Mahindra has done a hat-trick with their recent launches. Wish to see some companies coming out of their conservative mindset and build better cars for everyone.
You are right. Maruti and Hyundai has never won a COTY, but I guess for different reasons. Maruti being the leader, got lethargic, taking the Indian customer for granted and never released a car which deserved a place in the top 3 list even, with a clear exception of the new Dzire. Hyundai on the other hand, works in a slightly different fashion. They create pretty good cars, which has time and again come up on top 3 - Creta, Venue, Ioniq 5. but are focused on the mass market and not at the enthusiasts. And the 2 Indian players - Tata and Mahindra- have been going all guns blazing to create cars that cater to the heart and not to the mind. And they are winning at it- you can see their growth in numbers and market share in the past decade. And all of that have been carved out of Maruti's share.

But having said that, there is a HUGE section of the population who buys a car with their head, who looks at practical, cost-effective, no-nonsense, easy to maintain cars which can fulfill the basic objective. And thus, Maruti will always have an advantage, especially with their scale and service network. And Hyundai will keep on churning good cars with great feature list, which are a mix of practicality and fun. And Tatas and Mahindras of the automotive world will give us fun cars. Look at the list - 2 fords, 2 renaults, a bunch of Tatas and Mahindras and a rare Toyota.
Old 22nd December 2024, 13:19   #258

Very rightly said Sunil ji.

However sometimes I wonder why Toyota cannot make their models sold in international markets like RAV4,Prado etc in India. Instead they sell rebadged versions of Maruti.

Similarly Honda doesn't make City Hatch which is available in other countries.

Are these cars are so much unviable to make in India?
Old 31st December 2024, 17:42   #259

So many good, bad and surprisingly good cars launched this year. Desire rating is still a surprise to me. Basalt showed effort being put by citroen. A good car let down by the company. Windsor introduced us to BaaS. A good spacious car. My most awaited car for the year BYD Seal launched as well. Roxx rocked the market with BE 6 and 9. There are a whole lot of winners for me in this year. But if I have to choose one car then it'll be BYD Seal because I really looking forward to its launch.