Old 5th January 2025, 10:53   #16

Re: Tata Motors ends Maruti’s 40-year reign as maker of India’s No.1 car

I have only one wishlist for TATA and Mahindra = 6 cylinder Petrol and Diesel engines. ICE is going to ve there for atleast another decade and there are plenty of prospective customers for powerful 6 cylinder engines under 40L.
Kashi053 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 5th January 2025, 11:02   #17

Originally Posted by Kashi053 View Post
I have only one wishlist for TATA and Mahindra = 6 cylinder Petrol and Diesel engines. ICE is going to ve there for atleast another decade and there are plenty of prospective customers for powerful 6 cylinder engines under 40L.
Good thought, I would suggest them both to start with V4 engine's moving on to V6.

Congratulations Tata for bringing out the Punch and making it to the top of charts.
Old 5th January 2025, 11:46   #18

Suzuki should keep the wagonR and old Dzire in taxi segment. They have a completely different looking Dzire now for private buyers. and a massive opportunity with WagonR platform.

Use the WagonR platform to reskin it on the outside like a mini Brezza* and give it 15" wheels. It can have the swift's 1.2L 3cyclinder engine, and a series-hybrid in the future.

The old/current wagonR can stay on as a taxi-only model.

*the other option for the same approach is to use some of Jimny's panels/dies and parts bin, but on the wagonR platform. I know it will be sacrilege to the Jimny faithful, but a tough looking small urban SUV at 8 to 10L... they could sell mind-boggling numbers of a mini-Brezza/ Jimny-lite. (just to be clear, no need to try to give it any of Jimny's all-terrain capabilities, we Indians are happy to do it in an Alto )
guptad42 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 5th January 2025, 11:55   #19

Originally Posted by guptad42 View Post
---

*the other option for the same approach is to use some of Jimny's panels/dies and parts bin, but on the wagonR platform. I know it will be sacrilege to the Jimny faithful, but a tough looking small urban SUV at 8 to 10L... they could sell mind-boggling numbers of a mini-Brezza/ Jimny-lite. (just to be clear, no need to try to give it any of Jimny's all-terrain capabilities, we Indians are happy to do it in an Alto )
Are you reading Maruti's upcoming portfolio?

Suzuki Hustler is rumored to be an urban SUV taking on Tata Punch:

Tata Motors ends Maruti’s 40-year reign as maker of India’s No.1 car-screenshot-20250105-115422.png

Link:
volkman10 is offline   (16) Thanks
Old 5th January 2025, 12:50   #20

Originally Posted by volkman10 View Post

Attachment 2708612

Link:
Thanks for sharing. I had not seen this and I hope they make it look better than this.

It is an old idea I recall discussing with a consultant several years ago. We were just freewheeling over lunch when I mentioned it. it was not a serious discussion, but the idea remained in my head. That the tall-boy WagonR platform could easily serve two different personalities - the friendly, conservative family tall hatch style, and a more aggressive SUV styling.
guptad42 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 5th January 2025, 13:30   #21

Dear Tata Motors,

Can you please put in a refined and punchy naturally aspirated engine in the Altroz? No fancy turbos or anything. Plain and simple well tuned 1.2 litre, 4-pot. And watch Altroz overtake Swift in the B-segment hatchback sales.

Maybe you can talk to Honda once? After all you do share a good relation with them and came close, very close, to producing the Accord & Civic under license from them in the late '80's, only to have your plans scuppered by political powers that be of that era.

Maybe worth a try again?

Best wishes,

Last edited by suhaas307 : 7th January 2025 at 12:20. Reason: Spacing and formatting
arjab is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 5th January 2025, 14:04   #22

Only maybe a temporary reprieve for Tata Motors from the MSIL dominance. In the topsy turvy sales charts released during the pandemic, Creta topped the list of the Top 20 best selling cars which instantly meant temporary celebrations at HMIL.

Tata has overcome the safety parameters to the delight of its buyers which its competitors MSIL and HMIL are still taking too lightly. This Tata dominance is a writing on the wall for the two carmakers. We have expressways allowing speeds of upto 150 kmph, where quite many drivers go past that speed, with some recalibrating their ECU's. Hence, naturally buyers will yearn for safety of a 5 star car for the well being of their car occupants at such breakneck speeds.

Tata however is still totally deficient in many other departments that buyers look out for, other than safety. Even Tata's second coming could not earn it, it's customer's confidence, and our forum hosts many threads from aggrieved Tata car buyers.

To come of age, the best parameter is resale prices of used cars. Tata cars still lack resale values and quick liquidity for used car sellers.

Hence, Tata has reached this position but needs to gear up its act to dominate and outperform in other departments where MSIL and HMIL excel.

Last edited by anjan_c2007 : 5th January 2025 at 14:10.
anjan_c2007 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 5th January 2025, 14:32   #23

Offtopic

Originally Posted by Kashi053 View Post
When even ze Germans have gone all four cylinders and reserve 6 cylinders for the 1 crore+ segments, how can we hope for domestic manufacturers to come up with new 6 cylinder engines?

EVs have greatly democratised the performance aspect and it is way easier for companies to slap some big batteries and motors to have neck breaking acceleration instead of working on new engines and transmissions and tuning them.

And we are talking about TATA who is not even willing to develop a new engine, though TATA can easily use 6 cylinders from JLR. Mahindra, while good at developing new engines may not find the need to develop a new 6 cylinder engine. They may find it easier to twin turbocharge the existing 2.0/2.2l petrol/diesel engines. Also even if they want 6 cylinder engines, they can't develop a V6 from scratch. They can have modular engines and make an inline-6 from the existing 4 cylinders, but then they don't have the premium products to shoehorn an inline-6 in.

The closest thing to an Indian 6 cylinder would be the TATA Elegante concept, conceptualised with a V6 petrol engine.
DicKy is online now   (10) Thanks
Old 5th January 2025, 14:40   #24

Attachment 2708612

Link:
That's a fake news about Hustler though i wish it were true. Suzuki is rumoured to be making an Ignis replacement and a Kiger competitor but they won't see the light of day till at least 2-3 years from now.
Carma2017 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 5th January 2025, 15:14   #25

Originally Posted by Carma2017 View Post
That's a fake news about Hustler though i wish it were true. Suzuki is rumoured to be making an Ignis replacement and a Kiger competitor but they won't see the light of day till at least 2-3 years from now.
Are you saying that Maruti doesn't have a Punch competitor ready after all these years?

Are they planning to come with an A-Category Mini SUV once the "Punch Class" starts going out of fashion?

Contrary to popular opinion, I don't think Maruti is doing the right thing by launching a ton of models all overlapping with each other. They should focus on one stellar model in each category. Whats the point of having both the Celerio and Ignis on sale at the same time?

Models like the new Celerio should have been killed at the beginning stage itself. Nobody in their right mind would have approved that Interior for anything other than an Alto or even a Sub-Alto class vehicle. Instead they should have done a significant Reskinning and update for the Ignis platform. Beautify its rear end, make it more boxy, slap on some cladding and increase its ground clearance and they would have had a Punch competitor ready 2 years ago..

I'm sure all the Indian and Japanese "sans" were busy deliberating, discussing studying feasibility reports and building consensus for the past 4 years

I also don't understand the Maruti/Suzuki's obsession with naming every new SUV a "Vitara"
ZenMaster is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th January 2025, 15:16   #26

Maruti can have many best sellers but, Punch is in a different league when it comes to important things in a car for me: 1. Solid build 2. Excellent ride quality (both slow/highway speed rides). The way the suspension handled the potholes was admirable. I do not own one, but my sister who has a X6, Polo GTI TSI just bought a Punch brand new. She drives a top end one with all the niceties. I was amused, once I sat in it and ridden for few kms. I realised how different this little car is from the typical tin box offerings from Maruti. Doors are heavy, none of the parts feel half baked or priced to made. Punch felt matured even more than a Hyundai truly. Hyundai sometimes fakes quality. Especially, the way Punch behaved in highways (stable/quiet/refined) at around 80-90 kmph with 4 people on board, I was so convinced that this should sell more because we need to appreciate the quality and Tata for the product conception, design and delivery. This can deserves to be no.1 for sure.
sgmuser is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 5th January 2025, 15:30   #27

Kudos to Tata but this graph is the perfect example of how sections of media use clever charts to skew reader opinion or behaviour. Majority people never read the legend or actual numbers but just glance at charts. The chart above conveys Tata's bestseller outsold Maruti's bestseller by nearly 100%.

PS: Not blaming the author but I found this chart interesting.
bordeaux is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 5th January 2025, 15:32   #28

Originally Posted by ZenMaster View Post
Are you saying that Maruti doesn't have a Punch competitor ready after all these years?

Are they planning to come with an A-Category Mini SUV once the "Punch Class" starts going out of fashion?

Contrary to popular opinion, I don't think Maruti is doing the right thing by launching a ton of models all overlapping with each other. They should focus on one stellar model in each category. Whats the point of having both the Celerio and Ignis on sale at the same time?

Models like the new Celerio should have been killed at the beginning stage itself........
I agree with you, Suzuki is too slow to move. The Ignis replacement or a Punch competitor should have arrived by the same time as Exter. But the 6 airbag Draft regulations was a spanner in the works for many, especially for Suzuki. Some took the easy way of stopping models, like Hyundai did with the Eon and Santro. Others have worked on upgrading their models. With a large line-up, upgradation of existing models is a sizeable work. So, Suzuki has lagged.

The Celerio, S Presso and Ignis are required for Suzuki to sell so that they can sell the more gas guzzling models and meet CAFE norms. But I do think all the aforementioned models will be withdrawn in next 1-2 years as hybrids and EVs from Suzuki start entering the market.
Carma2017 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 5th January 2025, 15:48   #29

Tata Punch's rise as India's number one small car/SUV is definitely commendable. Beating Suzuki in their own game is not easy but Punch and TML have done it. Congrats to them
FireBlade is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 5th January 2025, 18:07   #30

I am not sure if this news makes me happy or it makes me ponder upon the current situation we find ourselves in. On one end we have Ola ev's selling like hot cakes despite all the negative feedback regarding their quality and on the other we have a Tata vehicle becoming the number one seller, once again from a manufacturer that has unquestionable reliability and world class quality control department.
Mr.Ogre is offline   (3) Thanks