Old 14th February 2025, 13:44   #46

Re: Best 2-Car garage under 25 lakh rupees?

I would like to keep it this way, a used 2013 Honda city V MT or CVT with sunroof would be available at 5-5.50L maximum. A 2025 Maruti suzuki baleno Sigma MT for local rides costing 7.70L ex-showroom. Since I'm left with more money, I would to add a suzuki burgman street EX 1.40L ex-showroom for my household works. And Finally a Honda NX 500 standard costing 5.90L ex-showroom. So, the total accounts for 2-car and 2-bike garage for 20Lakh rupees. I'm left with 5L, may be I can add up a used MUV to the garage. Probably a 2007 or 2008 Toyota Innova 2.5 V variant.
Old 14th February 2025, 13:59   #47

1. Thar 4x4 LX diesel hardtop MT - ex showroom 16 lakhs.
2. Honda Cb650R - ex showroom 9 lakhs

Thar for city use plus road trips and offroading
Cb650r for weekend riding on backroads
Old 14th February 2025, 13:59   #48

<25 L 2 car garage is ideal because most of us would fall in this category, IMHO.
I am currently using a Honda Amaze i-vtec as my primary drive. I drive it in city, highways and the longest is to my hometown which is 1100 km from Pune. I intent to keep the Amaze and can use the entire 25L for a second car, assuming I have this much money . My interests are in below used German cars, which would cost <25L each.

1. BMW F30 330i/320d or
2. Audi Q3 TDI Quattro

I would keep rest of the money for maintenance and to absorb any surprises these Germans would throw at me.
pranavGTI is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th February 2025, 14:10   #49

I would love to have the following two at my disposal within the stated 25L budget
  • Suzuki Jimny 1.5 Alpha AT
  • Kawasaki Versys 650

However, I will need to retain my present highway machine in order to pursue the above.
GeeTee TSI is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th February 2025, 14:15   #50

25 Lac (ex showroom) to get an ideal 2 car garage will work provided one or both are pre-owned.

If I had to rebuild a 2 car garage, My considerations will be the following -
1. One car for the city/short highway runs and one for the highways, cross country trips
2. Sub 4M for the city and >4M for the highway.
3. Engine - NA petrol for City and Turbo petrol/diesel for the highway. No EVs for me yet.
4. Gearbox - No manuals anymore for me. Neither AMT. CVT for the city and DCT/TC for the highway.

With the above in mind, my shortlist for new cars will be
1. City - Amaze VX CVT (Ex SR - 10.15)
2. Highway - quite a few options
- Verna S(O) DCT - 15.26
- Slavia / Virtus 1.0 AT - 15.1 / 14.9
- Thar ROXX MX3 P AT - 14.99

In case you look at pre owned options for either or both, you will be able to consider higher variants of these (Eg. VW/Skoda 1.5 TSI) as well as pre owned XUV700, Scorpio N, Seltos / Creta turbo petrols.

Last edited by Axe77 : 14th February 2025 at 20:22. Reason: Spacing around parenthesis.
FAIAAA is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th February 2025, 14:27   #51

We had exactly the same budget i.e. of 25 lakhs (ex-showroom) or 30 lakhs (on-road) when we were looking to buy our 2 cars within the span of 1-1.5 years.

We had two use-cases as requirements:

1. A family car for long distance highway trips for 5 passengers and luggage.

2. A city car with small footprint, comfortable enough and easy ingress/egress for the elders in the family.

So, we went for the below 2 cars and are extremely happy with both.

1. Kia Carens P1.4 Luxury Plus DCT - Rs. 17.49L ex-sh. (in 2022)
2. Wagon-R 1.2 ZXI AMT - Rs. 6.8L ex-sh. (2023-24).

Total: ~Rs. 24L

Best 2-Car garage under 25 lakh rupees?-mycars1.jpg

Last edited by Knightrider : 14th February 2025 at 14:29.
Knightrider is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 14th February 2025, 14:40   #52

1) Fun to drive highway tourer - Virtus GT 1.5 MT (~17L)

Best 2-Car garage under 25 lakh rupees?-virtus.jpg

2) Compact run-about for city drives - MG Comet Excite (~8L)

Best 2-Car garage under 25 lakh rupees?-comet-ev.jpg
govindasrani is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 14th February 2025, 15:14   #53

1 Scorpio N Z4 Diesel MT 4WD for around 18.5 ex showroom. A capable family GT car with the ability to tackle all types of terrain.

2. The upcoming Himalayan 650/750. This is more like a 2 wheel version of the Scorpio n. Comfortable long distance tourer with enough power and a sweet sounding torquey twin. I suppose this will be around 4 ex showroom.

3. Yamaha Aerox for intercity running . 1.6 ex showroom

So the total comes to approx 24 lakhs. Remaining amount for buying riding gear and accessories.
Siavi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th February 2025, 15:16   #54

My current garage qualifies for the above

1. Kia Seltos GTX+ D AT (20L ex showroom)
2. RE Classic 350 (5 years old, should cost around 2.5L now)

I will be left with about 2.5L which I may use to buy some accessories or may be an electric scooter!

Best 2-Car garage under 25 lakh rupees?-img_8936.jpeg

Best 2-Car garage under 25 lakh rupees?-img_3788.jpeg
Alluri302 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th February 2025, 15:50   #55

Originally Posted by Raghav07 View Post
Please post your ideal 2 car garage, or car and motorbike combo or if you can ,
3 cars (If you can).
My choices within this price bracket will be as follows (new cars only, not taking used cars into consideration):

1. i20 NLine N6 MT (9,99,500 ex showroom) - Although I'm not a fan of 3 cylinder 1 litre turbo petrol engines, I'm choosing the N Line as I was impressed by its handling after a thorough and detailed TD.

2. Kia Seltos HTK Plus (O) Diesel MT (15,90,900 ex showroom) - The engine of this car is a no nonsense unit. Moreover, this variant has all the necessary features. This will be the primary highway car as well as to ferry more people.

I know I'm overshooting the target by 90,400. But, as someone said earlier, it is difficult to have a decent 2 car garage today within 25 lakhs.

Last edited by TurboKat : 14th February 2025 at 15:52.
TurboKat is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th February 2025, 15:56   #56

I would go with the following combination:

Thar Roxx MX3 Petrol AT - 14.99 lakhs
MG Windsor EV - 9.99 lakhs

The former makes for a great tourer that can go far and wide, an amazing combination of power, smoothness and ruggedness for those long road trips. Also great for carrying tons of luggage on those airport runs and long holidays. Plus when you are in the mood for a spirited weekend drive, it will not disappoiint you one bit as the engine is a stonker.

The latter for city use, office commute, school drops and pick-ups etc. Compensate for the fuel bills on the first car with an EV.
84.monsoon is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 14th February 2025, 16:19   #57

I would go with

1. Creta Electric Executive - 17.99L - EV for highway runs and office commute
2. Ignis Delta - 6.89L - The beater car for school pickups/grocery and market runs, the car which can take you in narrow lanes and with good G.C. can hold itself in pot-holes filled roads

Very minimal fuel bills and low cost maintenance, a Hyundai and MS will be fuss free ownership.
Elevate2024 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th February 2025, 16:25   #58

Volkswagen Virtus GT Plus DSG @~20 lakhs

Royal Enfield Super Meteor 650 @~5 lakhs [including accessories of course]
mHawk_UTKRISHT is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 14th February 2025, 16:49   #59

Originally Posted by Knightrider View Post

1. Kia Carens P1.4 Luxury Plus DCT - Rs. 17.49L ex-sh. (in 2022)
2. Wagon-R 1.2 ZXI AMT - Rs. 6.8L ex-sh. (2023-24).

Total: ~Rs. 24L
My uncle has the EXACT same combination as you have
However, his WagonR is a silver one from 2018(pre-facelift) and his Carens DCT has the new 1.5 Turbo (but same Blue as yours)

Quite the coincidence if you ask me!

Last edited by Axe77 : 14th February 2025 at 20:23.
Raghav07 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th February 2025, 17:13   #60

Since we rarely buy 2 cars in the same year, I'm taking the liberty to look at the 25 Lac bracket slightly differently; i.e. by considering an age appropriate depreciated value for these vehicles.

Therefore, I value my current garage at Rs 25 Lacs, which comprises of;

1. 2015 Hyundai Verna 1.6 VTVT petrol S (O) 4 Speed AT (10.29 Lacs ex-showroom when bought) - present value - 5 Lacs
2. 2022 Kia Seltos 1.5 petrol DCT (16.5 Lacs Ex Showroom) - present value - 12 Lacs
3. 2024 Honda Amaze 1.2 Petrol CVT ZX (9.99 Lacs ex showroom) - present value - 9 Lacs

My next plan is to possibly replace the Verna with a Suzuki Jimny Alpha AT and I will be set for the next couple of years.

Last edited by autotranny : 14th February 2025 at 17:15.
autotranny is offline   (1) Thanks