Old 27th September 2007, 22:16   #61

CNBC-TV18 displays a headline

Hyundai India Ltd. launches Getz diesel in New Delhi at 5.69 lakhs ex showroom.
Old 27th September 2007, 22:17   #62

The Hyundai shows the news release however they haven't yet updated their product catalogues.

What engine specs. Phew. I am putting my VDI plans on hold for a few weeks.
Old 27th September 2007, 22:25   #63

Vid just beat me to posting it here, just read it and was going to post it.

Yes Hyundai has done the unthinkable, 110 PS@4000 rpm as peak power and ensures quick response and robust acceleration. With an impressive torque of 24 kgm@1900~2750rpm and all that in a hatch, Now with Petes its going to be 27kgm and 130bhp, this move by Hyundai has not only killed the Swift but also the going to be born SRVDiesel.
Old 27th September 2007, 22:25   #64

Originally Posted by JayD View Post
the ex showroom price in delhi is around 5.60lac, ie on road around 6.10l.
For which model? The fully loaded one or the entry level? If its for the top end version, then a real match is on between D Swift and this. If however that pricing is for the entry level version, Hyundai would have yet again shot themselves in the foot.
Old 27th September 2007, 22:33   #65

Hyundai is gonna need very strong axles, chassis and wide tyres for this beast else it would be just wheelspining in every gear
Old 27th September 2007, 22:34   #66

This is really heartening.
Now its upto the SX4 Diesel to up the game.
Is Ford sleeping on the 1.6TDCI?

This wouldn't kill the SRV Magnum in anyway, that should be in a different ballpark isn't it?

Last edited by 1100D : 27th September 2007 at 22:35.
Old 27th September 2007, 22:35   #67

Hi Guys - I spoke to my friend who works in Safdarjung Hyundai, Gurgaon - He says Getz Diesel is going to be launched only around Diwali ( still a month away ).

Where have you heard that Getz Diesel has already been launched !!

BTW - Getz Diesel with 110 HP - SWIFT KILLER !!! For sure - 5.6 Lacs ( if it is that ) is a killer price - means 6 OTR - Damn - Hyundai HAS pulled their Socks - and quite decently I must say.
Old 27th September 2007, 22:37   #68

Originally Posted by theMAG View Post
For which model? The fully loaded one or the entry level?
Same thing I asked earlier, that will be the deal clincher really.
Old 27th September 2007, 22:37   #69

Originally Posted by kpzen View Post
Hyundai is gonna need very strong axles, chassis and wide tyres for this beast else it would be just wheelspining in every gear
I am sure Hyundai has done its homework quite well, no wonder the car took so long to come, they had the engine ready, they were working on the way to put down all that power or maybe they just launched it seeing the Swift Diesels Monoply and might launch a non VGT version when ready.

This wouldn't kill the SRV Magnum in anyway, that should be in a different ballpark isn't it?
People wanting a hot hatch can look at the Getz now with just 10bhp difference wrt to Getz.

Where have you heard that Getz Diesel has already been launched !!
Hyundais website.

Last edited by BUSA : 27th September 2007 at 22:39.
Old 27th September 2007, 22:40   #70

I see this turning into that 2.2L Dicor thread all over again.
Old 27th September 2007, 22:41   #71

Originally Posted by BUSA View Post
I am sure Hyundai has done its homework quite well, no wonder the car took so long to come, they had the engine ready
Besides same car has been running overseas for a fair part of this year now?
Old 27th September 2007, 22:44   #72

sort that soggy suspension out before plonking the claimed engine, please. price if within 6 lakh will be a killer.

i feel mesmerized with the news though.
Old 27th September 2007, 22:45   #73

I love it! Small cars with big engines is what I always wanted! Now...lets see the Swifts response to this. Will they remap their little diesel to put out 85hp? Atleast that would provide some competition.

However the base Getz D will still be priced above that of the VDI swift, so it waits to be seen what goodies come with it.
Old 27th September 2007, 22:50   #74

Oh yes I also saw this on the Hyundai Website in News section !!

Here is the extract out of the website -

'' The new Getz Prime 1.5 Diesel is a performance driven, four cylinder, Common Rail Direct Injection (CRDi) turbo charged engine with VGT, which produces an impressive 110 PS@4000 rpm as peak power and ensures quick response and robust acceleration. With an impressive torque of 24 kgm@1900~2750rpm, the car has excellent pick-up and performance. A ground clearance of 160 mm makes it perfect for Indian roads. The engine is mated to an efficient 5-speed manual transmission.

The Getz Prime Diesel will be available in showrooms across India after the first week of October 2007 and will be sold with a showroom price of Rs 569,900 (ex-showroom, Delhi). ''

I think they will launch only 1 model for now !!! 110 BHP - Damn - What a hot hatch this is .. Swift Diesel - no more waiting !!! LOL - You can expect discounts on it now
Old 27th September 2007, 22:53   #75

Now thats a real hot hatch,its a bold move by hyundai i love the engine and every time i cross 2000 rpm on this engine i think of stupid petrol engines.