Old 28th September 2007, 07:38   #91

My Getz is now two years old. Since it does the most running, I was contemplating a Swift VDi for the next change. Now I'm glad I have the choice of a diesel. Getz interior space and comfort are incomparable, and if it's powered by this diesel....!
Looking forward to a review.
Old 28th September 2007, 08:13   #92

Another good move from Hyundai. Hope this time around, they don't do a Verna by not taking care of the safety and quality departments.

It should be a pocket rocket with 110BHP and 29+ torque! Yo! Gotta test drive one today.

Did I read somewhere that Getz was the first TRUE GLOBAL CAR? Was it?
Old 28th September 2007, 08:50   #93

Here are the Ex showroom prices of petrol version
Pune Delhi
gls 4.94 4.89
glx 5.30 5.24

The diesel version is 5.69 Delhi ex- showroom

If we go by maruti's path petrol diesel version price difference should be around 70 k.

Thus I guess diesel version will have features equivalent to gls and not GLX.

So there might not be ABS + wide tyres in the diesel version.

Thus in pune non ABS model should be

5.75 ex shoroom ( Yes pune prices are more than delhi) + ~ 60 k other stuff
= 6.35 lkh on road w/o ABS.

How this package is now turning out ?

At around ~6.5 Lkh is it worth to buy , or better is to go for Fabia?( Around 7 ?)

Last edited by hrishig : 28th September 2007 at 09:06.
Old 28th September 2007, 09:21   #94
pankaj_aheer

Fabia will be Launched in Jan 08. Price will be betwen 5-6 Lacs ..
Reference - Article in ET 27 Sep .

It is going to be a Touch competition between Swift /Getz / Fabia
Skoda to launch Fabia in Jan for Rs 5-6 lakh- Automobiles-Auto-News By Industry-News-The Economic Times

Old 28th September 2007, 09:34   #95

Gotta test drive this!

The Hottest Hatch? Fiat/Suzuki hope you gusy are awake!

Will wait till I read about its suspension setup as Getz suspension is set for comforts.

OT, heard Hyundai is launching the Elantra in Touring version (not in India of course)
Old 28th September 2007, 09:35   #96

And why not Fusion by adding few more thousands or SX4(anyways its petrol).Lets wait and watch how they are pricing it.
Old 28th September 2007, 09:35   #97

Busa, did i hear there's a peted swift for sale??
Old 28th September 2007, 10:56   #98

Originally Posted by JayD View Post
Busa, did i hear there's a peted swift for sale??
But now who wants to buy it ?? . Good job Hyundai !!! Now these are the cars we want in India. GETZ has always been a nice car and now more powerful, more economical, & fun to drive. NO TEST DRIVE REPORT YET ? Come on TBHP.
Old 28th September 2007, 11:20   #99

Originally Posted by hrishig View Post
Here are the Ex showroom prices of petrol version
Pune Delhi
gls 4.94 4.89
glx 5.30 5.24

The diesel version is 5.69 Delhi ex- showroom
And Hyundai also gets the advantage of excise concessions, so they make a bigger profit!!
Old 28th September 2007, 11:22   #100

Those figs seem insane for the Getz. It's gonna be a blast in a straight line no doubt but i'm not sure how it's gonna do in the corners.

But for a daily drive, i really wouldn't mind something like this. 24Kgm@1900rpm.......can you believe that? You can prob get it going in 5th. hehe

Shan2nu
Old 28th September 2007, 11:24   #101

Kudo's to Hyundai for not detuning, and going the entire mile with a 110BHP monster hatch. I cant wait to test-drive this diesel!

But I am pretty disappointed with the pricing. 6.5 lakhs on-road in Mumbai is just too darn steep. Thats like what...almost a lac more than the Swift? The Indian buyer is going to think what other sedan options this money can bring him before going for a hatch that anyways wasnt popular to start with.

Its obvious that Hyundai wants to invite buyers who are fed up of waiting for the Swift LDi. But the premium is just too much!

Last edited by GTO : 28th September 2007 at 11:25.
Old 28th September 2007, 11:31   #102

I have been reading the reviews of the Getz Diesel being sold in the UK - they claim it to be a rocket on the highways and do not beleive its adiesel - This coming from UK Critics who usually hate anything Non - European.

I beleive this car will have the potential of being a Swift Killer - No doubt the Swift has a gem of an engine BUT what it lacks in is Cabin Quality, Cheap Plastics and terrible rear seat space.

This is where HYUNDAI PRODUCTS WINS HANDS DOWN - Even a Santro which is an entry level car has very good quality plastics, tough body and good interiors ( basic of course ).

I hope the Getz really is what I am hoping for. My purchase definetely around Diwali !!
Old 28th September 2007, 12:04   #103

"Hyundai also gets the advantage of excise concessions, so they make a bigger profit!! " -> is this true?

I guess 1.5 diesel engine will not get the excise concessions.

Can somebody clarify?
Old 28th September 2007, 12:16   #104

Originally Posted by hrishig View Post
"Hyundai also gets the advantage of excise concessions, so they make a bigger profit!! " -> is this true?

I guess 1.5 diesel engine will not get the excise concessions.

Can somebody clarify?
What's the exact engine capacity in CC? If it's below 1500 CC (say 1496), then it's getting the concession.
Old 28th September 2007, 12:20   #105

Originally Posted by vkochar View Post
I have been reading the reviews of the Getz Diesel being sold in the UK - they claim it to be a rocket on the highways and do not beleive its adiesel - This coming from UK Critics who usually hate anything Non - European.
Perhaps. I bet Indian Critics who usually love anything European will find out some excuse to think otherwise. After all, how CAN a Korean car possibly be of any good?