View Poll Results: Would you buy a used Tata Altroz?
Yes 65 26.21%
No 183 73.79%
Voters: 248. You may not vote on this poll

Old 28th April 2025, 18:20   #1

Pre-worshipped car of the month | Buying a used Tata Altroz

When the Altroz was launched in 2020, it made people think differently about Tata's designs. Based on Tata's Impact 2.0 design language, the Altroz looked different from any hatchback they’d ever built. In the initial years, it was selling ~5,000 units per month and now in 2025, the numbers have settled at ~2,000 units per month. At the time of launch, Tata offered a 1.2-litre, 3-cylinder petrol and a 1.5-litre, 4-cylinder diesel in the Altroz. A 1.2-litre turbo-petrol engine was introduced later, followed by a dual-clutch automatic transmission for the naturally aspirated petrol powerplant. Tata even introduced the dual-tank CNG version of the Altroz and last year, the Altroz Racer was launched.

It has been about 5 years since the Altroz was introduced in the Indian market and it has been a steady performer for Tata Motors. Going by recent news reports, there might be a facelift or a mid-life update for the hatchback coming soon, which makes it a good option to consider in the used car market. So, if you’re in the used car market for a spacious hatchback, would you consider the Tata Altroz? Also, which Altroz would you prefer to buy?

Used Tata Altroz Pros

• Relatively still new in the market. Doesn’t give your typical used car feel
• Asking price for most cars is fair. Bargain wisely and you might just get a killer deal
• Looks absolutely stunning! Solid build too
• Nice interior with good quality parts & adequate space
• Accommodating 345-litre boot is among the biggest of the segment
• Mature on-road behaviour, including at highway speeds
• 5-star NCAP safety rating! Safety package includes 2/6 airbags, CSC, break reminder, etc.
• Enjoyable Harman ICE. One of the better audio systems in this segment
• Impressive kit (auto headlamps & wipers, cruise control, ambient lighting, adjustable armrest...)

Used Tata Altroz Cons

• While it was offered with different powertrain options, availability in the used car market isn’t great
• With the facelift around the corner, the resale value will drop considerably when it’s time for you to sell
• NA Petrol is underpowered & noisy, diesel is costly, turbo-petrol isn’t very enthusiastic & reduced CNG power output is evident on highways
• DCA isn't offered on the 1.2L turbo-petrol or 1.5L diesel variants. It's not as quick as VW or Hyundai dual-clutch automatics
• Suspension has a firm edge at low speeds (16" rim variants). Bad roads will bother you
• Service visit every 6 months / 7,500 km (1 year / 10,000 km is the norm today)
• Some missing features (auto-dimming IRVM, thinner spare tyre on top trims, split-folding rear seat...)
• Concerns over long-term reliability, owners have raised complaints
• Tata's after-sales service quality is a hit or miss. Remains a gamble

Related Threads

Tata Altroz Official Review

1.5L Diesel Review

1.2L Turbo-Petrol Review

1.2L Petrol DCA Review

Tata Altroz CNG Review

Altroz Racer 1.2L Turbo-Petrol Review

Prassy's 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel

W.A.G.7's Tata Altroz DCA

Sathiya's Tata Altroz XZA+ DCA

Max5414's Altroz Turbo Dark Edition

SavoyWalrus's Altroz turbo petrol Code6 tuned

Chaman K's 2023 Altroz diesel with stage 1 tune

Things to watch out for in a used Tata Altroz

• Altroz BS6 diesel DPF issues - 1, 2

A/C issue in AutoYogi's Altroz Diesel

Mod Potential

One of the biggest gripes that people had when Tata launched the Altroz was the underwhelming 3-cylinder naturally aspirated petrol engine. There was nothing in the engine for the enthusiasts despite the chassis being capable of handling more power. Then Tata introduced the turbo petrol engine, which was a bit more zippy, but still didn’t feel as fun to drive as, say, the VW Polo GT TSI. You’ll see some remaps available in the market for the turbo-petrol as well as the turbo-diesel.

Pre-worshipped car of the month | Buying a used Tata Altroz-1image.jpg

Availability

Given that the Altroz has been on sale for about 5 years, you don’t see as many examples in the used car market, especially when you compare it to something like a Maruti Baleno or the Hyundai i20. You’ll mostly see Altroz petrol cars on sale as they have sold more than diesel ones. Automatic petrol cars are even fewer. Overall availability isn’t that great. Finding the exact model would be difficult. Check out some examples on sale here.

Pre-worshipped car of the month | Buying a used Tata Altroz-1.png

Pre-worshipped car of the month | Buying a used Tata Altroz-2.png

Pre-worshipped car of the month | Buying a used Tata Altroz-3.png

Pre-worshipped car of the month | Buying a used Tata Altroz-31.png

Pre-worshipped car of the month | Buying a used Tata Altroz-4.png

Last edited by Omkar : 28th April 2025 at 18:22.
Omkar is offline   (21) Thanks
Old 28th April 2025, 18:23   #2

Re: Pre-worshipped car of the month | Buying a used Tata Altroz

Thread moved out from the Assembly Line. Thanks for sharing!
Omkar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th April 2025, 20:00   #3

Voted no, with a heavy heart. I genuinely love the Altroz for what it offers. It is the car that made 5-star safety accessible to the masses and I commend Tata for that. The design is arguably the best in its class and doesn't look outdated even after all these years. However, the appalling QC and dealership horrors hold me back from recommending one.

My recent experience with a top-end petrol variant wasn't great either. I won't elaborate on the issues but it clearly hadn't aged well for a car with just 20k km under its belt. The car didn't feel 'tight' like a typical new car, which was concerning, but that chassis is an enthusiast's delight. On a winding road, my friend in the passenger seat commented that it is a modern day Fiat Punto without the ergonomic quirks and I couldn't agree more with him!

Last edited by self_driven : 28th April 2025 at 20:28. Reason: Formatting
self_driven is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 28th April 2025, 20:54   #4

Voted yes. I think a iturbo variant is good enough for a warm hatch. And prices in the used market are much lesser than the likes of Polo GT & i20 N Line. So if I want a fun to drive car for daily use for around 6 lacs, Altroz is surely a good option.
Old 28th April 2025, 22:40   #5

The point about the car not being available in high numbers in the used car market can also indicate that the owners are happy with the car. This can in turn imply that this would be a fair choice to select.
condor is offline   (20) Thanks
Old 29th April 2025, 07:13   #6

That wheezy petrol engine is a big downer. Tata's engine game is quite bad and that puts not only the Altroz, but any used Tata firmly in the realm of the negatory.
Sensible_Speed is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 29th April 2025, 08:55   #7

Originally Posted by condor View Post
The point about the car not being available in high numbers in the used car market can also indicate that the owners are happy with the car. This can in turn imply that this would be a fair choice to select.
One of the neighbors own a turbo petrol. Inching towards a lakh kilometer. I have had a few spins in it. The car being underpowered for its engine capacity is what makes it reliable is what I feel. From what he says of his ownership experience, I don't think that there are much unhappy customers of this car, hence it is not seen much in the used car market.

Would love Tata to develop a big C2 sedan based on this. A 6 speed manual 1.6 litre TC petrol.
Swapnil4585 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 29th April 2025, 09:57   #8

Voted for yes, even with the after sales horror stories, though unlike Maruti or Toyota won't go for one that has run more than 50k kms.

But just the diesel. Wouldn't touch any other engine option with a barge pole.

Would go for either the XE in white or the topmost variant in any colour. About less options in the used car market, owners must have realised it is hard to find something to replace it with.

Originally Posted by Swapnil4585 View Post
Would love Tata to develop a big C2 sedan based on this. A 6 speed manual 1.6 litre TC petrol.
They have dropped their plans of a C segment sedan and MPV. Would have been super cool if there was an Altroz sedan with the Nexon tune 1.5l diesel or with the (ever developing for a decade) 1.5l GDI petrol.
DicKy is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th April 2025, 11:33   #9

Voted no, owning a Tigor for 7+ years now, I can clearly say even the newer Tata cars don't age well. Initial niggles get compounded as the car gets older. For these smaller frequent niggles, the authorised service centers feel underqualified.

Another challenge is, now most of my family members want a higher seating car. Guess it's not only sedans that are dying, even hatchbacks are loosing preference. My family would rather prefer a used Sonet over an Altroz.

With Tata what I have noticed is that a lot of smaller components like rubber parts, sensors, window knobs etc, don't age well and the major challenge is rusting.

Never buying a used Tata for sure as the overall Brand-Buyer post sales ecosystem and feeling of ownership matters a lot, which Maruti, Kia, Hyundai have much better to offer.
ArTigor is offline   (21) Thanks
Old 29th April 2025, 11:38   #10

I diesel mill is superb offering a good combination of drivability, power and fuel efficiency but the petrol mills are lacklustre and dont offer much. Considering the fickle mindedness of our NCR policy makers, I can not go forward with a diesel powertrain.
Old 29th April 2025, 11:43   #11

Voted No.

Equivalent (<10 years old && <80k km) Diesel Figos/Ecosports are available for almost half the price on average in TN. A lot fewer, however, will be worth waiting and browsing for a well-kept on still. I don't know about spares availability on Fords, but I just like the Figo better.

Last edited by BullettuPaandi : 29th April 2025 at 11:47. Reason: added '/Ecosports'
BullettuPaandi is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 29th April 2025, 12:06   #12

I shudder to buy even brand new Tata vehicles above the Tiago. Buying used is a level higher riskier game!

Apart from usual quality/after sales issues, the car lacks potent engines, NVH is pretty sad, and interior quality leaves a lot to be desired. Considering the gremlins faced by a Altroz buyer in my society (who works in Tata Motors), I am convinced nothing can be done, incase things go wrong, by layman like you and me.

Sure the high speed ride is good and build quality is pretty solid, but those aren't enough tipping the scales in its favor.

Last edited by 07CR : 29th April 2025 at 12:14.
07CR is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 29th April 2025, 12:15   #13

Voted No. My experience with a new Tata was so bad that I'd never consider buying a Tata again, leave alone a used one.
sanjayrozario is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 29th April 2025, 12:30   #14

The biggest con with this car is it has had so many variants/engines/features changed in a short duration of time that you need a stamp paper endorsement to tell whats each car equipped with and what not. Which means even the commanded resale of the car would be affected. So if this is overlooked, the purchaser might end up with nasty surprises later.

Originally Posted by 07CR View Post
I shudder to buy

Sure the high speed ride is good and build quality is pretty solid, but those aren't enough tipping the scales in its favor.
High speed ride is good only if the car can actually do those speeds.

Last edited by audioholic : 29th April 2025 at 12:48.
audioholic is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 29th April 2025, 12:32   #15

I will not purchase "ANY" Tata vehicle second-hand. Okay, maybe the original Safari but that's only due to sentimental value.
Amrit@wheels is offline   (2) Thanks