Register

Old 20th May 2025, 15:40   #1

Cars We Let Go – The One That Got Away

Greetings Team,

Hope you’re all having a fantastic year so far.

While sitting at work today, I found myself thinking about a particular missed opportunity — one that still stings a little. Back in 2021, during the Covid slowdown, I was offered a brilliantly kept Polo GTI by a friend. Bright red, bone stock, and barely 15,000 km on the odo. The asking price? Incredibly reasonable for what it was.

Now, considering there are only 99 GTIs in India — and most have been tinkered with to some extent — coming across one that’s completely untouched is rarer than spotting a clean classic in Bangalore traffic. I’d always wanted one, and yet, I passed on it thinking I’d come across another one in similar condition later.

Fast forward to today: no GTI in my garage. The few that are on sale now have clearly seen better days, and that regret creeps in more often than I’d like to admit. Some missed opportunities really do stay with you.

So I pose this to the community:
Was there a car you nearly brought home, but didn’t — and now regret letting it slip through your fingers?

Would love to hear your stories. Let’s talk about the ones that got away.

speedfreak77
speedfreak77 is offline   (41) Thanks
Old 20th May 2025, 16:10   #2

Re: Cars We Let Go – The One That Got Away

Mentioned a few times in the forum, but here we go.

Contessa. Especially a doctor owned one that I was this close to buying. It was one of the best examples I have seen. Now the asking prices are almost 5-6x times.

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/india...ml#post4919119 (Which modern-classic Indian car from the '80s would you own today?)

It would be a betrayal if I didn't. It was my teenage obsession with the Contessa that made me discover TeamBHP.
Was this...close to buy a Contessa atleast three times.

Each time my middle class mentality would scream guilty of plonking close to a lakh on what was essentially an anglo-german-indo-jap rust bucket whose only claim to fame is the absolute lack of choices in the license raj era for American type coke bottle styled vehicles. (sour grapes story for me).

Now with the prices being asked for Contessa would rather buy a W124/W123(?) or 80s/90s japanese imports instead.

Actually except for the 800, had actively looked at every other car in the list in my late teens, early 20s.
Nothing happened.
Regretting it now, if I had put half the Contessa effort into an 800 or PAL or Esteem/Zen, would have been a proper petrol-head instead of staying bookish.
Still wonder how much of my life would have changed if I had bought a Contessa, but one thing is sure. It would have been the first one to be sold during our horrible Covid induced financial crisis.

Last edited by DicKy : 20th May 2025 at 16:17.
DicKy is offline   (17) Thanks
Old 20th May 2025, 17:16   #3

My biggest car regrets are not those that never came but the ones I allowed to slip away. In order of regret:

1. Our original 1983 Maruti 800:
We were the first owners and regrettably let it go sometime in 2002 / 03. We had so many memories associated with that car - my entire childhood, my mum taught me to drive in that 800 and I think I also gave my license test in it. I really do wish we had kept it with us and allowed it to become a modern classic in our garage to keep for the ages.

2. 2009 Hyundai i20
Nothing special in the model per se but it was my wife’s car at the time we got married (in 2011) - bought for her new by her father well before we were married. He had passed away just before we got married and we had sold it in 2012 to buy that ridiculous contraption called Nissan Sunny as a diesel beater for the house. I wish we had kept the i20 for as long as possible just as a memory of something he had bought for her. I really tried locating it too several years later to repurchase it but simply couldn’t manage to find an owner or registered address by then. I’d have given a premium just to be able to buy it back and gift it to her.

3. 1995 Kawasaki Bajaj RTZ:
My first motorbike and again, I wish I’d kept it with me just as a memory. We had three friends in our group and one of them has still kept his Yezdi Roadking from our college days. My mum had bought me the bike literally a month after I’d turned 18. Heck, I learnt to ride only after I had gotten the bike in fact. It was even ridden back from the showroom by a pal.
Axe77 is offline   (23) Thanks
Old 20th May 2025, 20:09   #4

In 2022, we were on the lookout for a sedan and the shortlist included the Slavia, Virtus and City. I was 16 at that time and I was madly in love with the Virtus! Its classy, timeless, yet sporty design, modern interiors and the better kit vis-à-vis the City drew me towards it. Trust me, it was a very close battle between the Germans and the Japanese and at one point, I was almost certain that the Virtus would come home, but ultimately it was the City that took the crown. The City was the more practical car for us, a family of five, and its reliability was a factor that dad couldn't overlook. Not to mention, VTEC kicked in yo!

We are very happy with the City and have no regrets at all, but when a Virtus passes by, I can't help but think, "How different would life be had we bought the Virtus instead..."

Cars We Let Go – The One That Got Away-exterior_volkswagenvirtus_frontrightside_600x400.jpg

Last edited by CentreOfGravity : 20th May 2025 at 20:10.
CentreOfGravity is offline   (28) Thanks
Old 20th May 2025, 20:53   #5

Well that would be Polo GT for me.

In 2022 when we were looking to change our city beater Alto to something under 15 lakhs my first preference was Polo. But initially turned it down due to cramped back seat. Booked an i20 IVT, but my mind was still on a Polo. Finally decided to cancel i20 and book a Polo, but by then all were sold out in Bangalore and finally went ahead with i20.

While i20 serves the purpose of being a city car, whenever I see a Polo GT (mainly in White or Red) feel bad for not buying that. With the insane used car prices, I don’t want to trade my well maintained i20 with an unknown Polo at this stage. Missed opportunity.

Only saving grace is I have plans of changing to an EV in near future.
But still, A Polo is a Polo is a Polo!! As per me the best budget hatchback ever to come in India.

Last edited by sunikkat : 20th May 2025 at 20:54.
sunikkat is offline   (18) Thanks
Old 20th May 2025, 21:19   #6

That would be the Ford Classic/Fiesta back in 2013. The choice was between a Dzire and Ford, but the ford was slightly over budget. The one that really upset me was that in about a year from when I bought the Dzire, Ford reduced the cost of the classic by about ₹1L, which was what it was over budget for me.
dass is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 20th May 2025, 21:41   #7

It would be the Isuzu V-Cross that I missed in 2016. It costed only 15.5L on road back then. Owning a pick up truck still remains a dream for me. Hopefully a Hilux some day.
Way2Jimny is online now   (10) Thanks
Old 21st May 2025, 00:31   #8

It would be 2014 Ford Ecosport diesel MT for me. Had to sell it within 6 months due to leg cramps and switched to an automatic. Had moved to Ecosport from a preowned first gen Swift diesel MT that had run 90k km (including 35k km during my ownership). I was so heartbroken that I did not want to look at another beauty and settled for Celerio AMT.
Years later in 2018 when we were replacing our petrol i20 MT (first gen, purchased in 2011), I again looked at Ecosport (facelift, Petrol AT this time) but family wanted Creta (first gen, diesel AT) and so that was that. While I love the Creta equally, feeling of losing Ecosport shall forever remain.
hitzscofield is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 21st May 2025, 09:11   #9

It is the Rapid 1.5 TDI for me.

Booked it in 2019 as a replacement for my ciaz diesel. But their used car evaluation was too low that I got irritated and cancelled the booking.

What a car and what an engine!!

Though I drive another 1.5 diesel now and am extremely happy with it, that 1.5 TDI was even better.

Truly missed!!
PrasannaDhana is online now   (14) Thanks
Old 21st May 2025, 09:31   #10

Ciaz Over Ecosport.

It was in 2019, when we were looking to upgrade from a decade long ownership of the WagonR to a more premium option.

With the budget set to <10L (with a 10% overshoot capping), we were in the market to look out for options.
We TD'd multiple cars across segments and brands alike, from Baleno to Verna to Ecosport to Ciaz.

As a family, we are very loyal to Maruti, so an upgrade within the stable was a logical idea. However, the auto enthusiast in me flirted briefly with global brands like Ford (Ecosport), Hyundai (Verna) and Honda (City).

However, when the decision making happens on the dinner table with family, plus the trends showing a steady decline in Ford's sales AND the fact that Ford surviving on a single car (Ecosport) back then alongwith a perceived peace of mind on owning a Maruti, Ciaz won over the Ecosport.

In hindsight, my mind does miss the insane performance of the 1.5 TDCi Ford offered on the Ecosport, but my heart is full of satisfaction over the last 6 years of happily owning one of the most reliable, yet underrated sedans India has/had on sale.

With countless memories and fill it-shut it-forget it kind of reliability Ciaz has built for itself, I'm more than satisfied to own 1, but, sometimes, I still do miss Ecosport's 1.5L TDCi

Last edited by jigar1791@gmail : 21st May 2025 at 09:40.
jigar1791@gmail is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 21st May 2025, 09:42   #11

Tata Safari Dicor – The One That Got Away

Back in 2013, wedding bells were ringing, love was in the air, and my trusty Santro was starting to look like a tin can on wheels. It was time for an upgrade. I began shortlisting sensible cars—Skoda Fabia, Ford Figo TDCI.

And then one fateful morning, while flipping through the newspaper (yes, we did that in 2013), my eyes fell on an ad that changed everything: Discounts on Tata Safari Dicor! Why? Because the Safari Storme had just launched and Tata was basically yelling, "Please take this beast off our hands!"

My inner child—who had grown up watching Safari commercials where people drove through rivers and scared wildlife—woke up with a roar. This was not just a car. This was a mountain-taming, diesel-guzzling, 2.5-tonne statement.

I ran to the dealership like a child running to a candy store. I touched the Dicor’s door handle and felt nirvana. The salesman, sensing my vulnerability, hit me with phrases like “ladder-on-frame chassis” and “commanding driving position.” I was ready to sign the cheque and name my future child Safari.

But then, reality (disguised as my father) stepped in. He reminded me of the many days he had spent at the Tata service centre with his Indica, sipping watery tea and wondering if life had more to offer.

My fiancée wasn’t exactly thrilled either. Apparently, she didn’t want to "climb Mount Everest every time she got into a car." Also, she had this bizarre preference for “power windows that actually work.”

So, the dream died. And a few days later, a silver Ford Figo came home. It was sensible, economical, and never once tried to wrestle with potholes like a WWE champion. I drove it for 2 lakh km and loved every bit of it.

But even today, when I see a Dicor rumbling past (a rare sight, like spotting a unicorn that smokes and leaks oil), I can’t help but wonder:

“What if?”
Figo0202 is offline   (21) Thanks
Old 21st May 2025, 09:49   #12

It's gotta be the Tiago JTP in 2019. I was in the market for my first, and was excited as hell. A small car with a big engine and an actual good tune from a TATA? And from MY hometown?

But after suggestions from friends I ended up going for a second-hand sedan instead. The JTP is no longer in production though, and I realise now I actually prefer small fun cars as opposed to fast but bulky SUVs Man what a purchase that could've been

Last edited by TankJr : 21st May 2025 at 10:19.
TankJr is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 21st May 2025, 09:50   #13

I always used to take test drives of cars even before I had any real need for a car. Before purchasing my own Nissan Magnite in 2023, I had test driven a lot of cars and almost bought as an impulse but my saner mind prevailed

1. 2018 Ford Freestyle 1.2 Petrol: This was one of the first cars that I test drove and was pleasantly surprised with its handling. It has decent practicality too. I'd have been quite satisfied with it too and would have kept it for quite a long time. But I'm glad I didn't. Ford eventually went away.

2. 2019 Tiago JTP: This was another test drive that almost convinced me to buy Tiago JTP. The lovely sound of the turbo spool, the beautiful steering setup, the small dimensions... it was just a perfect hot hatch. Again I didn't have a real need for a car back then. And it would have been foolish to buy. But I have slight regret at not having bought. This too was discontinued and I'm glad I didn't buy it then.

3. 2021 Skoda Rapid Rider Plus: By the time 2021 came around, my need to purchase my own car was growing. It was a time after the post covid lockdowns and people movement was increasing and I really wanted my own ride. The Rapid Rider Plus was a fantastic value for money. But I didn't even take a test drive. Before I even got the chance, news came out that it was going to be discontinued!

4. 2023 Honda City: I've been a fan of Honda City since childhood and when the time to buy my own car came around in 2023, I went with a Nissan Magnite CVT! It was a practical decision without any heart in it. I know I'd have enjoyed the Honda City more. But due to road conditions and parking issues at that time, i was afraid I'd constantly have to worry. This is the biggest regret that I have. Every time I see a Honda City, I am filled with regret. Magnite isn't a bad car- it is just very practical. I also don't particularly enjoy the way the power is delivered by Magnite. I still believe a manual Honda City would have been a perfect car for me.

If you notice the pattern - I've always considered cars that are "driver focused" and those that didn't sell too well in India. And all these cars were considered value for money too. And they all ultimately ended up being discontinued! Magnite was the only car that isn't remotely driver focused but even that shows a real possibility of being discontinued owing to Nissans's financial issues. May be it's just my luck. The cars that I like or consider for purchase probably end up getting discontinued.

May be next time, I should just buy the car that sells the most in India without too much thought.

My future considerations are all going to be all EVs. But these above cars do fill me with regret as missed opportunities. Not just as a vehicle that I missed purchasing before they got discontinued but also as an opportunity to fully enjoy my own personal ride a bit earlier in life.

Last edited by vamsi.vadrevu : 21st May 2025 at 09:54. Reason: Spelling mistake
vamsi.vadrevu is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 21st May 2025, 10:23   #14

It would be a S-Cross Alpha 1.6. I found this car while scrolling through instagram, It was with a new dealer in our neighborhood and I have visited his place once and the car he picks are relatively good.

The car was excellent and clean. It had only 40000km in its odo and he was quoting 7.45Lakhs(That too TN 38 registered🥲 first owner car, Cbe people can relate). I was happy with the price. The timeline goes like this around 10 in the morning I saw the post, checked with my similar minded mentor and collegeue. Informed my father. As I was not in the city asked my uncle to visit the dealer and test drive the vehicle and he gave thumbs up. Only thing he mentioned was clutch was bit hard and is expected of a diesel engine.I then checked the service history with a friend in a suzuki delarship found the service history to be clean except two bumper changes(I was ok with it). All of this done before 12 in the noon. I was working to get the finance ready after this and when I called the dealer at 1 pm to ask if I can transfer the advance so we can go ahead with the purchase. He gave a heartbreak saying the deal was done and he will not be able do anything. I was super excited for the last 3-4 hours since everything was in place, I even imagined living with that car.I checked if he can do something if I am ready to pay more than the quoted price, he was gentle man and refused.

I went sad for the entire week and had to accept eventually. Even now I see that car parked outside a shop in Mtp road, I assume the shop owner has bought that car. Whenever I see that car my heart skips a beat. I have some photos of the car from the instagram post.
Cars We Let Go – The One That Got Away-img_20250521_095150.jpg  

Cars We Let Go – The One That Got Away-screenshot_2025052109511198_40deb401b9ffe8e1df2f1cc5ba480b12.jpg  

Cars We Let Go – The One That Got Away-screenshot_2025052109501780_40deb401b9ffe8e1df2f1cc5ba480b12.jpg  

Panda8883 is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 21st May 2025, 10:34   #15

Back in 2010, a display Hyundai i10 Automatic with sunroof was on my dad's list. The showroom quoted 4.75 OTR, my dad asked to close it at 4.5 lacs but the showroom didnt budge below 4.6 lacs. This was just a matter of ego, as my dad was in his late thirty's back then and he was a shrewd negotiator back then. That deal didnt work out and we later bought a Chevy Beat which we still have and use till date.

Looking back, maybe if we bought that i10 we wouldve had a better service experience and better resale value, but I doubt if the Hyundai wouldve lasted for so long like the Beat especially after all of the abusing that happened over the years of use.
Cars We Let Go – The One That Got Away-images-5.jpeg  

Last edited by saikishor : 21st May 2025 at 10:36.
saikishor is offline   (6) Thanks