Old 4th October 2007, 13:10   #16

They have new color options too. If this one looks as good in flesh as it does on the site, that's one slick Safari.

Old 4th October 2007, 13:16   #17

One thing i was wondering was 3.0 engine is gone but they are still offering older 2.0 TCIC engine for 6.46lakhs(ex-gurgaon).

The steal is LX 2.2 at 7.33lakhs(ex-gurgaon).The registration is just 1% of the vehicle price for vehicles in this price range in haryana.

TATA Motors - Safari DICOR
Old 4th October 2007, 13:19   #18

Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
The chap mentioned they may have 'exchange' offers, but somehow I'd prefer a new engine to a new vehicle.
PM me if you hear any concrete amounts for these "exchange" offers
Originally Posted by alabjarus View Post
And no ABS & EBD...! They should have atleast ABS in EX . For somebody who seldom has a rear seat passenger, DVD is a costly frill. And paying 2 lacs more for VX to get the safety features is ridiculous.
You are not paying 2 lacs just for the safety features - there's quite a bit more which would probably add up - leather upholstery, alloy wheels, wooden center console & of course the safety features & the DVD

Last edited by suman : 4th October 2007 at 13:27.
Old 4th October 2007, 13:21   #19

You forgot to metion these :

Seems like military green...goood

I think it was Arizona blue earlier.

Originally Posted by theMAG View Post
They have new color options too. If this one looks as good in flesh as it does on the site, that's one slick Safari.
Old 4th October 2007, 13:32   #20

Originally Posted by DieselFan View Post
The top end VX with 4X4 is more than 13 L on Road.The price hike of 90K from the earlier versions is unwarranted.
Is Tata seeing a mad rush for 2.2L Safaris. I think they will come to terms in 6 months and will have a price drop of at least 50-75K from current levels. Else the competition (Especially Scorpio) will take away some more of the market share in this segment.
totally agreed
as soon as scorpio 2.2 will be in market TATA will start discounts and low interest scemes from tata finance as like kotak mahindra at 7%

LET see how Scorpio EAGLE 2.2 Comes with

Last edited by neo_trace : 4th October 2007 at 13:40.
Old 4th October 2007, 13:35   #21

I liket it

First time (for me) the front grille looks really nice. With the new engine and the new (front) looks, now Safari is a true SUV; exteranally and internally as well.
Old 4th October 2007, 13:56   #22

any new of FE of safari 2.2
anyone tested?
Old 4th October 2007, 13:56   #23
adc

Originally Posted by neo_trace View Post
totally agreed
as soon as scorpio 2.2 will be in market TATA will start discounts and low interest scemes from tata finance as like kotak mahindra at 7%

LET see how Scorpio EAGLE 2.2 Comes with

Don't forget about that 8% extra tax, govt is just waiting to put after the holidays - most probably.

Well LX 2.2 is what I want and that is what I get within 7 days, and I am off to north bengal on 18th oct for a 2000 km journey. Life does not getter better than this.
Old 4th October 2007, 13:59   #24

Originally Posted by DieselFan View Post
The top end VX with 4X4 is more than 13 L on Road.The price hike of 90K from the earlier versions is unwarranted.
Is there really such a large difference from old VX prices? I doubt it.

The 13L you're talking about is VX 4x4. 4x4 costs about 95k more then 4x2, plus Vx costs about 1 lakh more than EX.

The best Safari variant is the EX (IMHO).
Old 4th October 2007, 14:04   #25

Originally Posted by suman View Post
My 3.0L has a 4 year bumper to bumper unlimited mileage warranty (including the 30 months additional warranty)
Read the fine lines.. It says 1.5l kms or 4years for 3.0 ltr
Old 4th October 2007, 14:04   #26

Tata has really pulled off a whammy with the pricing of the 2.2. My dealer still cant believe the pricing when i told him. He still maintains 30-40 K increase in ex showroom price for all versions (inc LX). when I told him about the website, he seemed to be totally unaware of the fact that it had been updated.

now, if I was a prospective customer, i would not look too kindly on the "knowledge" of the dealer!

P.S. the new colours look nice, BUT, it is still hard to beat a Black safari for road presence- call me biased

Last edited by himanshugoswami : 4th October 2007 at 14:05.
Old 4th October 2007, 14:11   #27

Performance

Clipped from Official Site

The Safari 2.2 VTT DiCOR offers the following advantages.
  • 140 PS Power320 Nm Torque
  • 0-100 Kms in 15 Secs (that sure is a rubber burner in this class) (a good lead of approx 4-5 secs over 3 ltr)
  • Improved Fuel efficiency
  • Emission Compliance of BS III
  • Lowest Noise, Vibration & Harshness level
  • Peak Torque of 320 Nm in lower and wider RPM band of 1700 - 2700
  • Lighter weight engine

Last edited by Rahulk76 : 4th October 2007 at 14:12.
Old 4th October 2007, 14:16   #28

15 secs is what they claim. let some good mag test it and see. im pretty sure theyll find it 1 or 2 secs slower than what tata claim. and that isnt a rubber burner by any standards. the scorpio and innova are about as quick. anyway now why dosent someone put up a detailed td report???
Old 4th October 2007, 14:27   #29

I asked Nawab motor, he invited me to have a llok the new 2.2l but did not confirmed fot TD, i am planning to visit them today amd will update if i could manage the td
Old 4th October 2007, 14:36   #30

I dont know if anyone else noticed or not but this engine release for india is stated to comply to BSIII i.e Euro III emission norms.

Its a very tricky statement since BS IV will come later and TATA is stating that they currently meet the existing norms (does not mean they cant meet BSIV as same engine meets EuroIV norms in Europe.)

Originally Posted by Rahulk76 View Post
Clipped from Official Site

The Safari 2.2 VTT DiCOR offers the following advantages.
  • Emission Compliance of BS III

Last edited by dadu : 4th October 2007 at 14:37.