Old 20th November 2007, 10:08   #1

Hyundai To launch B-Segment Car i20 Soon

Source : Economic times, 20th Nov 2007

AS part of its local-global India strategy, Korean auto major Hyundai is turning its Indian car operation into a production hub for all small cars worldwide. The company plans to launch another small car, tagged a B-segment model, called the i20. Like the just-launched A-segment i10 and the Santro, the i20 will be made exclusively in India for both local and global markets. Hyundai’s third small car Getz is made in India and Korea.

At the other end of the auto business range, Hyundai is looking for an Indian partner for a foray into heavy commercial vehicles. The company, which did a feasibility study for light commercial vehicles in India, has now abandoned that project because of pricing issues. When it kicks off, the bus and truck business will be handled directly out of Korea by Hyundai Motor Company. Indian subsidiary Hyundai Motor India Limited (HMIL) will not have anything to do with it.

Speaking to ET, HMIL MD & CEO Heung Soo Lheem said: “The idea is to make A and B segment cars exclusively in India as it is the export hub for small cars. Next year, we will introduce the i20 for both domestic and export markets. Like the i10, it is an absolutely new car and will be made here exclusively and sold in India and export markets like Europe. We will produce the i20 along with the existing Getz in Chennai.”

As for commercial vehicles, he said, “In the HCV space we are looking for a good partner, that along with us can make our express and medium size buses (25-30 seaters). The alliance will either be through a technology tie-up or Hyundai will supply chassis to a body maker in India. We have contacted several local body builders for this. This business will be handled directly by our parent company which has a full line up of commercial vehicles from 3.5 tonners to 25 tonners and tractor trailors to express buses.” Last month there were reports doing the rounds that Hyundai officials had met the management of CV maker Eicher. Eicher denied the reports.

Hyundai is also conducting feasibility studies for two more car models – the i30 sedan and the Santa Fe sports utility vehicle. “As the No 2 carmaker we should have a full line up,” Mr Lheem said. “We have stopped production of the Elantra because our parent did so and there were no kits available.” But there is a new model under development in Korea codenamed HD. That and the i30 (which has already debuted in Europe and Korea) are possible candidates for an Indian debut. “We are doing feasibility studies to introduce the HD and i30 in India but we have not fixed a time frame yet,” Mr Lheem said.

As for the Santa Fe, HMIL plans to display it next week in Mumbai to gauge customer reaction. “If positive then we will introduce it though we will continue with the Tucson as well,” Mr Lheem said. “The Santa Fe and Tucson together will see more demand from SUV buyers in India but we have no plans to locally produce them,” he added.

Hyundai’s decision to move all small car production globally to India is partly triggered by the new engine and transmission shop that the company is currently building as part of its second phase of expansion. “The new Kappa range of engines – mainly 1.2 litre gasoline – will be installed in the i20,” Mr Lheem said. “Just like the A-segment i10, the i20 will be the first B-segment car to be made in India and exported globally. For the new engine and transmission plant another 30 Korean vendors will come to India taking the total tally from 17 to 50. Our 6 lakh capacity is good enough volume for them to invest in India,” he said.
Old 20th November 2007, 11:11   #2

Good work Shobit! Really informative article.
Nicely highlighted!

Elito
Old 20th November 2007, 11:49   #3

Wouldn't i20 give a head-2-head competition to getz....

And looking at the diesel version of getz which was recently launched.. I dont know why are they spending soo much on saving the getz as a car by launching so many versions, dropping the price tags and simultaneously giving the news of i20 being launched....

Wats.. up hyundai..
Old 20th November 2007, 11:56   #4

Not too sure if people have posted info on the i20, but here are some results I found via google:

Spied: Hyundai i20

The link below has a nice side view picture of the car.
Hyundai i20 Spied

It looks like the change is going to be evolutionary, with the front having the exaggerated/extended head lamps found on the new i10. The diesel will be a carryover, but there will be a new 1.2L gasoline engine, which I believe is also going to show up in the i10.
Old 20th November 2007, 12:21   #5

Off late I am amazing people with how updated I am about auto news but we all know the credit goes to guys like you on t-bhp .
Back when I was a business analyst at the auto motive division of my company and used to write white papers on upcoming trends and their analysis could have got a lot of help from t-bhp alas I am no more at that job.
Old 20th November 2007, 14:00   #6

They killed Santro and now they are killing Getz.
Old 20th November 2007, 14:15   #7

Nice path Hyundai is taking from the i10.
Old 20th November 2007, 14:45   #8

i20 doesn't look that different from the current getz (atleast the side profile). should do wonders for Hyundai "If" priced correctly and launched at the right time.

OT: How come we haven't seen a single ad for the Getz D when we have them for the I10, the Verna or for that matter sometimes even the Santro?
Old 20th November 2007, 14:46   #9

What i feel is with the launch of i10 probably Santro will be fazed out in a year.. cos no point having 2 cars with the same price tag n power...
Probably they seeing the response and then will phase out...
Old 20th November 2007, 15:46   #10

Atleast i20 looks more sportier than getz. Hyundai is doing simply what it should have started a bit earlier. Revamp the whole lineup to give a freshlook. Times are gone when people liked cars that gives solid quality for a premium. Design/Price are key, a lesson learnt from Swift and SX4.
Old 20th November 2007, 17:23   #11

Originally Posted by shobhit15 View Post
Tough decisions that could make or break Hyundai India. The design direction that Hyundai have taken is applaudable.
Old 20th November 2007, 21:26   #12

Here are some more spy pics on available net.
http://images24.fotosik.pl/35/1a210fdf3b8816cf.jpg

http://images26.fotosik.pl/35/90237b5450a66752.jpg
[COLOR=#0000ff]http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/iipcache/105243.jpg[/COLOR]
[COLOR=#0000ff]http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/iipcache/105244.jpg[/COLOR]
[COLOR=#0000ff]http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/iipcache/105245.jpg[/COLOR] http://images29.fotosik.pl/35/42e41b1eed0271c5.jpg

New (interior) pics:
http://www.autoscoop.biz/galle...ber=3
[COLOR=#0000ff]http://www.autoscoop.biz/galle...ber=3[/COLOR]
[COLOR=#0000ff]http://www.autoscoop.biz/galle...d=985[/COLOR]
Autoscoop.biz - Editor's Area

ICE may be
http://www.kia-press.com/pics/2004/1...5-Ceed_037.jpg

Hyundai i20: October 2007 - Gallery from 4Car

Hyundai i20 | Spy Shots | News | Auto Express says
This Hyundai has got its sights on the success of the Vauxhall Corsa. Our spies have captured the Korean firm’s new supermini. Called the i20, it will replace the Getz when it hits the UK late next year.

We snapped the barely disguised production model out testing on the open road, and these shots show exactly what’s in store.

There are obvious similarities with the bigger i30 family car at the front, as the i20’s grille features a single horizontal bar. The newcomer also has large Corsa-style headlights. These define the shape of the lower air intake, while circular foglamps create a sporty look. At the back, there’s an upright tailgate, so buyers can expect plenty of room for luggage.

The new model is bigger than the outgoing Getz, too, so it should provide more cabin space. There will be high-quality trim inside and a more flexible seating layout, as Hyundai seeks to tempt buyers away from mainstream rivals such as the Honda Jazz and Ford Fiesta.

A new 1.2-litre petrol engine will spearhead the line-up, while a revised version of the firm’s existing 1.4 unit will also be offered. Diesel power will come from the current 1.5-litre CRTD. In the Getz, this unit emits 118g/km of CO2, which means the supermini is in band B for road tax.

The i20 will debut at the Paris Motor Show next September, and the first five-door models should arrive in dealers before the end of 2008.

A sportier-looking three-door variant is set to appear soon after, at the beginning of 2009. While prices remain secret for now, the i20 is expected to be slightly more expensive than the Getz to reflect its increased size and improved interior quality.
-----------
I think this will come next year same time here in India. Means we are going to get big Discounts on Getz for Diwali 2008.

Last edited by mrkanitkar : 20th November 2007 at 21:34.
Old 20th November 2007, 22:42   #13

Originally Posted by amtak View Post
i20 doesn't look that different from the current getz (atleast the side profile). should do wonders for Hyundai "If" priced correctly and launched at the right time.

OT: How come we haven't seen a single ad for the Getz D when we have them for the I10, the Verna or for that matter sometimes even the Santro?
Strategy my friend Strategy!

In a country where word of mouth decides success of a car more than pure ability or purpose negative feedback can be lethal!

The way i figure, Hyundai realises Getz is never gonna be a mianstream success. Success yes..but not over the top success like say a Swift!

If a average joe dosen't know abt getz D and its price tag its better! For all that is gonna result is in standard Hyundai bashing @ 'So expensive for a flop hatch/car' etc

Hyundai surely does not need such stupid comments discouraging potential buyers from trying a Gr8 product.

People who care for a car like Getz D..will come on thier own. Add to that the marketing budget, production numbers etc and u have a low key key launch!
However as and when sales pick up..there may be a few Ads

A car like Getz D is always gonna attarct a niche segment. Its better if a average Joe does not know or comment abt it.

My 2cents

Elito
Old 21st November 2007, 00:00   #14
SuperSyn

Originally Posted by shobhit15 View Post
Killed?! More like replacement (displacement?).

This is just a timely upgrade, and if the population keeps on purchasing outdated models the manufacturer would be naive to withdraw it from the market, particularly in these lower segments.

Old 21st November 2007, 08:50   #15

Very well said Eltio11.Your 2 American paisas are worth crores.

People who are rational buyers, would appreciate the greatness of most underrated car called as Getz. But that group of people are very less.

Anju