Old 19th June 2009, 16:39   #361

I am looking for:
a) Original SS80 '800' and 'DX' monograms
b) Tokai Denso - All indicators and tail-lamps

Any help in this regard will be appreciated..Thanks.

Also, what is the correct color for the metal bumpers? Is it dull black or slightly glossy version of dull black? The latter looks much better.

Originally Posted by bablue View Post
Oh my goodness this car makes me jealous. Its very very well maintained. Got my eyes on the thin crome sticker on the back. I lost mine during paint job. Any body have any idea for an alternative for this kind of lookalike sticker?
My car [see page 10 of this thread] has a replica chrome sticker but it looks real from a distance of one meter distance and beyond. I had sent closeup pics and 'DIY' instructions to another t-bhpian. If you are interested, PM me your email id. I'll be glad to share the same with you.

Last edited by S@~+#0$# : 19th June 2009 at 16:42.
Old 19th June 2009, 17:10   #362
gpa

These are really well maintained classic cars. Makes me green with envy
Old 20th June 2009, 01:05   #363

Does the engine from the new model (86-current) fit in the engine bay. I know one of the engine mountings looks different.
Old 30th June 2009, 09:52   #364

I have chanced upon a pair of NOS roof gutter trims (INDIAN make) .
if anyone is interested pm me
Old 2nd July 2009, 20:17   #365

see this ss80 in some foreign destination
Maruti Suzuki SS80 DX-411.jpg  

Old 2nd July 2009, 21:49   #366

Lovely pic.! 'looks like it was in some movie.
Old 3rd July 2009, 11:55   #367

Nice find Ajay ! Notice the left hand drive and wipers positioned for the same !
Old 3rd July 2009, 15:25   #368

MY SS80 undergoing a complete paintjob in Delhi

Maruti Suzuki SS80 DX-27062009094.jpg

Maruti Suzuki SS80 DX-27062009093.jpg

Maruti Suzuki SS80 DX-27062009092.jpg

Maruti Suzuki SS80 DX-27062009091.jpg
Old 4th July 2009, 19:02   #369

Originally Posted by ashishc100 View Post
MY SS80 undergoing a complete paintjob in Delhi
Great! Car seems to have a good bodyline.

Please post more detailed pics/review of the work done.
Old 4th July 2009, 19:38   #370

please see the ads of ss80

Old 4th July 2009, 19:44   #371

here are some other photos of ss80 in their western avatars

Name:  Car.bmp
Views: 2626
Size:  446.3 KB

Last edited by v12 : 5th July 2009 at 11:23.
Old 5th July 2009, 09:08   #372

Originally Posted by Stanher View Post
Great! Car seems to have a good bodyline.

Please post more detailed pics/review of the work done.

Will surely do so.. am picking up the car from the bodyshop today... so will get to click lots more pics
Old 5th July 2009, 17:20   #373

Vehicle Details:
Model- Suzuki SS80 Std.
Colour- Apple Red
Year of Manufacture- 1983
Ownership- Single

Finally got my SS80 restored to some level. Have been on the job since last 5-6 weeks and frankly have been able to devote time to it only on weekends (much to the despair of my wife).

Started the job with the engine, suspension & electricals overhaul and then to bodywork.

The following have been attended to.

1. Engine Overhaul- done with complete engine rebore and new pistons and rings.

2. Electricals and Lighting-
a) Retapping of wiring in the engine bay done. The wiring in inside cabin would has been thoroughly attended and retapped while the interiors are being redone.

b) Repair of Wiper Motor done. New Wiper arms sourced with much difficulty although I am still not totally satisfied with the wiper motor. ( Still waiting for someone to guide me on how the wiper motor and arms of New Model can be retrofitted in the SS80 with slight modifications).

c) New Wiper Blades installed (Syndicate make of Maruti Van, can someone tell me where to get better wipers).

d) New Tail Lights installed (Alpha Toyo)

e) New Parking and Indicator Lights installed (Lumax)

3. Braking System Overhaul-
a) Checking of Front Discs and Brake Pads.
b) Top up of Barke Fluid.

4. Suspension Overhaul- (was done almost 10K Kms back. but re attended)
a) Front Ball Joints, Tie Rods and Bushes to be checked and found OK.
b) Front Shocker Plate/ Mounts Replacement done. (Local make)
c) Rear Shockers, Leaf Spring and Bushed to be checked and found OK.

5. Bodywork-
a) Attention to Rusting in door corners. (No rusting on rocker panels and floor boards).

b) Realignment and Dent beating to match bodylines done.

c) Dent beating of sagging bumper ends done.

d) Scrapping off of old paint completely.

e) New Paintjob in SOLID RED colour complete on inside and outside.

The following are still pending-

1. Interiors Refurbishment-

a) Full re-bucketing and re-contouring of Seats with foaming.
b) New Upholstery.
c) New Door Panels.
d) New Roof Lining.
e) New Carpetting with proper sound insulation to reduce NVH levels.
f) Upgradation of ICE.

2. Fitting of AIRCON Unit-
ON HOLD
Need to get an Air Conditioning Unit with back condensor retrofitted in my SS80 as my mother finds it extremely difficult to commute in the summer months in Delhi.

Have got quotations from 2-3 vendors in West Delhi who are ready to istall a SANDEN Japan Kit with back condensor unit for INR 15K. Somehow am still not very convinced on their assurance of a trouble free performance.

Need help from the TEAM-BHP forum to guide me to a vendor/ workshop where the retrofittment can be done properly. Also need support from everyone on the aspects that I should seriously consider while fitting the Air Conditioning Unit like make of Compressor, Cooling Coil, Condensor, upgradation of blower unit and radiator fan.

Still need to source the following:
1.New Front Grille. (Available in Kashmere Gate at 2-3 vendors, so will probably go there and get a new one as the old one is not realigning properly.)

2. New Silver Lining for front Windscreen. (Removed the old ones as they were looking very shoddy, dont think would be able to source new ones).

3. New Silver Lining for Gutter Channels. (retained the old ones on the car as of now, not in a too bad condtion with just the ends having gotten broken).

4. New Door Panels.

The vehicle is back home after a 5 week stint at two differnet workshops. Heard from the workshop guy that during the 3 week bodyshop work almost 3 customers dropped in to ask if the car is for resale, showing the love for the SS80 in the current car enthusiats mind.

Any ways posting some pics of the repainted car for your comments.........

Maruti Suzuki SS80 DX-050720091111.jpg
Maruti Suzuki SS80 DX-050720091151.jpg
Maruti Suzuki SS80 DX-050720091141.jpg
Maruti Suzuki SS80 DX-050720091121.jpg
Maruti Suzuki SS80 DX-050720091161.jpg
Maruti Suzuki SS80 DX-050720091101.jpg
Maruti Suzuki SS80 DX-050720091091.jpg
ashishc100 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th July 2009, 18:57   #374

nice job,ashish....congrats .
by the way NOS door pads are available in a shop in the outskirts of trivandrum.
dont know the price.will check it out if you are interested
Old 5th July 2009, 20:00   #375

very nice car cant you get the rear sticker replicated? she will look very nice with that on If you were in Bombay "the president" aka Roni would have helped you in that department.