Old 14th July 2009, 23:07   #391

Originally Posted by ashishc100 View Post
GPA, wat do u mean by 'minor cutting of the firewall'. Where is the firewall. Being a not so technical guy, kindly guide me in that.
The WALL that seperates the engine and the inside cabin in any Automobile is called the FIREWALL.

Originally Posted by Stanher View Post
In that case is it possible to change the motor for a newer model one? (For practical reasons)

There is no cutting or welding required while we are swapping the old SS80 engine with the Type II Carb engine or the Type III MPFI engine. The same stock setup will easily seat the new generation M-800 engine and gearbox both.

The only thing you cant integrate in the SS80 is the Brake Booster unit, rest all the SS80 is techincally same as the SB308's or the later generation M-800
Old 14th July 2009, 23:50   #392

Originally Posted by PAVAN KADAM View Post
There is no cutting or welding required while we are swapping the old SS80 engine with the Type II Carb engine or the Type III MPFI engine. The same stock setup will easily seat the new generation M-800 engine and gearbox both.

The only thing you cant integrate in the SS80 is the Brake Booster unit, rest all the SS80 is techincally same as the SB308's or the later generation M-800
Thanks pavan! Um, although I meant motor as in WIPER MOTOR, not the engine!
Old 15th July 2009, 09:43   #393

The WALL that seperates the engine and the inside cabin in any Automobile is called the FIREWALL.

if you change the engine to SB308,etc, then what is the novelty left in an SS80??
Old 15th July 2009, 11:55   #394

Scrapped SS80!

I happen to see a SS80 in a backyard. Looked like for scrap.

People who want to revive a history can it a visit at:

On the road from KR Puram to Marathahalli. Once you pass Bimal on your left there is a small signal. Take the service road on your left and proceed till you see a small lake on your left. Immediately you can spot a SS80 without wheels on the left!

It can be helpful for people trying to find parts from old scrapped SS80.

If some drops a visit please post your observations/pics if taken.

Last edited by devrajman : 15th July 2009 at 11:57.
Old 21st July 2009, 10:42   #395

I would request the SS80DX owners to please check and post whether all the windshield glasses are made by TEMPALITE SUZUKI or SAFEX. because yesterday I saw a single owner SS80 whose front and rear windshields were SAFEX, the owner says he has not changed it.
Old 21st July 2009, 11:20   #396

In my 1985 DX its TEMPALITE SUZUKI
Old 21st July 2009, 18:57   #397

there's no safex anywhere on the car. my car has Suzuki (Tempalex or Tempalite not sure) all around
Old 21st July 2009, 20:19   #398

by the way the car I mentioned in the previous post was a standard one and hence the glasses are non TINTED
Old 21st July 2009, 22:54   #399

Came across this colourful SS80 today.
Maruti Suzuki SS80 DX-dsc00123a.jpg  

Maruti Suzuki SS80 DX-dsc00124a.jpg  

Old 22nd July 2009, 00:19   #400

Originally Posted by ajay99 View Post
I would request the SS80DX owners to please check and post whether all the windshield glasses are made by TEMPALITE SUZUKI or SAFEX. because yesterday I saw a single owner SS80 whose front and rear windshields were SAFEX, the owner says he has not changed it.
by the way the car I mentioned was a standard one and hence the glasses are non TINTED
I know of a very original chocolate brown SS80 in our society itself, checked it out this morning. Except for the front windscreen that was an Indian brand (not Atultuf) all the glasses on the car are TEMPALITE SUZUKI. This car is badged a DX and has leather seats and I think even AC fitted.

Originally Posted by Jai3033 View Post
Nice! But IMHO they look better in stock colours, especially red.

How is your SS80 btw? Brought to madras yet?
Old 22nd July 2009, 00:43   #401

Wow, this car seem to be very original, I can identify those sealed beams.
Old 22nd July 2009, 09:24   #402

I think the paint scheme has been stickered on and probably easily reversible. But wow I would love driving this when I am in a "Carribean Rumba mood"
Old 22nd July 2009, 20:12   #403

some good news for ss80 guys.
NOS stanley sealed headlamp units are available in good numbers in Singapore.
any one who has contacts there ,please check it out
Old 22nd July 2009, 20:39   #404

Does'nt the SS-80 have one of the engine mounts that bolts to the firewall below the wiper box. THe SB308 does not have it in that location.
Old 22nd July 2009, 22:33   #405

Originally Posted by Mpower View Post
Does'nt the SS-80 have one of the engine mounts that bolts to the firewall below the wiper box. THe SB308 does not have it in that location.

Thats exactly what i meant