Old 6th December 2007, 20:39   #16

Originally Posted by finneyp View Post
Good price? I don't think so!
Pls note that Fusion D and Getz D is cheaper than SRV Petrol.

And any petrol Hatch priced more than 5 lacs will be a flop in India!
I second that and go ahead to say that now the Indian car industry has covered a milestone and it's time to move up the value chain. With a string of new releases like the i10 and the soon to be released - the new Tata 1 lac car, I guess older cars like Altos, WagonRs, Santros, Sparks have to be really priced properly (lower). Same goes for mid sized hatches. And it would not be out of the way to say that any petrol hatch priced more than 4 lacs will not have the kind of sales it could have had had it been at a max of 4 lacs. Logans have touched a chord in the Indian markets at 4.5 lacs. It has really stirred up Why in the world should I pay 5 lacs for a hatch ??? That's what is happening to i10 higher models right ????

Still SRV is still way too costly to be firing up the Indian markets. GM, Learn baby learn.... This is India.

Last edited by Tech : 6th December 2007 at 20:40.
Old 6th December 2007, 20:53   #17

Too less, too late from GM.

The car is wicked - but the still priced high & being petrol don't help either.
Old 6th December 2007, 21:03   #18

Originally Posted by finneyp View Post
Good price? I don't think so!
I didnt mean it would be a volume seller. I didnt even say its sales would improve.

But there are people who wanted to buy the SRV for looks, but never took the step cause of its price tag! This deal would appeal to them (Even though it may never matter, in the end!)
Old 6th December 2007, 21:08   #19

Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
Yeah...quite like Ford had a special edition or an anniversary edition everytime they sold 10 Escorts in India.
Originally Posted by mail4ajo View Post

I liked steeriod's comment on the Escort. I think Escort was the car with max number of limited editions released.

Hey! And dont forget the opel corsa! that had soo many special editions(and various "limited edition" gsi ir something) variants that the normal ones are rarer these days!
Old 6th December 2007, 21:11   #20

the fact that the SRV has failed to sell in India is a reflection on two things:

1. The car has a horrible engine (for the price, for the size, for the image that GM is trying to portray of the car).

2. The Indian car buying public has yet to acquire mature tastes. Everyone still wants a "dikky" even if the SRV looks a lot hotter than the Optra and is quite a bit cheaper as well.

This is very sad for people who would love to see some decent hot-hatches sold in India. (eg VW Golf, Honda Civic Hatchback or even the Swift Sport).

When I look towards replacing my Swift Zxi (yes I'm one of the crazy ones who drives a petrol hatch worth more than 5L) in about a year or two I'd love to be able to buy a 10L hatchback. As long as it has the features and performance to match.
Old 6th December 2007, 22:09   #21

this crap needs to sell at 5 laks to make sales. first time i saw this i was qouted 9.8 laks for it onroad then i was like a honda city costs the same. they went like its better than honda, im like how its a hatchback they said it looks hatchback but its big i was like dream on and bought a honda instead lol
Old 6th December 2007, 22:40   #22

SRV has got good looks. But I would rather go for Getz Diesel or Fabia. I do not like american cars.
Old 6th December 2007, 22:41   #23

Please go to the Optra site

For all those who are cribbing about the lack of grunt from the engine you will be happy to know that they are releasing the SRV with the diesel engine of the Optra Magnum. I have already placed my configuration through the site but they have not acknowledged it as yet and the dealer in Cochin does not have any clue about the SRV diesel even after showing it to them in their own website. If there is a hot hatch after the Palio GTX this must be it. From the power to weight ratio it should do 0 to 100 in about 8.8 seconds and nothing should come close to it in ingear acceleration. Thats pretty cool for an Indian Diesel Hatchback don't you think.
Definitely got to wear seat belts in this thing.
Chevrolet - Magnum Optra

http://2007optrasrv_in.in.pls.carsco...o?trfcSrc=gm03
Old 6th December 2007, 22:47   #24

SRV has got good looks. But I would rather go for Getz Diesel or Fabia. I do not like american cars.
SRV is not American, its Korean just like Hyundai. So where does America come in the pitcure?
Old 6th December 2007, 22:51   #25

Originally Posted by maddy42 View Post
Soon we may start having offers from Gm like Buy the Srv and take home the Spark absolutely free....hurry offer valid till all the available cars i made are sold
then this offer will be forever..
Old 6th December 2007, 23:04   #26

GMI's modus operandi. Not going to go well with the initial customers.
Old 6th December 2007, 23:16   #27

Just because it's a hatchback does not make it any inferior to a City. Further, the SRV is hardly in the same league as other hatchbacks like the santro or indica. It's a whole lot bigger, and though priced above what it's worth, it's not incomparable with a City in any case.
Old 6th December 2007, 23:30   #28

'not incomparable' = 'comparable'.
FYI, NHC sells more in day, than what SRV has managed to sell since its launch. What comparison you are talking about?
Originally Posted by skandyhere View Post
it's not incomparable with a City in any case.
Old 6th December 2007, 23:34   #29

Originally Posted by skandyhere View Post
Just because it's a hatchback does not make it any inferior to a City. Further, the SRV is hardly in the same league as other hatchbacks like the santro or indica. It's a whole lot bigger, and though priced above what it's worth, it's not incomparable with a City in any case.
exactly, I cant see how this car can be sold at 5 lacs being much bigger than any of the hatches available in India. it true that the initial price was very steep, but we are talking about a car that is as big as an optra except the boot. and IMO its the best looking car available this side of 10 lacs. it might not be popular among the t-bhpians because of the lack of grunt from the engine but it is not incomparable to the 77hp NHC. but as somebody has said, Indian market is not ready to accept a hatchback at more than 5-6 lacs. the result will be similar even if Subaru plans to bring in their 2008's Imprezza WRX Sti and price it competetively. Only difference will be that some of the bhpians(if not all) will jump for it, but the masses will remain indifferent.
Old 6th December 2007, 23:47   #30

FYI, NHC sells more in day, than what SRV has managed to sell since its launch. What comparison you are talking about?
800 has sold more what a NHC sells a decade back, does that make the NHC worst. The NHC IMO is the worst car Honda has ever made. It just doensot have any soul.

Yes the SRV has poor grunt and a bad gearbox, but it surely is better then the NHC.

And if GM launches a SRV Diesel below 7.5Lakhs, i am surely buying one.