Old 19th December 2007, 17:35   #16

Originally Posted by amit View Post
I remember reading somewhere that Tata will show the one lakh rupee car at the Paris Auto show.
Nope it is official it will be launched on Jan 10, 2008 at the New Delhi Autoexpo
Old 19th December 2007, 17:42   #17

Originally Posted by sameer551 View Post
Guys no spy pics so far from anyone here at Team-BHP :( Anyone???
How can that be possible?
Here it is:
Old 19th December 2007, 17:47   #18

cool...25KMPL WOW!! well i know i want to buy one just for fun...dunno who'll actually use it at home though i just might soup it up :P
Old 19th December 2007, 17:52   #19

Originally Posted by salilpawar1 View Post
How can that be possible?
Here it is:
This is too old, after this there have two more pics, the official rendring and one in Indian Express
Old 19th December 2007, 18:08   #20

Is that really it?

We should wait and watch. Everybody calls it the 1 lakh car but I think its going to end up costing the same or a little less than the M800 with creature comforts like airconditioning.

At 25km's a liter this Tata small car and Suzuki's Concept A-Star will be slugging it out for the tiny car fuel efficiency sweepstakes.

Last edited by StarScream : 19th December 2007 at 18:09. Reason: spelling
Old 19th December 2007, 18:58   #21

Originally Posted by StarScream View Post
Is that really it?

We should wait and watch. Everybody calls it the 1 lakh car but I think its going to end up costing the same or a little less than the M800 with creature comforts like airconditioning.

At 25km's a liter this Tata small car and Suzuki's Concept A-Star will be slugging it out for the tiny car fuel efficiency sweepstakes.
it may not cost 1 lac, but may be 1.3 to 1.5. Maruti sure will reduce the price of 800 to counter it and then there may not be much gap between the prices.
Old 19th December 2007, 20:16   #22

OT : 25km for a petrol is not that great. Considering Swift Diesel goes the same amount of kms in the cost of 1liter of petrol.

Tata 1 Lakh Car - The next hyped thing
Old 19th December 2007, 20:52   #23

Originally Posted by BUSA View Post
OT : 25km for a petrol is not that great. Considering Swift Diesel goes the same amount of kms in the cost of 1liter of petrol.

Tata 1 Lakh Car - The next hyped thing
The next hyped thing ??? I think it is less hyped than it should be.Before comparing the two lets bear in mind that Swift diesel is whopping 4 and 1/2 lacs (or should I say more than 400%) costlier to TOLC ( Tata's one Lac car).
Old 19th December 2007, 21:06   #24

Originally Posted by Ajay_J View Post
I think it is less hyped than it should be.Before comparing the two lets bear in mind that Swift diesel is whopping 4 and 1/2 lacs
I think the point is that its much much smaller than the 1.3 DDiS. So, the figure is not too high! But then again, i dont think this 25 kmpl will be highway figures. That could be something to watch out for!

By the way, Was watching this thread when my mom came to my room today. She was like- "You sell your Pulsar and buy one of those. It is anyday safer than bike" I guess its going to sell really well!
Old 19th December 2007, 21:18   #25

Dangerous Car this would be :)

I agree with you Crazy Driver. Even my wife says that she can get rid of her Activa and take one of this.

I'm just scared where i'll have to end up changing my bungalow for that extra parking space
Old 19th December 2007, 21:29   #26

i dont think this 25 kmpl will be highway figures.
Those figures of the Swift also arenot highway but City.

& Crazy Driver - If you sell your Pulsar and buy this car then you should be the craziest driver.
Old 20th December 2007, 01:04   #27

instead of 1 swift costing 5.5 lakhs u can buy 5 these for each person in the family (hehehe) imagine traffic jam in your compound at 8 am every day as everyone leaves for work/college
Old 20th December 2007, 01:37   #28

The article sounds quite impressive. If it delivers what it promises am sure it will attract lot of potential buyers. All said and done, the proof of the pudding is in the eating ! Lets wait and watch !

The mileage figure quoted is pretty impressive I must say but not sure if there will be a small asterisk near that. Also, I doubt if the 1 lakh price tag will be something that we can be sure of. Be prepared to see a lot of fine print associated.

Last edited by rr_zen : 20th December 2007 at 01:40.
Old 20th December 2007, 01:58   #29

Sounds good ...

But lets wait till it arrives. Certainly a brilliant initiative by Tatas but just hope that there are no initial glitches like last time around when Indica was launched -------- promised so much but failed to deliver.
Old 20th December 2007, 09:21   #30

well, that means the resale value of the M800 and the alto will be in the pits :(