Old 4th January 2008, 20:41   #46

Originally Posted by Car-Agey View Post
Came across a very intersting article on the 1 Lac Car :

Rs 1 lakh car and inclusiveness- Guest Writer-Opinion-The Economic Times

once again Salute to Mr. Ratan Tata for his vision, his dream and his belief.
Originally Posted by rkg View Post
These are really good articles, well we really need to appreciate Tata for making this possible in the midst of all the nay-sayers.

The production and business model for this 1-lac is supposed to be different.
Changing industry dynamics
As a general manager at Ariba, a Tata vendor for the Rs 1-lakh car noted1, "There are so many legacy costs built into a design, and trying to engineer those out is difficult . . . It's better to start with a clean sheet of paper and engineer low costs in."
It is cheaper also because it will be produced differently, using dealers as a part of a distributive manufacturing network. In other words, it is based on a different production and business model than currently in play in the automobile industry.
Little wonder then that a senior executive of carmaker Mahindra & Mahindra said, if successful, it would "change industry dynamics2." Of course, all this will come to naught if it is not commercially successful.
I'm not sure what this author means by it. Eagerly waiting for the unveiling.

Old 4th January 2008, 21:10   #47

Well, I am more inclined to know what the final price the buyer would pay for the car. In other words, will it still be a 1 lakh INR car ?
Old 5th January 2008, 03:41   #48

I suppose its going to be the same old TATA zing. It looks very good for the price. Personaly i would be happy if this thing replaces Rahul Baja's sh1t on wheels..

Old 5th January 2008, 06:35   #49

Does any1 know about Dilip Chabbria's DC:S’ Super Car ?? any pics

The car is supposed to hv a 3 litre engine,twin turbo charged which can attain a top speed of 305 km per hour and goes from 0 to 62 kmph in just 3.7 seconds
Old 5th January 2008, 06:44   #50

Originally Posted by cncity View Post
Does any1 know about Dilip Chabbria's DC:S’ Super Car ??
Sorry, but does the car carry a price tag of 1L?

The Tata One may have lots of things inspired from the Zing. But I don't think it's going to be the same thing. Anyway, let's just wait for couple a days more.
Old 5th January 2008, 08:48   #51

5 days from launch..... No real / clear pictures yet???
Old 5th January 2008, 09:35   #52
IMP

Here's what today's ET Pune edition has on its front page. Too bad, that it is an artists impression.

Old 5th January 2008, 09:44   #53

well i guess soon threads will open....

Performance mods for tata's 1lakh re car, Fitting K&N, Headers etc...

This is going to be fun.
Old 5th January 2008, 10:26   #54

if this is going to be the artists impression then YUCK is going to be my impression. but I dont believe in artists much unless the real thingy comes out
Old 5th January 2008, 10:30   #55

This site has an artists impression of a Tata - Abarth version of teh 1L car. lol.

source:Artist’s Impression: Tata Abarth 1-Lakh Car?
Old 5th January 2008, 10:33   #56

Why speculate when there is an actual pic available
Old 5th January 2008, 10:44   #57

SImple solution. Allow sale only in Tier 2 cities where vehicle density is low. I shudder to think what will happen to my daily commute in Bombay!!
Old 5th January 2008, 13:22   #58

i cant wait till 10th. i am going to visit Auto Expo on 10th. hope i will see grand unveiling of this car.
Old 5th January 2008, 15:33   #59

I will be glad if tata sells a 2-seater version of this car for Rs.70K!
Old 6th January 2008, 07:23   #60

Originally Posted by IMP View Post
Here's what today's ET Pune edition has on its front page. Too bad, that it is an artists impression.
The car looks more or less like the MDI MiniCat which too is another low cost ($2500) car that Tata is manufacturing.

We've heard that the Lakhtakiya runs on petrol, but the MiniCat runs on compressed air, so are we looking at a lakhtakiya variant or these two are unrelated?