Old 3rd January 2008, 23:09   #376

Originally Posted by khanak View Post
I do hope you are joking about the Taxi comment,

Im sure taxi operators would look at the Swift as a cheaper car to operate or would rather buy a Fiesta which is a segment higher.

In the hatchback taxi category, I dont think the Swift D or the Getz CRDI or the Fabia D will be challenging the dominance attained by the Indica. The more likely rivals in the cab segment are the CNG/LPG powered Santro's and Wagon R's, which are beginning to show up now and then with yellow numberplate's
Old 3rd January 2008, 23:10   #377

Originally Posted by skmami View Post
Easy, What they did in this case is just they pulled some accessories and created a new variant. If they were to add or invent something new it would take sometime but pulling things off is easy.
Yes. True.

But pulling off something you have to fix back something too. Power-windows cant simply be taken off one day. You also need to put in its place a manual mechanism- handle and related parts. If skoda had no plans for that, then the should take time to react, IMO!
Old 4th January 2008, 00:22   #378

Manual windows is fairly common in lower-price variants in UK, I think.
Old 4th January 2008, 01:17   #379

Yes. True.

But pulling off something you have to fix back something too. Power-windows cant simply be taken off one day. You also need to put in its place a manual mechanism- handle and related parts. If skoda had no plans for that, then the should take time to react, IMO!
Crazy Bhai - I agree it cant be done in a day butttttttt they dont have to do it in a day, they can just write about the new variant and work on it later, since there still is a week left for the launch and delivery wont be immediate. So maybe they are pulling the power windows off the classic variant while i post this up
Old 4th January 2008, 03:18   #380

Originally Posted by gr8guzzler View Post
Are the prices out? How do you know that Active would be priced competitively.
We don't know the prices of any variants yet. Active will be cheaper of all the variants because it has fewer options than the earlier lower-end variant called Classic. They pulled some options from Classic to create a cheaper version of the Fabia called Active. We don't know enough to say competitive but they are certainly making it cheaper by pulling stuff off of it.

As of now the line-up is : Active --> Classic --> Ambiente --> Elegance.
Old 4th January 2008, 15:00   #381

The Diesel fabia comes in three variants-
Classic - 7.12 lacs OTR Delhi
Ambient - 7.98 lacs OTR Delhi &
Elegant - 8.53 lacs OTR Delhi

Source Bhasin Motors Mathura Road Dealer New Delhi
Old 4th January 2008, 20:08   #382

Originally Posted by vijit.gangwar View Post
The Diesel fabia comes in three variants-
Classic - 7.12 lacs OTR Delhi
Ambient - 7.98 lacs OTR Delhi &
Elegant - 8.53 lacs OTR Delhi

Source Bhasin Motors Mathura Road Dealer New Delhi
Expensive! I am sure B'lore with its heavy taxes will not see many Fabias at this price.
Old 4th January 2008, 20:21   #383

Expensive!

@Andro: This is the first thought that got into my mind. It would be priced @ 9.2+ for the top end, for sure!
Old 4th January 2008, 20:36   #384

Twenty new cars coming your way-News-Indiatimes Wheels
"Czech carmaker Skoda will finally join the party with its first hatchback offering, Fabia. Available in the 1.2 litre petrol and 1.5 litre diesel versions, the Fabia is expected to be launched in the Rs 5 to Rs 6.5 lakh range, which is currently occupied by the likes of the Swift, Getz and Aveo U-Va"

So, seems they have priced it on par with swift & U-VA....
Old 4th January 2008, 20:56   #385

Originally Posted by mjothi View Post
Twenty new cars coming your way-News-Indiatimes Wheels
"Czech carmaker Skoda will finally join the party with its first hatchback offering, Fabia. Available in the 1.2 litre petrol and 1.5 litre diesel versions, the Fabia is expected to be launched in the Rs 5 to Rs 6.5 lakh range, which is currently occupied by the likes of the Swift, Getz and Aveo U-Va"

So, seems they have priced it on par with swift & U-VA....
These news guys got it totally wrong. If they looked at their brochure on the engine specifications they are wrong about the both Petrol engine as well as Diesel engine.
As per the brochure Skoda is launching 1.4 ltr Petrol and 1.4 Diesel engines.

I don't think they got the price right either.
Old 4th January 2008, 21:39   #386

Originally Posted by maverick555 View Post
Hi everybody

This is my first post .i have some interesting pics to share .Went today to local skoda dealer Fabia was on display in 3 colors.I had a look at all the three models.No test drive was available but i found the overall package quite good.Right now im in office i will post the pics once i get back home .

Price according to Krishna Automobiles:-

Classic - 6.58 lacs OTR Chandigarh
Ambient -7.35lacs OTR Chandigarh
Elegant - 7.90 lacs OTR Chandigarhcheers:
Are these prices are for the petrol or diesel variants ?
Old 4th January 2008, 22:08   #387

Originally Posted by androdev View Post
Expensive! I am sure B'lore with its heavy taxes will not see many Fabias at this price.
I guess it will be a bit more in Mumbai too. 8.5 lakhs for a Fabia is just pushing it.
Old 4th January 2008, 22:29   #388

Almost more than 2.5 Lacs to 3 Lacs over the Swift. I don't think Fabia will be making any dent in the sales of any cars that are out there.

Now its the time that Skoda show their Ace card that they have hidden up their sleeves.
Old 4th January 2008, 22:42   #389

Originally Posted by skmami View Post
Are these prices are for the petrol or diesel variants ?

Yes these prices are for diesel variants
Old 4th January 2008, 22:44   #390

Originally Posted by jaibir View Post
Any thoughts on how reliable this information is Vijit?

Folks, has someone else also heard similar numbers?
Yes, the OTR price of the elegance version looks on par with what I was told by Skoda India about 10 days ago.