Old 28th January 2008, 12:11   #31

Are you guys sure that the stile spares are so highly priced?

By spares you dont mean the headlights, bumpers etc. do you?? coz those cannot be compared just like that because they both are called by the same name. Are you sure that filters, bushes, and other components that need to be replaced during normal service is highly priced. Not sure about that. But i thik it needs to be checked.
Old 28th January 2008, 13:47   #32

Originally Posted by gemithomas View Post
Are you guys sure that the stile spares are so highly priced?

By spares you dont mean the headlights, bumpers etc. do you?? coz those cannot be compared just like that because they both are called by the same name. Are you sure that filters, bushes, and other components that need to be replaced during normal service is highly priced. Not sure about that. But i thik it needs to be checked.
I think headlights, bumpers, RVMs are the parts that we change often. Atleast in cities, where cars are more prone to minor accidents. And when ACI has done a review, it never does without a proper research. As some posts said, if these parts are imported, then they have to be costly.
Old 28th January 2008, 13:58   #33

If I remember correctly, Uno had a record 1 lakh + bookings when it was launched.

Thanks to Dr Datta Samant, the Premier factory could not function for some months at that time and deliveries did not happen.

Fiat has never recovered properly from that in spite of having good products. The service centres were another reason.
Old 28th January 2008, 14:04   #34

Originally Posted by finneyp View Post
After a Honda bashing thread, here is another Fiat / Renault bashing thread! Good show!

When Uno and Palio were launched in India, they were far superior cars compared to the cars in the market that time, it was only wrong perception of Fiat in people's minds that cars didn't burn the sales charts!
Can you elaborate what was the wrong perception, and more importantly, what has Fiat done in the last decade to correct the `wrong perception'. Perhaps all who hold wrong perceptions about Fiat are dumb. They just need to buy once to be cured (and of course give more than 3 lakhs to Fiat).
Old 28th January 2008, 14:49   #35

Originally Posted by vasudeva View Post
They just need to buy once to be cured (and of course give more than 3 lakhs to Fiat).
Thats a good one. But I suggest you never try that out!!! You dont need to spend that much to get to know a FIAT. You could just "COMPARE"
Old 28th January 2008, 21:46   #36

Can you elaborate what was the wrong perception, and more importantly, what has Fiat done in the last decade to correct the `wrong perception'. Perhaps all who hold wrong perceptions about Fiat are dumb. They just need to buy once to be cured (and of course give more than 3 lakhs to Fiat).
Which is why I told:

Originally Posted by blue_pulsar View Post
There is something called "trust" that FIAT failed to win from Indian buyers. When it comes to shelling out lacs of money on a car, Indian buyers will think 100 times. I guess this is where FIAT has failed.
People don't dare to put money on FIAT to get cured of their 'wrong perception'. Definitely FIAT has to be blamed for this. For an average Indian buyer, a Palio costs 12-15 months gross income, whereas in the western world, a Palio might cost just 2-3 months of an average buyer's gross salary. Hence, an average buyer always buys 'trusted' brands. Hope this makes sense.
Old 28th January 2008, 21:53   #37

Originally Posted by blue_pulsar View Post
For an average Indian buyer, a Palio costs 12-15 months gross income, whereas in the western world, a Palio might cost just 2-3 months of an average buyer's gross salary. Hence, an average buyer always buys 'trusted' brands. Hope this makes sense.
Fiat is a 'trusted' and big brand worldwide, may not be in India, it has brands like Ferrari, Alfa Romeo etc in its fold!

A average buyer in India also look for VFM products, and Fiat cars does deliver on that front!
Old 28th January 2008, 22:05   #38

Fiat is a 'trusted' and big brand worldwide, may not be in India, it has brands like Ferrari, Alfa Romeo etc in its fold!

A average buyer in India also look for VFM products, and Fiat cars does deliver on that front!
Definitely FIAT is a trusted brand worldwide. But the average Indian middle-class buyer is simply ignorant about the world outside India. Atleast most of them.
Old 29th January 2008, 09:00   #39

As I said, FIAT's biggest problem was their management.. They never looked interested in selling their products.. This could be a by product of Worldwide debt.. But then this is not an excuse..

Slowly Indian auto buyers mentality is changing.. FIAT is still struggling even though having TATA's dealerships in hand.. Do FIAT management looked into it why the Hell it is not working.. Are TATA dealers biased towards TATA products and forcing customers to buy Indica instead of Palio..

FIAT simply handed over the management to TATA for being rap** buy their dealers.. Its been almost a year TATA is selling FIAT cars.. Still the sales has not been in 4 digit number for a single month..

FIAT has made mistakes and it is paying for it.. BUT we should also appreciate the fact that being horribly failed in Indian market for last 3-4 years, they are still committed to Indian Market.. They are ramping up operations.. Lets wish FIAT a grand success this time and enjoy the technology they are going to bring in India.. Undoubtedly FIAT is one of the best auto manufacturers worldwide...
Old 29th January 2008, 13:59   #40

Does `Worldwide' mean the entire world, or some large proportion that would make it reasonable to generalise to `worldwide', or a tiny portion of the world that is Europe, or even a tinier portion of Europe that is Italy.
Old 29th January 2008, 14:02   #41

Considering that the days of 10 year and 20 year old ownership are gone, and most people change cars after 3-5 years, does it make sense to buy a product that has a long-term resale value of a new scooter, provided that one can find a buyer.
Old 29th January 2008, 14:08   #42

Does `Worldwide' mean the entire world, or some large proportion that would make it reasonable to generalise to `worldwide', or a tiny portion of the world that is Europe, or even a tinier portion of Europe that is Italy.
You seem to be so pissed off with FIAT. By any chance are you an "owner"
Old 29th January 2008, 14:16   #43

Originally Posted by gemithomas View Post
You seem to be so pissed off with FIAT. By any chance are you an "owner"
You seem to be equating owner with being `p...d off'. No, I am not an owner. Regarding Fiat, although Fiat does not have a great perception here, I have read that Mr. Marchionne is quite serious and committed about improving Fiat's quality and reputation worldwide. However, Fiat has excess baggage in India, and `curing wrong perceptions' could be costly, time consuming, and perhaps not achievable now. Perhaps a name change may do the trick.
Old 29th January 2008, 14:30   #44

Perhaps a name change may do the trick.
What will Fiat change thier name to? Lancia? Alfa Romeo? Maserati or Ferrari?

This way they will kill their other brands as well. People in Italy will say you know you get a Ferrari Palio for 1/20 the price, and our cheapest Ferrari costs 20 times their cheapest Ferrari available in India.

IMO Fiat needs to get agressive, get in a nice brand ambassador, stress on FE more then Safety and give good after sales service.
Old 29th January 2008, 14:40   #45

Fiat has won the coveted European Car of The Year award more than any other company. Hope you understand that it could not have achieved this by selling cars only in Italy. May we know why you are so biased against Fiat that you fail to acknowledge the heritage of the company? Moreover you are not an owner, so why are you so p..ed off with Fiat?