Voters: 220. You may not vote on this poll

Old 18th January 2005, 00:17   #16

E250 D without a doubt
Old 19th January 2005, 12:35   #17

E250D....
true, the cars are available for a song...for the price u pay for spares are astoundingly high.....an uncle of mine bought the E250D second hand for about 9llakhs 2 years ago....6 months later the aircon conked....drove down the the showroom and asked them to check it.....was told it would cost 1lakh 75k to get it fixed.....

drives around without aircon now! is too scared to get it serviced outside....dont think he bought it under the certified prog that MB offer....

anyone have a clue on how good the pre-owned deal is? is the older W124 available under the pre-owned scheme?
Old 19th January 2005, 13:29   #18

all mercs are available uinder the preowned thingy.
its really quite good andf paying that extra cash is definately worth it
hey guys
what are the thing to look out for while buying the e250
Old 19th January 2005, 13:53   #19

drives around without aircon now! is too scared to get it serviced outside....dont think he bought it under the certified prog that MB offer....

You can import parts directly or there are people who will do it for you for less than your friendly Merc dealer. Go to Euro Car Parts UK - European Car Parts

anyone have a clue on how good the pre-owned deal is? is the older W124 available under the pre-owned scheme?[/quote]

go to the preowned section of Mercedes-Benz India - Home

Last edited by ajmat : 8th June 2007 at 09:18.
Old 7th June 2007, 16:27   #20

Digging up an old thread, I am doing research on buying a used W124 - E220 Automatic

Am I right in assuming they all came with AC as standard?
I am really only interested in buying the Automatic version. Was Auto offered in all the years it was for sale?
What colours were offered?
What would be realistic prices in Pune?

Can anyone offer more info on what to look for when buying an E220 Auto?
Old 7th June 2007, 17:30   #21

yup, its the 250D for me too...in these days of price hikes, fuel costs are important...especially since the 2nd hand buyer is obviously on a budget...

besides, mercedes makes some of the best diesels around...couldnt be all that bad compared to the petrol...
Old 7th June 2007, 17:40   #22

I'm using a E250D in the house, and believe me she is just too good, She's is the Real Taxi , as the merc were known.
Gives an average of 9kmpl in city and 11 on out of town. Nothing goes wrong! dont like the later 'gol batti' at all.
E220 and E250D both also came with Auto in late 1996, but very rare.
Theres one standing with someone, who's asking 6.00 lacs!! too much,
normal manuals are going for 4.50/5.00 lacs-good condition. finished and run down cars are available for as low as 2.50/3.00 on which one will end up spending 1.50/2.00 lacs to get it dependable!!
Old 7th June 2007, 18:46   #23

Not long after our own W124 250D was sold.
She was the real Mercedes and the newer one is a far cry from it!
Old 7th June 2007, 19:53   #24

Wonder if the "Sports suspension package" was available in India as an option (or as standard). This option makes the W124 quite agile. In my opinion W124 Mercs were one of the best cars manufactured anywhere in the world (alongside the W126). Although I have a very very big soft corner for the W123. As regards E220 or E250D, its E220 for me, because that explains the Merc experience more than what the E250D would do, (but E250D would be a better logical/practical choice).

However 220 isn't the engine to enjoy the W124 either. But thats what we got in India.

After buying an used E320 recently, I have become a much bigger fan of this solid German. All other cars, are going to feel like cars after driving this. However 320 isn't the best engine to enjoy this either, but didn't get a decent used car with the better engines in our area.
Old 8th June 2007, 01:10   #25

Wow! Nice subject. I preffer E-220 myself,infact iam looking at buying one if i get a clean piece.
Old 8th June 2007, 01:21   #26

Originally Posted by ajmat View Post
go to the preowned section of www.mercees-benz.co.in
Might want to correct that spelling of mercs, if it is not a big problem.
and guide folks to the correct site.
Old 8th June 2007, 09:20   #27

Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
Might want to correct that spelling of mercs, if it is not a big problem.
and guide folks to the correct site.

Thanks for the catch - has been corrected
Old 16th July 2007, 16:42   #28

Originally Posted by Raja View Post
I am really only interested in buying the Automatic version. Was Auto offered in all the years it was for sale?
What colours were offered?

Can anyone help me with my questions?
Old 8th February 2009, 08:44   #29

Digging up an old thread, I am doing research on buying a used W124 too.

How much power and torque did the Indian versions of the E220 and E250 produce each in the W124 chassis variant?

Old 8th February 2009, 09:17   #30

Voted for 250D.
Great highway car with that diesel and good economy also ( for the size of engine and weight of car ).
At that time I remember JK making a huge noise about their tyres being chosen for Mercedes-Benz. I think the top speed was restricted to 190 kmph for this car. The only external body difference apart from badging was some slots in the front part of the car.
From what I have read, this was the last Mercedes-Benz that came with " Triple Chekced Screws ". Some said it was literally checked three times.
But one of the best Merc and much better than what is being offered presently.

EDIT : Realized that I have relied to a 4 year old thread.

Last edited by aaggoswami : 8th February 2009 at 09:19.