Old 3rd February 2008, 21:05   #1

New variant of Octavia expected...?

Hormazd Sorabjee in today's CNBC Auto show mentioned about a new variant of Octavia thats scheduled to launch in 2 weeks. This one is supposed to be a stripped down version and expected to take on Corolla HE / NHC VTEC etc.

Any info on this one...?

Last edited by alabjarus : 3rd February 2008 at 21:06.
Old 3rd February 2008, 21:11   #2

What does the Rider have that can be taken out?

The Petrol version could lose ABS and airbags though Im not sure how smart that would be. The Diesel version however really only has a height adjustable drivers seat and the information display that can be gotten rid of.
Old 3rd February 2008, 21:22   #3

Yes its true

Yes I also read in ACI (Auto Car India) that a new revised version will be launched. It may also undergo some visual updates, but not sure with this.
What is sure is that revised or rather a cheaper Octavia is coming and it will give VTEC Honda City a very stiff competetion in the diesel format.
Old 3rd February 2008, 21:25   #4

Also what happens to the Fabia if a cheaper Octavia is launched?
Old 3rd February 2008, 21:35   #5

What will happen to Jetta

Also what happens to the Fabia if a cheaper Octavia is launched?

If that is the point then think where will VW Jetta go if cheaper Octavia comes.
Already Fabia in higher versions reaches very close to Honda city segment in diesel format.
Just think where will they place Jetta, which is suppossed to be competetior to Honda City/suzuki SX4.
Old 3rd February 2008, 21:38   #6

I think the Jetta will be in the Laura segment as discussed in the Jetta thread.
Old 3rd February 2008, 21:54   #7

Sorry

I am sorry , but i read somewhere that Jetta is coming to kill HOnda city and SX4.
Sorry if i have made a mistake.
Old 3rd February 2008, 22:23   #8

that is far from being a possibility my friend

i dont think you can expect it below 18 lacs

i see the launch of cheaper lauras and octavias is just a move to create room for the jetta

in not so near future they might discontinue the higher models of octavia ,like in the case os verna and fiesta once octavia comes down to 9-11 then laura will go to 13-16

and only after that we will get jetta at 18-20
Old 3rd February 2008, 23:08   #9

Confirmed

Yes, ACI(AutoCar INdia) says that the new Jetta will be in the Corolla and Civic segment and the Laura will come low to compete with corolla and Civic. Most probably Laura will compete with Jetta.
Old 3rd February 2008, 23:17   #10

Don't think it will encroach on the Fabia much. The Rider costs around 11 ex-showroom. A stripped down version could be around 9.5-10? Say 11 OTR.
Since there isn't much to strip, could they give it the 1.4TDi of the Fabia?
Old 3rd February 2008, 23:22   #11

I hope some vigilante consumer group gheraos Skoda is there is such a move. If only dreams came true.

Last edited by theMAG : 3rd February 2008 at 23:28.
Old 3rd February 2008, 23:23   #12

Any idea about octy new variant engine specification ?
Old 4th February 2008, 00:02   #13

There was indeed some talk about launching Octavia with a less powerful engine.

Stripped down Octavia

Hindi mein kahavat hai : Na**A nahayega kya nichodega kya??
Old 4th February 2008, 00:07   #14

Originally Posted by AMATMO View Post
that is far from being a possibility my friend

i dont think you can expect it below 18 lacs

i see the launch of cheaper lauras and octavias is just a move to create room for the jetta

in not so near future they might discontinue the higher models of octavia ,like in the case os verna and fiesta once octavia comes down to 9-11 then laura will go to 13-16

and only after that we will get jetta at 18-20
the laura base model is already at 14lacs..i think they are planning to discontinue the octavia and replace it with the laura at the same price.While the octavia might be sold in a cheaper price bracket..the jetta could probably replace the laura elegance or whichever the top model is.
Old 4th February 2008, 10:28   #15

A Stripped Down Rider - Now that is Funny !!

And Yes as someone mentioned above what happens now to the Fabia -

'' Hmmm - Fabia @ 9 Lacs or Octavia @ 9.25 Lacs - Hmmm... "

What is SKODA Doing ???