This was spotted my brother on bannerghatta road today

Attachment 131144

Attachment 131145

MPOWER now you can close the thread.

Yes, this is the one.
Old 1st May 2009, 19:38   #182

Funny how cars look bigger / more imposing on our roads than abroad. Then of course, size is always relative to others on the road.

Nice pic, Gowda!
Old 1st May 2009, 19:59   #183

Originally Posted by karankapoor View Post
nice catch gowda, Toyota fortuner looks quite good.
Originally Posted by black12rr View Post
wow , thats looks meaty . Awesome height it has got .
Originally Posted by anekho View Post
what road presence! compare it to the truck behind it!
Funny how cars look bigger / more imposing on our roads than abroad. Then of course, size is always relative to others on the road.

Nice pic, Gowda!

Hey Thanks guys and the thanks goes to my brother kdeepakk on T-Bhp, as i am in Singapore i see the same here.

It's true that this vehicle looks very huge when compared to the Fortuner which is seen regularly by me in Singapore.

The vehicle has very good road presence.
Old 1st May 2009, 22:53   #184

Originally Posted by anekho View Post
btw, it's a 7 seater right?
It better be Have been waiting for a decent 7 seater SUV for a bit, and this one specifically for nearly 2 years now.
Old 2nd May 2009, 12:04   #185

please dont compare it with outlander

20L, man thats costly, I guess this is supposed to be a competition for the outlander.[/quote]

Outlander is a car based crossover (unibody). This one looks like a body-on-frame SUV
Old 8th May 2009, 14:29   #186

Was on my way to Eagleton resorts after having breakfast at Kamat Lokaruchi. Spotted the Fortuner. I was crusing at a very slow speed. All of a sudden, dont know what went through the driver's mind, the whizzed past.

By the way, I was travelling in Innova.
Old 14th May 2009, 13:23   #187

spotted a SUV testing!which 1?

haapy team-bhping guys!
I spotted this SUV testing in south bangalore.felt too much like a toyota land cruiser.was a diesel engine.as you can see the pictures the monogram is all covered.i had heard that land cruiser will officialy launch the diesel variant.which SUV is this?
Spotted Toyota Fortuner. PICS on Pg. 5 & 19. EDIT : Launch on 24th August!-14052009004.jpg  

Spotted Toyota Fortuner. PICS on Pg. 5 & 19. EDIT : Launch on 24th August!-14052009005.jpg  

Spotted Toyota Fortuner. PICS on Pg. 5 & 19. EDIT : Launch on 24th August!-14052009006.jpg  

Spotted Toyota Fortuner. PICS on Pg. 5 & 19. EDIT : Launch on 24th August!-14052009007.jpg  

Spotted Toyota Fortuner. PICS on Pg. 5 & 19. EDIT : Launch on 24th August!-14052009008.jpg  

Spotted Toyota Fortuner. PICS on Pg. 5 & 19. EDIT : Launch on 24th August!-14052009009.jpg  

Old 14th May 2009, 13:25   #188

looks like the Toyota Fortuner.
Finally here.
Old 14th May 2009, 13:25   #189

This is the Toyota Fortuner.

Good spot and nice pics.
Old 14th May 2009, 13:26   #190

Looks like chevy car see the fist image looks like + sign from the impression Not sure though
Old 14th May 2009, 13:35   #191

looks like toyota to me from the front grill.
Old 14th May 2009, 13:38   #192

More likely to be a Toyota since the temporary registration is done in Bangalore and Toyota is based out of Bangalore (Bidadi). The vehicle also looks like the Toyota Fortuner, good spot nandishpal ! Here is a photo for comparison purposes.
Spotted Toyota Fortuner. PICS on Pg. 5 & 19. EDIT : Launch on 24th August!-toyotafortunerrear.jpg  

Last edited by kannan666 : 14th May 2009 at 13:40.
Old 14th May 2009, 13:42   #193

Indeed it is Toyota Fortuner.. !! I really wish if they launch the trim down version @ 13-14 Lakhs...
Old 14th May 2009, 13:43   #194

This is Toyota Fortuner. I have spoken to the person driving also. Its 3000 cc engine, good power, nice comfort. Interiors are similar to innova, not much difference.

Everyday u can see atleast 2 -3 vehicles moving from Hosur road to city, Hope they are not stocking it.

The release is in August.

regards
Deepak
Old 14th May 2009, 15:49   #195

Rs 20 lacs is pretty expensive - i guess it is likely competition in the Captiva LT, Honda CRV basic, Outlander and maybe even trying to undercut the X TRail/ Grand Vitara Segments - being Diesel it will certainly score. Being a Toyota, there will always be a premium paying customer for it.
Wonder whether it comes to us in India with 4WD select or Permanent 4WD or what.
And I do agree - I wish they would trim it down a bit and launch a base version at about 13-14 lacs - in that case it can offer a very viable alternative to Safari/ Scorpio in the SUV segment. I know however, that at best this is a pipe-dream.

Having said all this, no manufacturer yet seems to be addressing the crying need for a good, inexpensive, yet comfortable and functional smaller SUV in the price range of
6-8-9 lacs OTR. Would be superb - as per the other thread on Crossovers/ Mini SUVs.
Maybe after Fortuner they will bring in the RAV4 at a lesser price? (another pipe dream?)

Last edited by shankar.balan : 14th May 2009 at 15:50.