Old 24th June 2009, 23:55   #271

Your location stated Bangalore whereas the very first pic was that of a LHD made me realize something was amiss somewhere.

Scrolling down to second picture left me further confused because along with the rear bumper, I noticed a crumpled pet water bottle and a crushed can - a familiar scenario in our country (no flames, please don't get started on my loyalty to my mother nation - I am proud of her despite all her short comings).

Picture #4 made more sense because in the background one can see a middle-east registration plate - which explains the LHDs.

Scrolling further down of course left nothing to the imagination
Old 25th June 2009, 12:46   #272
mxx

Originally Posted by swift8847 View Post
Whats the "SRS" badge at the back?
It is not "SRS", it is "SR5".
S - Sport
R - got something to do with engine (engine family number i think, not sure)
5 - 5 speed transmission
Old 30th June 2009, 09:24   #273

Which car is this..

Guys.

Saw this car on Hosur Road when I was driving into Bangalore yesterday.

Tried hard to get closer and take better pics but the driver seemed to have noticed me doing so and sped away.

Kalro..
Spotted Toyota Fortuner. PICS on Pg. 5 & 19. EDIT : Launch on 24th August!-29062009521.jpg  

Spotted Toyota Fortuner. PICS on Pg. 5 & 19. EDIT : Launch on 24th August!-29062009522.jpg  

Spotted Toyota Fortuner. PICS on Pg. 5 & 19. EDIT : Launch on 24th August!-29062009523.jpg  

Old 30th June 2009, 11:44   #274

How much longer are Toyota going to test this car? Surely, its ready for launch by now. I've been seeing these for ages and always thought that since most of the disguising was off, it must be ready.
Old 30th June 2009, 11:56   #275

I, who came to Bangalore just for the weekend, also managed to spot a Test Fortuner! Man they have been testing forever! 4 to 5 months of spotting all over Bangalore, and no official word on the launch. However many dealers seem to believe that it will go on sale before Diwali, at 21L ex showroom!
Old 30th June 2009, 12:06   #276

Sep 2009 is the launch thats what Nandi toyota sales guy told me , not sure about the dates
Old 30th June 2009, 12:13   #277

Originally Posted by McLaren Rulez View Post
How much longer are Toyota going to test this car? Surely, its ready for launch by now. I've been seeing these for ages and always thought that since most of the disguising was off, it must be ready.
These guys are seriously nuts !!. This car has been production for couple of years now and what the hell are they testing !! I am running out of patience here. They should learn from Tata and let the first batch of customers do the testing
Old 30th June 2009, 12:20   #278

I booked this car on Friday. The dealership over here are accepting the bookings though they are not giving anything in writing. They said it's unofficial booking and it would be first come firs served basis fr those who have booked. The dealer took 1 lac as the booking amount. The date given is September last week or October first week.
Old 30th June 2009, 12:57   #279

Originally Posted by vineethvazhayil View Post
and no official word on the launch. However many dealers seem to believe that it will go on sale before Diwali, at 21L ex showroom!
I had read official word that it is going to be launched in Sept, with 20L Ex Showroom price with CKD units.

Originally Posted by rhandle View Post
I booked this car on Friday. The dealer took 1 lac as the booking amount. The date given is September last week or October first week.
Congratulations on advance booking. One question though, what is the price you are expecting for the model you have booked ?
Old 30th June 2009, 14:01   #280

This is the same one that I posted in post #139. How long are they going to test this mule. Come on Toyota get it out!
Old 30th June 2009, 14:49   #281

Hey the Launch of the Fortuner have been conformed as 17th August, But the total number of cars that's being allotted is a very small number and as per today's info the dealership here in Kerala will stop taking payments for the car as they are sure that they won't be able to deliver the car this year. The "Priority Registration" aka Booking is 2 Lakh Rupees over here and today it has reacher 80+ nos and the whole of kerala is slated to get only around 100 Cars.
Old 30th June 2009, 14:59   #282

what is the expected price tag for Fortuner ? any pointers
Old 30th June 2009, 15:04   #283

Originally Posted by simply_sunny001 View Post
The fortuner is expected to launch in this September with a price tag of around 20lacs.

VT
Old 30th June 2009, 15:11   #284

Originally Posted by simply_sunny001 View Post
However many dealers seem to believe that it will go on sale before Diwali, at 21L ex showroom!
post #275 from Vineeth.
Old 30th June 2009, 16:47   #285

Originally Posted by tanwaramit View Post
Congratulations on advance booking. One question though, what is the price you are expecting for the model you have booked ?
They have told me to expect the diesel 3.0 L with auto for around 20L.