Swift's for build quality
Stile 1.1 for power
Versa for looks /safety?
Estilo base version ie, the one without top/frock/skirt/ etc for its looks
Old 29th February 2008, 12:36   #17

Originally Posted by vasudeva
Mine could be a stretch. Even if I had the money, I would not buy Bentleys/Maybachs/Lamborghinis etc, as I consider them as extreme self-indulgence.
Same here. Infact, I would not even look (for buying ie. - because I do love gazing at these beauties) at anything above a million INR.

Originally Posted by bblost
personally I don't like this thread! It has nothing that is not already discussed and contains a great potential for a flame war.
Yes, can see it happening very soon. Very clear that this thread is mainly about throwing muck on some specific cars/brands.

Originally Posted by gemithomas
Here is my "Dont Buy Car". I know i'm gonna get killed for this.Maruti Swift LDi
You might have your reasons, but looks like the market thinks very, very differently, given the scramble for the Swift-D, the waiting period, etc etc.
Old 29th February 2008, 12:38   #18

Gemi, i really dont see how this thread is going to be of any help to prospective car buyers. All opinions voiced here are personal, and not many are open to debate as well. What's the point then?
Old 29th February 2008, 12:53   #19
srh

Alto and M800 for lack of space
Swift for poor space and high price
GM and Ford cars for being unnecessarily overpriced

Sumo/ Mahindra CL Series based vehicles/ Trax - Can write a couple of pages for the reasons.
Old 29th February 2008, 12:53   #20

1.OPEL corsa for every thing.
2.maruti van for safety.
3.san storm bcos it is a pathetic sports car,a moded,roof less m800 is better.
4.tata indica for unrealiablity.may be my opinion change by time.
5.maruti varsha for truckish look.
Old 29th February 2008, 12:56   #21

Originally Posted by benbsb29 View Post
Gemi, i really dont see how this thread is going to be of any help to prospective car buyers. All opinions voiced here are personal, and not many are open to debate as well. What's the point then?
Exactly.
Just because if doesn't fit ones bill, doesn't mean another cant be happy with it.
I find it a negative approach.
Virtually all cars will come up on the list for some reason or the other.
Old 29th February 2008, 13:40   #22

Any model which carries the brand name "Fiat" is car NOT to buy.
everyone right from your mechanic, kids, wife, neighbor's & friends will tell you one thing "Flop model hai, average nahi deti, yeh to safed haathi hai" (This is flop model with poor fuel average, Fiat is like white elephant).
Old 29th February 2008, 13:46   #23

Originally Posted by gendarmee View Post
Exactly.
Just because if doesn't fit ones bill, doesn't mean another cant be happy with it.
I find it a negative approach.
Virtually all cars will come up on the list for some reason or the other.
Dont you think that someone looking for a new car could look at this thread and see what negetives are told about that particular car and weigh his options. It just makes you aware of what someone else feels. Its left to the buyer as to whether he feels so or not.

Here is another from me.

Code Name:
Ford Fusion.

Reason.
- If you are looking for ride comfort just stay away from this car. Its slow speed ride on bad roads are terrible.\
Old 29th February 2008, 13:51   #24

Originally Posted by bblost View Post
The only car I would not buy is my own, cause I already own it.

personally I don't like this thread!

It has nothing that is not already discussed and contains a great potential for a flame war.
In general, one has a set of constraints and then compares which car matches most of them and buy it.
If he cannot afford the features, then the seconds market is checked.

But to just dismiss a car one does not like and speak ill of it.
I don't like it.
Useless thread. Intentions are clear.
Old 29th February 2008, 14:00   #25

My Don't Buy Cars:

1. Big hatches with puny engines : Palio 1.1, Getz 1.1, UVA 1.2....the list just goes on. They simply don't have the steam that a big hatch deserves.

2. Indica N/A : The turbo is far better.

3. M800 : Just stretch your budget to an Alto instead. The differential value is so much better vis a vis the 800.

4. VW Passat : Flawed for the price. Limited room, harsh ride, no badge value.

5. San Storm : You can spell this car as C-R-A-P.

6. Verna Petrol : Totally incompetent. Far better options in the same price band.

7. Omni : Time has moved on.

Last edited by GTO : 29th February 2008 at 14:01.
Old 29th February 2008, 14:52   #26

Ferrari
Lamborgini
Maybach
Rolls Royce

When you have these above mentioned vehicle there is always a eye kept by the income tax guys ha ha ha

No need to waste money for just an hours drive on luxury, speed for which you can even get it on a lesser price

On Indian Roads i am 200% sure there is no place where you can drive a Ferrari or any other vehicle at a speed of 200kmph continously for atleast 5mins.

Am i right
Old 29th February 2008, 14:58   #27

Originally Posted by gemithomas View Post
Don't you think that someone looking for a new car could look at this thread and see what negatives are told about that particular car and weigh his options. It just makes you aware of what someone else feels. Its left to the buyer as to whether he feels so or not.
Well, if a new buyer check out this thread, he/she will be pulling thier hair, almost every car is being pulled in by one and all, from the M800 to the ferrari

If I came up with a name, i'd have a list not one or two cars.
Old 29th February 2008, 15:30   #28

My Don't Buy Cars:

1. Big hatches with puny engines : Palio 1.1, Getz 1.1, UVA 1.2....the list just goes on. They simply don't have the steam that a big hatch deserves.

2. Indica N/A : The turbo is far better.

3. M800 : Just stretch your budget to an Alto instead. The differential value is so much better vis a vis the 800.

4. VW Passat : Flawed for the price. Limited room, harsh ride, no badge value.

5. San Storm : You can spell this car as C-R-A-P.

6. Verna Petrol : Totally incompetent. Far better options in the same price band.

7. Omni : Time has moved on.
OT: well. that reassures me. I was slighly taken back by a few responses. Had only good intentions.

Here is another from Me.

Code Name:
Tata SAfari TCIC

Reason:
- Too sluggish to be driven around. Period.

Last edited by gemithomas : 29th February 2008 at 15:36.
Old 29th February 2008, 15:34   #29

Maini Reva : overpriced, unsafe, looks horrible
Old 29th February 2008, 15:41   #30

Any Model which comes from TATA's table, Everybody knows the reason
Tension
And
Trouble
Always