Old 3rd April 2008, 20:55   #31

Its grossly overpriced, especially with the puny 1.2L motor. A 100+ BHP motor would've softened the blow but unfortunately skoda is going the honda way.
Old 3rd April 2008, 21:11   #32

I t looks really overpriiced But still If we compare it with swift
They are Charging Almost 1 LAKH premium

As the top model of swift would be around 5.65 lakh on road and the Top model of Fabia is 6.8 Lakh on road !

So this just premium for bit Bigger Car and Brand value

Still its overpriced for sure but who cares until unless they make money out of it by just selling few cars
Old 3rd April 2008, 21:38   #33

maybe thats coz in a country like india FE is more important than performance... and also coz there are hardly any roads to run at 200kmph! a 1.2l engine is good enough (for most people) for city/ indian highways use. for better performance theres always the 1.4l engine which is decent enough.
Old 3rd April 2008, 21:45   #34

But fact remains that people who grew up thinking an 800 CC Maruti a fast car thing anything 1l+ is fast enough. People will pay a premium to own a Skoda. Shelling out 5lac+ for a Hyundai! And to think I got my Palio for 3.8 OTR. .
Old 3rd April 2008, 22:22   #35

Fabia Petrol 1.2 68bhp "Ambient" 6,78,000Rs On road -Skoda lovers will buy it.
It has Airbag + ABS + alloys, stearing adju, stereo, remote locking.. and well built premium hatch car. I think it is worth paying compare to Swift ZXI @ 6lacs. And till the arrival of Honda Jazz
Old 3rd April 2008, 22:48   #36

Honda will come and kill the Fabia with the Jazz. But just hope Honda Doesnt delay Jazz launch ( I heard about '09 launch) any info guys? Jazz will also mostly get the 1.2 l not sure about the Bhp. BUt Jazz is extremely spacious.Fabia petrol might sell in decent nos till Jazz.
Old 3rd April 2008, 23:04   #37

BAH! will they never learn?? At this price i don't think even a single one would be sold. All the fabias i've seen are diesels. Has the 1.4 petrol even been lanuched ??
Old 4th April 2008, 00:05   #38

Originally Posted by anandpadhye View Post
Seriously....

ABS generally comes in handy and avoids deployment of airbags.
Airbags in the Fabia base model will only deply to prove that ABS should have been bought!
seat belts, airbags, ABS... thats is the order in which safety equipment must be fitted.. and bought.

just because every other manufacturer has been giving ABS at a lower equipment level than airbags does not make it 'correct'. cost-effective, but not 'correct'. if you are not convinced - do some reading up.

this thread has become another Skoda bashing thread..

i would not judge Skoda as some clueless company to price it the way they have done. pricing is the crux of running a business and as a businessman i would always like to err on the side of pricing my product higher.

even if they price it low and don't back it up with a matching service/ownership experience it will have seriously negative impact on the brand perception which can be very hard to recover from (ex FIAT).

if the product is not VFM, it won't sell. as simple as that.
Old 4th April 2008, 00:24   #39

They should have launched a 1.4 instead of 1.2 at that price range. That would have made it attractive. I still find it a decent option for a person looking for a decent hatch for mainly city use.
Old 4th April 2008, 06:47   #40

What?

What 6lakh + for a small car. Agreed they are giving quality, but then its too much. And the heart is not really worth praising. The Swift definately gives more and will perform better with out any feeling of being underpowered. After spending 6+ lakh, nobody would like to have that feeling.
And Skoda Fabia mainly sells because of diesel, the petrol is sure to find less customers.
Old 4th April 2008, 07:05   #41

DCEite bhai, in sadda delhi/gaon itself, I must see like 2-3 of them everyday.

and its NOT overpriced yaar. Its Aveo Uva - 7bhp + airbags + thoda farkles + skoda premium
Old 4th April 2008, 11:01   #42

addendum. Am I the only one who thinks that they have been chors like Ford - seems to me that it is getting excise benefit but is passing ZERO. just like fusion TDCi? its 3992 mm

btw, website brochure claims engine as 1390cc petrol MPI.
Old 4th April 2008, 11:07   #43

Slightly OT:

In the March issue of What Car? published by Autocar India, I can see Dippy and F50 (or is that ported_head) giving their opinions on the Skoda diesel. Not sure if this has been discussed elsewhere.
Old 4th April 2008, 12:15   #44

Originally Posted by svsantosh View Post
But will still sell decent numbers _ Pity!
I would not be decent in one of them.
Old 4th April 2008, 13:03   #45

DCEite bhai, in sadda delhi/gaon itself, I must see like 2-3 of them everyday.

and its NOT overpriced yaar. Its Aveo Uva - 7bhp + airbags + thoda farkles + skoda premium

I am sure they are diesel and NOT petrol!

ELito