Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 25th April 2008, 10:47   #1
SUV

Reva @ 2.49 L ....

* Battery.... etc .. Not Included....

Mod's please remove if already posted ....
Reva @ 2.49 L ....-getimage.jpg  

Last edited by SUV : 25th April 2008 at 10:51.
Old 25th April 2008, 10:54   #2

LOL its like selling a car and putting engine not included in the fine print
Old 25th April 2008, 10:55   #3

Does it take normal AA size batteries

*** is this, are they trying to fool the public then this is very lame attempt lol
Old 25th April 2008, 11:05   #4

Since it takes 6 lead acid batteries. What extra would it take to make it run. Another 15 or 18K ?
Old 25th April 2008, 11:12   #5
SUV

Originally Posted by srishiva View Post
Since it takes 6 lead acid batteries. What extra would it take to make it run. Another 15 or 18K ?
The battries cost about 40K if am right, Installation extra, Charging Point extra, Watering Kit extra, Registration (road tax) extra ...... OTR in BLR comes to about 3.8 - 4.x depending on the model .. A friend of mine bought one and it costed her 4.xx (model with AC)...
Old 25th April 2008, 11:14   #6

All electric cars are exempted from the 12% Excise duty at the recent budget.
I've been waiting for the Reva price revision. Its about time its considered by folks going in for a 2nd or 3rd car.Especially in cities like bangalore,chennai where traffic congestion is high.
Old 25th April 2008, 11:16   #7

What nonsense!!!

Nobody's going to fall for this gimmick.
Old 25th April 2008, 11:40   #8

Originally Posted by adityamunshi View Post
What nonsense!!!

Nobody's going to fall for this gimmick.
You'd be surprised by the number of people who will fall for this ad & make plans.

Thats advertisingcheers:
Old 25th April 2008, 11:59   #9

This is utter gimmickry!! I think the new entrants like Ajanta will eat up Rewa's marketshare if they do not reduce the prices. Rewa is primarily concentrating on the exports, but if the price is low enough, it is a very good option for a 2nd car.
Old 25th April 2008, 13:04   #10

Guys In case you were wondering the source, Times Of india Bangalore, 25th April 2008, Page 9.

i just called their company showroom @ 080 - 222 711 46

this offer is for the basic model, 2.49 is ex-shwrm, rest cost you 76K which will be down payment, ICICI offers 2.49L loan @ 5533Rs EMI for 60 Months. (regular cost is 3.5OTR for the base model, so this works to a cool 25K discount from the ICICI bank).

Top end - 2.99Loan, Down Payment 77,634 (includes the AA 'lol' batteries,etc)
Old 25th April 2008, 13:20   #11

They need to talk to TATA about building a cheaper car.

The company after so many years has not broken even yet.
Old 25th April 2008, 13:36   #12

Reva should atleast have a minor facelift. I wonder how many people are going to fall for this gimmick!
Old 25th April 2008, 13:39   #13
F50

What a car! Oh Please!!

What a waste for almost 3 lacs rupees.
I just remembered one of the 5th Gear Episodes(latest season)
they mentioned about Tata Nano and it would cost 1500 Pounds in UK. But what else could they buy for 1500 quids. Their choices:
1) Peugeot 406 - 1400 Pounds - 2.0 Petrol
2) Audi Coupe GT - 900 quids - 2.0 Again
3) Alfa Romeo GTV - Price? - 2.0 Again

Coming to Reva. For 3lacs, one may not be able to buy the above mentioned cars but we can get some like OHCs, Balenos, Palios, Santros etc.
I would rather buy a car in which 4 people can easily sit, doesnt die in the middle of the road just because I honked thrice and if I use wipers. And more importantly a safer car.

And yeah, I would rather buy a table which is faster than the Reva and much more safer.
Old 25th April 2008, 13:46   #14

People can save money even with the high price because of running costs (between 3 or 4 years). How many people drive their cars with 4 people most of the time ? How fast can you drive your 10 lakh car in Indian city environments ?

It works out for some people (hence the sales are less).

Of course I would never buy a Reva too because of the cost. It should be only twice that of a scooter/bike. Then we could have one as a second car or a vehicle.

Last edited by srishiva : 25th April 2008 at 13:48.
Old 25th April 2008, 14:02   #15

srishiva,

i agree with you. F50, cost of car is only one thing. there is always a running cost. thats where it hurts more! this i speak even though i have a diesel car like swift. ultimately one has to agree that electricity is cheaper than petrol/diesel or gas for this car, and no matter what used car we buy, things are not going to remain there. there are always costs more than that to cough up in due course.

and as for the car today, this is the only indian electric car on the roads which is running and proven properly. its been exported to uk, and in london roughly there are 700 such cars that dont have a congestion tax of about 8-10 pounds a day being levied on them.

price may be high, but for a company to sustain, continue running and provide service options, its always an investment and the money ought to only come from the product they build. unfortunately mr.maini is not mr.suzuki that they have billions of cars over the past 25 yrs. perhaps 25 yrs down the lane maini may come up with something more attractive which would still be a formidable proposition during those times when the fuel price would have skyrocketed like mad.

BTW why is this only a LIMITED PERIOD OFFER? dont tell me they are again increasing it after that ....

Last edited by GeekSrik : 25th April 2008 at 14:08.