Old 29th April 2008, 23:39   #31

Did they use petrol or some naturally occuring mocktail...
My question is why buy a car for around 9 lakhs and then suffer the ordeal of watching someone overtaking you on a cycle.!!
Its one thing to advt good fuel efficiency... but this is like a save the earth campaign... like my car runs on air..!
hell my car burns 1 litre staying idle on the spot for 42 minutes..!!
Honestly... this beats my intelligence.... err.. im not intelligent, they sure are!!
Old 29th April 2008, 23:39   #32

but hey, anyone from pune here? rohit paradkar seems to be rash, pres of RSA.

can't ever imagine any RSA guy, let alone rash taking part in a mileage run

Techno, plijh to confirm!
Old 29th April 2008, 23:53   #33

Just marketing

Its nothing but marketing stints. Yes just marketing stints. These type of tests are almost like 100cc motorcycle returning 109kmpl under standart tesing conditons i.e 130kg payload at 40kmph.

Real world diving is different and these are only and only for advertising purpose.
Old 30th April 2008, 00:11   #34

42.4 KMPL is nothing short of an atrocious marketing gimmick !
Old 30th April 2008, 00:20   #35

True, it is marketing gimmick, has no relevance to the real world everyday scenarios etc. But then think of it this way. They never claim that it is achievable everyday if you have a Verna. In fact as they say people even switched off their ACs in the sweltering heat. Now, only thing they are claiming here is that if you treat a car as a point A to B transport with no other constraints like time, comfort etc then you can probably do it on a vacant highway. And that is possible in a diesel car.

They would have filled up the tyres with nitrogen maybe or at least would have inflated them several pSis above the recommended pressure, switched off the AC, folded the ORVMs and then would have put the car on a vacant highway with the gear on 5th and a steady 40 kmph with minimal clutch or brake usage... you never know. And they got that stupendous average.

So you can not probably claim that its a false advertising. Maybe misleading, yes but that is about it. And yes, lot many gullible people will fall for this now.

Earlier it was Diet Diesel now Hyundai will probably start a Crash Diet Diesel or GM Diet (Ok.. Hyundai Diet) Diesel.
Old 30th April 2008, 00:49   #36

Originally Posted by LLL View Post
BTW, can hyundai be hauled up in consumer court for false advertising?
There will be a line below the ad that says " under standard test conditions "
Old 30th April 2008, 09:18   #37

Crappers !!!

I can imagine another news telling the fiesta delivered 50+ Km/L
Old 30th April 2008, 09:27   #38

do they think the customer is so stupid as to believe this?
most 2 stroke bikes return this kind of figure when driven according to test conditions.
this is simply a pack of lies.
Old 30th April 2008, 09:43   #39

do they think the customer is so stupid as to believe this?
Hmmm, maybe because they know that customers will fall for this, thus the mileage run to woo in customers, since they were starting to lose their customers to the new SX4 and Dzire, coz maruti is more economical to maintain than a hyundai.
Old 30th April 2008, 10:07   #40

Originally Posted by Zappo View Post
They would have filled up the tyres with nitrogen maybe or at least would have inflated them several pSis above the recommended pressure, switched off the AC, folded the ORVMs and then would have put the car on a vacant highway with the gear on 5th and a steady 40 kmph with minimal clutch or brake usage... you never know. And they got that stupendous average.
Hey Zappo ...
Any particular significance of this thing in an attempt to increase the FE ???
Old 30th April 2008, 10:09   #41

I realy dont belive this there must be some mistake in the calculation of average.

Secondly, the car was in which condition that is also important.

for Rally people remove A.C., music system and what not but in normal life you cant drive without ac or ms in the car.

the most important point is i hope that they have not done any changes in the engin of the car.

After all this point also it is difficult to belive 42!!!
Old 30th April 2008, 10:49   #42

Originally Posted by ramie2400 View Post
Where does such Rally happenes and why none of us come to know about it
Here is a thread maintained by one such participant . Though this is for the Mahindra Logan ....

Tested on animals - Mahindra Renault Logan vinodvv aka vcube
P.S : Mahindra owners Beware . This is a Logan bashing blog.
Old 30th April 2008, 11:03   #43

The run was started from an IOC petrol pump near Manesar, from where the journos had to drive towards Jaipur for about 60km, and take a U-turn a little ahead of Dharuhera - 120km round-trip. Tyres were inflated to specified pressure.

The test conditions were not realistic. It's was a level, wide and straight highway with not much traffic. In our case, we didn't bother to touch the accelerator pedal even once. With the rpm needle resting at 1000rpm, the car trundled along at 40-50km/h. Fuel tanks were brimmed at the starting point, and brimmed again at the finish.

It's quite obvious that such fuel efficiency figures cannot be obtained in real life. But that's not what Hyundai is claiming either. All the responsible journos will very clearly mention the test conditions. Of course, Hyundai will now have a better efficiency to show than the Fiesta, but this was done on a public road, and they took a calculated risk. Had the car returned a lower mileage, they would've been screwed as everybody would have reported the low figure.
Old 30th April 2008, 11:11   #44

Originally Posted by speedzak View Post
What do companies and media expect us to believe from all this?
In our country we have a community of people whom we have know them as Mileage kya hai ? these bunch of people fall in the trap of companies and media. people who believe that its utter crap will never believe & discuss things as we are doing here.

Originally Posted by neoranjit View Post
Obviously, they know we dont believe in them.. But imagine what a full page ad in a national newspaper can do to improve their sales numbers.
It would work wonders on the mileage kya hai community, these people will switch on there 6000k hid's in there eyes and run to hyundai showrooms asking verna mileage 40 a raha kya ? booking form dho, immediate delivery chahiye. yeh limited edition tho nahi he na.

Originally Posted by karanraheja View Post
This should be put in the Heights of Heights Contest.
What about this heights of stupidity contest
Old 30th April 2008, 11:20   #45

i think they had arranged the rally on a longest downslope and you need not start the engine at all. to mileage will be counted to infinity by freak Hyundai people. i wonder how much bribe they give to the journalists and magazine owners