Old 5th May 2008, 17:46   #31

Originally Posted by flyingspur View Post
JayD and bigman, I request you to stop bickering and try to understand each others' POVs.

Firstly, if and only if bigman's comment was based purely on the kind of driving we see on our roads courtesy of rickshaws/cabs/buses, it's quite understandable that he's expecting armageddon as a motorist. JayD I'm sure you may have experienced, well, terror(!) on our roads.

Secondly, that doesnt change the fact, bigman, that it was quite a loose comment, if you read it again you cant blame these folks (us, actually, since I quite agree with them too) for reacting the way they did upon reading your comment. Anyone would (mis?)understand and lend you a (I quote) "pompous and arrogant" colour.

I hope I have helped. Relax guys. It's an open forum.

My comment appears to have been taken well out of context. No where did I write that the less affluent who will buy this car are idiots. I wrote we have enough idiots on the road as it is. If the NANO is more expensive then it is less accessible ... less people will buy it ... less idiots on the roads. Simple logic but some on this forum do not understand this and themselves makeup a link between idiots being the domain of less affluent which is plain stupidity on their parts.
Old 5th May 2008, 17:53   #32

Originally Posted by bigman View Post
Why create something if you know full well we do not have the infrastucture to cope ? Corporates like TATA have a moral and ethical responsibility for their creations. Life is not all about making as much money as you can.

What is stopping TATA laying new roads on a BOT basis ?

The people's car tag implies a car for the masses. The water example etc was to highlight that it is far from a peoples car as the vast majority of people (BPL) have more pressing concerns.
If you think without infrastructure there should be no development or inventions, think about the bulbs and telephone. Do you think they had sufficient power plants when they came up with bulb?

Ok let's take recent example.

Do you think when reliance came up with mobile license, did they had so much of tower to cope up with the traffic? I think fellow guys will accept how much frustration people had when he launced it. Now, see the situation. Each competitor is fighting to increase the number of towers. Not only that, the other people also came down to offer free incoming calls (Infact it was DoT who made this mandatory because of all this fuss). So, similarly, there will be period when Govt acts. To make Govt act, these are like enzymes which are very well needed.

Infact dont you realise that there would be 1000s of people employed in this directly? It will also have tons of employment for many youths indirectly. So, realize that TATA is actually trying to help or improve the BPL people to cross that boundary. Not like the people who keep talking and talking about BPL and never put any effort to give a hand to them.

I think TATA used to run mass transport before Indian govt made it all public. I think same was done by TVS groups in south.

Infact the very "Indian" airlines was a child of TATA.

So, give them some time. They have not even launched the vehicle and I see so many people bumping on TATA for something or other.

Btw, why do you think Bajaj is coming up with small car project? how about other car manufactures? i don't see any negative thrown on those people. Why? or my be they are waiting for them to announce and show the car in flesh? Time should answer.
Old 5th May 2008, 18:17   #33

If you think without infrastructure there should be no development or inventions, think about the bulbs and telephone.

Lets take your example one step further. Suppose you have an airport that can cope with 20 flights an hour, would you schedule 50 flights an hour ? No it would be sheer stupidity, reckless and endanger health and safety. Same goes for a car such as the NANO. The infrastructure should be in place before the product is released. The impetus is on the government to create and maintain such infrastructure but private corporations such as TATA can take an active part in the push for such development.

So, give them some time. They have not even launched the vehicle and I see so many people bumping on TATA for something or other.
So you do not want to look at the negative impact of the NANO ?

Btw, why do you think Bajaj is coming up with small car project? how about other car manufactures? i don't see any negative thrown on those people. Why? or my be they are waiting for them to announce and show the car in flesh? Time should answer.
I think the same of Bajaj, Ford, GM or whoever else tries to produce something we have no infrastructure for.
Old 5th May 2008, 18:24   #34

Ok. Now ceasefire guys. Enough is enough.

bigman, you definitely have a POV and that is really a genuine concern. We definitely have a huge stratum of people in this country who do not get to meet their very basic needs. So yes, that should be a priority area to look into and mitigate. I am sure everyone will agree to that.

However you got two things mixed up. What you are talking about is the domain of the government of this country. They are the ones who charge us a huge tax (direct and indirect) every year under every pretext to solve these problems. Its the government's lookout or rather its fancy schemes like Pradhan Mantri Sadak Pariyojna, Sarva-siksha aviyaan and similarly many others for water, food and many such to ensure that these problems are mitigated.

Now, does that then mean that we stop innovating and providing others with facilities just because there are others who can not afford these? If you are advocating that line then you are talking like the socialists and communist regimes of the world (erstwhile Soviets, Cuba etc). If we had followed that argument we would have still been travelling on carts and waiting for the bottom most of the country to catch up with the rest before we thought of moving forward. We would have been still driving the Ambys and Padminis and there would have been no M800s. Everyone who could afford would have still been riding the iron horse Rajdoots and Ideal Jawas and you would not have had the Pulsars and Karizmas that you see around you and take for granted.

My dear friend it is nice to be idealistic and it is also commendable if you can think about the socially poorest of the poor classes for whom every day life is a trudge. However in order to get them justice if you support some outlandish ideas like banishing advancements in other social segments and to condemn others to denial of what is rightfully available to them then you are simply being impractical.

Finally, about that "adding to the idiots on the roads" comment of yours... without getting into the specifics of its merit or suitability let me just say that the law and order and upkeepment of rules is the domain of the state machinery. So let the police decide on how to clamp down on some moron who creates hazards on the roads in his tiny nano. If they can not do so then it is their failure and not that of a business house. IMO we are really stretching the line if we start extrapolating responsibility to that extent!

EDIT : Saw your previous post after I posted mine. Taking that example of airports and its capacity, as you said if you have an airport that can handle 20 flights an hour and the demand is for more what do you do? Indeed! Good question... now look around and see and you will get the answer. You do not blame the airlines for seeking to start new airlines. Its the government which then tries to build an additional runway, a few more aerobridges etc. And while that works as an interim solution it builds a brand new HUGE airport that can cater to the rush now and then the projected rush 10 years hence. Hyderabad and Bangalore come to the mind.

Essentially, the panacea is not to ask Tatas to stop building Nano. Its for the government to widen the roads and add newer infrastructure to handle a more upwardly mobile and prosperous india.

Last edited by Zappo : 5th May 2008 at 18:30.
Old 5th May 2008, 18:25   #35

Originally Posted by bigman View Post
Lets take your example one step further. Suppose you have an airport that can cope with 20 flights an hour, would you schedule 50 flights an hour ? No it would be sheer stupidity, reckless and endanger health and safety. Same goes for a car such as the NANO.
The above point is very well said Bigman !!

All I would say is that the Nano being released by Tata is a great thing as it gives a lot of hope to People who could not afford cars till now But will now be able to drive 4 wheels.

On the other hand this might pose to be a problem traffic wise specially in Metros ( Everyone knows this fact ) but this problem & rash driving problem, let it be left to the Police as Zappo mentions.

I know this for a fact that once the Nano is released every Tom, Dik & Harry potter will go ahead and buy one ( Including me ) and this might relate to Chaos.

Last edited by vkochar : 5th May 2008 at 18:28.
Old 5th May 2008, 18:45   #36

I strongly support and approciate TATAs on Nano. Just see how many Indiaca's are there in Indian villages now. Hoe many of them could have thought that they can buy and afford a car? TATA indica enabled many Indian middle class families to own a car. Did this directly or indirectly contributed to so called chaos or accidents or traffic jams?

I can see similar thing happeneing at one level above with Nano. More people will buy these cars and carry their families safely to the destination.

Just imagine if more people drive Nano, not bikes, how many lives will be saved in accidents? Most of the accident deaths are bike riders and pillion riders. I am sure we will see a dip in these numbers, which in itself is a great social cause to support Nano.
Old 5th May 2008, 19:39   #37

Whats Nano's fault in this. If making cars less affordable was the solution for fighting the traffic congestion in India, lets only sell cars 11lacs and above, maybe then driving wouldn't be much trouble. The same people who sound worried about the Nano cry out when a new launch from MNC car maker is supposedly overpriced by a couple of thousands.

How would it sound if someone goes around saying that i cant drive my luxury wheels around bcos of guys able to buy cheaper wheels like santros, ikons, wagon rs, swifts etc. and to top it all the new indigo at 4 lacs will cause even more congestion.

My dad toiled 30 years of his life before he could buy a new car, at that point if i hear somebody saying that these people are going to crowd the roads then the only words i have for them cant be written on this forum.

If an airport cant handle 50 planes dont blame Airbus or Boeing for it, blame the ones we vote or dont vote into power every 5 years or less.

Our roads are not going to get any better, Nano or no Nano (luv the way it rhymes), well not in the near or distant future anyway. Yet there will be even more Indians buying cars. Power to the People, Live with it.
Old 6th May 2008, 00:28   #38

Stop NANO because it will create traffic chaos or bad drivers
As if we are not having auto drivers already

In a free market, everyone has right to buy something of his own. So, I don't accept that afford ability of goods (car in this case) should be privilege of the few only.

It reminds me recent US comment on world food price. Basically US blames China/India for rising food price.

Does it mean Indians/Chinese should remain starved - so that USA can enjoy monopoly in obesity?
Old 6th May 2008, 01:03   #39

Originally Posted by shortbread View Post
If an airport cant handle 50 planes dont blame Airbus or Boeing for it, blame the ones we vote or dont vote into power every 5 years or less.
What if Airbus or Cessna said they were releasing a 6 seater 10lakh RS aeroplane ?

At the same time the government said we dont care, fly and land the planes as you want.

Can you imagine the chaos ?

Well thats what we have with our roads and the NANO will not help.

Last edited by bigman : 6th May 2008 at 01:05.
Old 6th May 2008, 01:06   #40

Originally Posted by sbasak View Post
As if we are not having auto drivers already

In a free market, everyone has right to buy something of his own. So, I don't accept that afford ability of goods (car in this case) should be privilege of the few only.

It reminds me recent US comment on world food price. Basically US blames China/India for rising food price.

Does it mean Indians/Chinese should remain starved - so that USA can enjoy monopoly in obesity?
Not just autodrivers, bus drivers, truck drivers and then there are stupid irresponsible parents who let their 9 year Bunty old ride a scooter with little brother Tinku on the back on a main road (have seen this in Punjab a few times).
Old 21st May 2008, 16:15   #41

Tata Nano price tag to remain Rs 1 lakh

Originally Posted by rediff.com
Tata Motors will not increase the price of its Rs 1-lakh wonder car, the Nano, a company insider told rediff.com on Wednesday.

A recent report that Tata Motors' was being pressured to hike the price of Nano had caused concern among the car's prospective buyers.

However, Tata Motors has decided to stick to the Rs 1-lakh price tag -- plus value-added tax and transport charges -- for the car as the company believes hiking the price at this stage will be a 'breach of promise to the customers.'
Seems like they are keeping their promises.

SOURCE: Tata Nano price tag to remain Rs 1 lakh

Last edited by SumitBahl : 21st May 2008 at 16:29.
Old 22nd May 2008, 19:26   #42

Nano is the best platform for the electric / hybrid or even Solar vehicles that can be exported to Europe, Latin America & African countries.
Old 23rd May 2008, 20:29   #43

Mahindra to Supply engines for Tata Nano!

Could not digest? Read the below news

Mahindra in pact to buy Kinetic Motor
Kinetic is to supply engine & other components to Nano, since Mahindra aquiring Kinetic, Mahindra is supplying engine to Nano

Mahindra in pact to buy Kinetic Motor- Automobiles-Auto-News By Industry-News-The Economic Times