Old 7th May 2008, 14:10   #46

Originally Posted by srijit View Post
13 - 15 lakhs for a hatch??? Is there something I am missing?
What you are missing is the car (is not there in your garage )

At 13-14 lakhs it is unlikely to be there ever! I would go and buy a Civic-AT instead for that much money! Fabia stands no chance in front of elegance and beauty of Civic!
Old 7th May 2008, 14:38   #47

Originally Posted by mhafeez_13666 View Post

1. Why is the excitement of having 1.9 engine in an hatchback, is
it very exciting to drive or fun to drive? . How different will it
be than a 1.9 Sedan?
a sedan weighs more than a hatch. so when you put the same engine in a smaller car, you get more power. quite different.
Old 7th May 2008, 14:44   #48

Originally Posted by sbelekar View Post
hoping that they will get picked up for their exclusivity and snob value.
If you want exclusivity and snob value I guess you need to bring in an Alfa Romeo or a Lancia.

How can you get snob value with a brand that is known mostly for small, economical hatches?
Old 7th May 2008, 14:56   #49

Hope the engine is refined unlike the current 1.4pd engine, the current 1.4 engine is weakest part of the car.

Last edited by .anshuman : 7th May 2008 at 14:57.
Old 7th May 2008, 19:47   #50

Originally Posted by inferno View Post
though it a little off topic

but i wanna ask , what are heated ORVMs , ive seen brochures of fabia stating that.

orvm == outside rear view mirror , but why would we need to heat it ?

or im wrong in something ?
I had a similar view till I used these mirrors. They are fantastic in the rains - the heating evaporates the water droplets and you don't have to pur your window down and wipe the mirror clean with your hand.
Old 7th May 2008, 20:30   #51

The PD diesel engines are definitely not as refined as the new generation CRDI engines. Moreover the new engine will attract higher excise duty confining its target segment to a very few people. I wonder if is worth the effort and will lead to any tangible benefits for Skoda. A mickey mouse project IMHO.
Old 7th May 2008, 20:35   #52

though it a little off topic

but i wanna ask , what are heated ORVMs , ive seen brochures of fabia stating that.

orvm == outside rear view mirror , but why would we need to heat it ?

or im wrong in something ?
Inferno! I think this is a very cool feature in the Fabia. During rains, have you noticed that our ORVM becomes wet with rain drops and your vision is cut off? You will have to roll down the windows and clean with your hand :-).

But with this heated OVRM (there is a switch near the power windows
button) which can heat the OVRM and get rid of the rain drops !!

Ain't it Cool!!!! How lazy can we get!
Old 7th May 2008, 21:10   #53

Originally Posted by .anshuman View Post
Hope the engine is refined unlike the current 1.4pd engine, the current 1.4 engine is weakest part of the car.
thought the weakest thing was the price tag.
Old 7th May 2008, 23:00   #54

i think bravo cant compete with 1.9 fabia , as bravo will be for 20 lac +
but the luxury and space you get in the bravo is way way better than fabia and also there are lots of functions available.I feel they should give the fabia fatter tires and bigger brakes coz with the 1.9 engine one should be really when doing high speeds and you have a scary moment considering its size.

From what i heard the bravo is 18-24 lakhs .....bravo and the 500 are only for true enthusiasts is you ask me
Old 7th May 2008, 23:25   #55

Originally Posted by chetan View Post
but the luxury and space you get in the bravo is way way better than fabia and also there are lots of functions available.I feel they should give the fabia fatter tires and bigger brakes coz with the 1.9 engine one should be really when doing high speeds and you have a scary moment considering its size.

From what i heard the bravo is 18-24 lakhs .....bravo and the 500 are only for true enthusiasts is you ask me
Space or no space, you dont buy a FIAT for 20+ lakhs! Thats insane.
Old 8th May 2008, 00:58   #56

No, you don't buy a hatch in India for 8L, leave alone 20!
Old 8th May 2008, 01:25   #57

Originally Posted by devarshi84 View Post
The 1.9 is still some time away.

1. The Octavia 1.9 is still in production and is bringing in chunk of octavia sales to skoda. Not anytime soon is this car going to be phased out.
2. Fabia wont sell with the same diesel engine or even a 1.9pd (if it fits in the price range) for more than 9 lacs anyday.
3. Skoda cant price octabia and fabia similarly so 1.9pd doesnt stand a chance.
4. To get the 1.9 tdi below 9 lacs range in fabia can be achieved once Skoda increases localization in fabia.
I dont see this happening anytime before 4Qtr of this year at the earliest.
1.Its here for about 2 years more ( to say the least)
2.It will most probably be a 1.9 pd powering the laura
3.It will be . See laura and octavia almost the same price even though its base vs top end
4.NO chance its coming below 9 lacs
Yes year end is what is expected.
Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
No, you don't buy a hatch in India for 8L, leave alone 20!
It will have a 1.9 MJD and is a cbu. Its quite bigger than a hatch There will be people paying for it.

Originally Posted by .anshuman View Post
1.9 pd dont expect much from a pumpe-duse except for efficiency and maybe power
Old 8th May 2008, 01:40   #58

Originally Posted by abhinav.gupta88 View Post
It will have a 1.9 MJD and is a cbu. Its quite bigger than a hatch There will be people paying for it.
I'll bet you a beer that it'll not work at 8L+ or anything above it. See the SR-V for proof. And if they can even sell 1000 pcs. of that 1.9 version in a year, I'll be very, very surprised.

P.S. And forget about it being substantially bigger than a hatch. It's barely bigger than a Swift/Getz. For that kind of a price, I'll happily take a Verna & give it a Pete's Box/Pedder's suspension! Also the servicing will be dirt cheap compared to the Skoda!

Last edited by iraghava : 8th May 2008 at 01:43.
Old 8th May 2008, 02:03   #59

I think 500 is quite possible if not 1000

Some People ( apart from Team-bhpians) have no sense while buying a car.
Old 8th May 2008, 02:07   #60

Some People ( apart from Team-bhpians) have no sense while buying a car.
you are right, like i said its for true enthusiasts