Old 14th August 2008, 06:32   #451

It is almost clear that the design (atleast in the front) is following Honda's other models like Civic, TypeR etc. It IS quite a looker of course. No doubts. I bet it is a real winner in terms of design. What we need to see is its performance+FE/price ratio to make it a chart buster in a country like India. If they maintain same price as that of current NHC level, it has great chance of giving SX4 run for its money. Anything reasonably more (which is going to be the case, its a Honda, what do you expect from them), will lead a tight race for coming years. With SX4 having its niggles, Honda has a winner at its hands, thats my personal opinion!

Last edited by sgmuser : 14th August 2008 at 06:34.
Old 14th August 2008, 06:51   #452

honda is doing a skoda.

if you read the article on economic times, honda has said the existing NHC will continue while the New NHC will be priced a little higher :(

Source:

Honda to roll out new City in September- Automobiles-Auto-News By Industry-News-The Economic Times
Old 14th August 2008, 07:31   #453

Originally Posted by bharanidharang View Post
honda is doing a skoda.

if you read the article on economic times, honda has said the existing NHC will continue while the New NHC will be priced a little higher :(

Source:

Honda to roll out new City in September- Automobiles-Auto-News By Industry-News-The Economic Times
Oops. SO, basically its like filling the gap or positioning one car between its NHC & civic?

Seems they are not sure of how the new release is going to be in terms of success. Since its priced higher, they just keep the exisiting model for the sales figure?
Old 14th August 2008, 07:56   #454

Price a little higher huh? Taxes are now 13% for this segment in Bangalore. I bet the top end variant might cost 1 rupee less than 10 lakhs. lol
Old 14th August 2008, 08:38   #455

Originally Posted by normally_crazy View Post
What use is the paddle shift in Indian driving conditions where maximum average speed you can do is 10 kmph - and don't forget Honda will charge a hefty premium for the paddle shift. (if it appears in the NNHC)
well its a free market. if you don't like it don't buy it. I am sure Honda will give a regular manual shift. We should look at it in a positive way if the option is available.
Old 14th August 2008, 11:11   #456

Originally Posted by normally_crazy View Post

What use is the paddle shift in Indian driving conditions where maximum average speed you can do is 10 kmph
There is a huge advantage. My 1.5 yr old son, (stuck to steering always) will love it.
Old 14th August 2008, 11:21   #457

If they are going to sell the current City and the new City simultaneously, I wonder what they would call the new one.

Also, the september launch is in Thailand. We are likely to get the car sometime later.
Old 14th August 2008, 11:28   #458

Originally Posted by four_tire View Post
There is a huge advantage. My 1.5 yr old son, (stuck to steering always) will love it.
I just hope he isn't stuck to the steering when you are driving ??
Off topic but then safety is never really off topic is it !!|

I have a 1.5 yr old boy myself, and he loves cars too !!!

Cheers Mate !!
Take care.
Old 14th August 2008, 11:51   #459

Originally Posted by 1100D View Post
Lets just hope Honda gets back to the beauty of old times.
Yeah......... I completely aggree with you. Be it CR-V, Accord, Civic or upcoming City and Jazz. All of their fleet available in India have Beauty and Brain in their segment.
Old 14th August 2008, 13:38   #460

Originally Posted by Torque-ative View Post
I just hope he isn't stuck to the steering when you are driving ??
You are absolutely right!! He does stick to the steering when iam driving. No matter how many times he is pulled away and even beaten by his mother. At his age hes got a good grip and strength and very difficult for me to get his grip off. He constantly fiddles with the keys and gear knobs (on the running car). Iam planning to get him a cab to drive (just when he is tall enough to reach both foot pedals and steering simultenously).

Last edited by four_tire : 14th August 2008 at 13:40.
Old 14th August 2008, 15:08   #461

Originally Posted by vipul_singh View Post
If they are going to sell the current City and the new City simultaneously.
If thats their stratagy then why did they stopped the old Accord and the Old CRV. Old CRV if offered till date at a little lesser price, would have been doing great.
Old 14th August 2008, 15:30   #462

Originally Posted by Ym-enjn View Post
If thats their stratagy then why did they stopped the old Accord and the Old CRV. Old CRV if offered till date at a little lesser price, would have been doing great.
That question is there on everyone s mind. Lets wait & see what Honda actually does. Honda has never done this before, so maybe they just trying to fill in the gap between NHC and the Civic.
Old 14th August 2008, 15:37   #463

Originally Posted by karanraheja View Post
just trying to fill in the gap between NHC and the Civic.
Wouldn't this make current NHC vulnerable to competition from SX4 and likes, if new is put to fill gap between NHC and Civic?

Also what is the approx gap between high end City and low end Civic ?
Old 14th August 2008, 15:49   #464

Originally Posted by neoonwheels View Post
Also what is the approx gap between high end City and low end Civic ?
All below prices are Delhi prices:-

NHC Gxi( Top end M/T) : 7.5 lacs Ex showroom
Civic 1.8 E ( Base) : 11 Lacs Ex showroom

IMO The to be launched New City will be priced between 8-10 lacs on road.
Old 14th August 2008, 15:59   #465

So City may be catering to 7.5 - 10.xxL market at the same time. It would be named City or some new name in making? What I meant is, Toyota is planning to sell current Corolla and then new as Altis. On the similar lines, City is getting new name?