Old 10th September 2008, 23:32   #751

Originally Posted by METISWHG View Post
a few local people i know in this office saw the pics and said its strange that top end version doesnt have leather seats.
and no version has Climate Control? for a 10L car?

what about the ICE? Any specs? Can the HU be changed?
Old 11th September 2008, 02:00   #752

Originally Posted by navin View Post
and no version has Climate Control? for a 10L car?

what about the ICE? Any specs? Can the HU be changed?
and strangly there is no leather at all for a 10Lakh car.
Old 11th September 2008, 06:52   #753

with the pricing scan somebody has put up in the pantip website, the city is cheaper than the jazz...

if u do an approx... conversion, the base civic is priced around 9.5 lacs (in india its around 11 right ?).

the new city is priced at 6.5 lacs (in india maybe around 8 - 8.5 lacs???).

the car amazing amazing lines... cant wait...
Old 11th September 2008, 09:04   #754

Looks neat! So the Top end City has steering mounted controls and Civic doesnt?? This car would look neat in white and silver !!! Cant wait for its launch!!
Old 11th September 2008, 09:12   #755

From the picture in Honda Worldwide | September 10, 2008 "Honda Begins Sales of All-New CITY in Thailand", it looks like it is going to beat SX4 in the rear middle seat back rest discomfort. It looks pretty much protruding.
Old 11th September 2008, 10:28   #756

I think what's going to change in the Indian City as compared to the Thai one is:

1. Beige Interiors.
2. Fake wood finish console (YUCK!!)
3. No steering mounted controls. (If the Civic V doesn't have them then how can the City get them?)
4. Maybe. Just maybe, Honda may remove the integrated blinkers in OVRM's for India too.

I think Honda may give leather in the top end variant. They are giving leather in the current City VTEC anyway.

The HVAC controls look pretty idotic, cheap and downmarket to me specially the small knob for the fan speed.

Last edited by amit : 11th September 2008 at 10:29.
Old 11th September 2008, 10:34   #757

@amit- i think only the top end version of Thai comes with grey interiors. The S and V versions come with Beige Interiors. Maybe only top end Indian version will be Leather seats instead of Grey interiors of Thai. The interiors might not live up to the 8-9 lacs price range. Especially the A/c knobs!! I hope we dont get the fake wood!!
Old 11th September 2008, 10:44   #758

Originally Posted by amit View Post

The HVAC controls look pretty idotic, cheap and downmarket to me specially the small knob for the fan speed.

Yes they really do.. the entire central console in silver looks really cheap; even the power window switches are last generation - honda could learn a thing or two here from its much maligned american competitors
Old 11th September 2008, 11:16   #759

Just noticed that the HVAC controls have a cheap sliding switch for recirculating/fresh air mode!!

I don't believe that! Sliding switch in HVAC unit in a Rs.10 lac rupee car!
Old 11th September 2008, 11:24   #760

there was an elderly lady checking out the new city. she also mentioned about the poor quality of HVAC knobs and something with the 'windows' .. which i couldnt really make out. I guess she was talking about window switches being poor quality or windows not look gooding or not being big enough. they did look small to me. finally those guys seem to have booked for a Jazz, which has same engine
Old 11th September 2008, 11:31   #761

Thankfully Honda went with an independent rear setup- I was fearing they would cut costs by using a torsion beam like in the previous gen after the OHC's independent rear, Thankfully they didn't take lessons from Toyota who has given a torsion beam setup in a 12 lakh rupee car.

Great effort. Hope they price it well here.
Old 11th September 2008, 12:28   #762

It's distressing that Honda hasn't provided Climate Control on the new Honda City. I hope they do on the version they launch in India.
Old 11th September 2008, 12:31   #763

I tried to observe the G3HC carefully and came to some conclusions:

Points I didn't liked:
  • No Automatic Climate Control
  • Cheap AC knobs
  • not sure, but looks this one has lesser boot space than the current one
  • Top end doesnt have Leather seats
  • Front grill
  • Dashboard doesnt provide 10 lakh feel
Points I liked Most:
  • i-Vtec Engine
  • Steering mounted audio controls
  • side indicators on ORVM
  • integrated ICE
  • iPOD connectivity on top end variant
  • Alloys....... these are really cool
Old 11th September 2008, 13:43   #764

To add to what other have said,

- No engine temp indicator again.
- EPS
- Manual seat height adjustment.
- Door trims are pathetic.
- The rear seat appers to have a small hump in the middle just like the SX4.
- Driver seat has arm rest which is a big plus.
- The positioning of AC and rear defogger switches are strange.
- No printed antenna.
- Rear has two reverse indicators and two fogs which is a big plus again.

I think Maruti can really breathe easy now. The interiors in the Indian version also look like this one. See the spy pics posted in the starting post. The interiors are downright pathetic. The exterior looks fab though.
Old 11th September 2008, 14:31   #765

Originally Posted by balaji_n29 View Post
The interiors are downright pathetic. The exterior looks fab though.
I think Honda is giving us a hint here: Either ask for good interiors or exteriors. . NHC had awesome interiors and pathetic exteriors. This one has awesome exteriors and DECENT Interiors.