Old 17th June 2008, 14:42   #31

I wonder how the M800 passes the safety crash test. It is so easy to punch a hole in it.
IMO it is high time that the M800 is sent to its grave, it may cheap to run and buy, but is extremely dangerous in case of an accident.
Old 17th June 2008, 15:44   #32

It might be impossible to MSIL to match Nano's capability in cost. I feel they are already finding jitters in their stomach. Hence they are planning to go in for a stripped down version of 800. But what will they strip down in an 800? Well, lets wait and watch the "tamasha". Tamasha because MSIL Md had informed on a TV channel, they will never compete with Nano. But with the aboev news, feels like they are going to do it after all.
Old 17th June 2008, 16:07   #33

SCOOP PHOTO: Stripped down Maruti 800

I was searching the net and found the SCOOP PHOTO of stripped down M 800 on a site called pakwheels.com.

Here it is :

Enjoy.

Pic courtsy pakwheels.com
Maruti readying low cost version of 800-mehran_euk_pakwheelscom.jpg  

Last edited by Car-Agey : 17th June 2008 at 16:08.
Old 17th June 2008, 19:21   #34

Post deleted.

It looks like a personal attack. and it's not the first time. We urge you to keep out of this, henceforth. Thanks.

Last edited by Rudra Sen : 17th June 2008 at 23:21.
Old 17th June 2008, 19:39   #35

Oh! Frankly when the 800 was alunched for the first time, people made fun of its tihin wheels, etc. But what it did is seen by all of us.

They have a lot of places where to strip the car. Dashboard, tyres, rear suspension, very basic front seats are a few of the places. Dont think of possibility of 660cc engine.
Old 17th June 2008, 19:40   #36

Originally Posted by vinaykiran79 View Post
Yes 660cc engine could make it to India. The engine is already in use in Japan in Suzuki small cars.
Wont this require more investment on plant and machinery to manufacture an ALL NEW engine for maruti ? I doubt if we would see a new engine.
Old 17th June 2008, 19:41   #37

lol. Please don't insult M800.
Old 17th June 2008, 21:08   #38

They might launch a 660cc engine just for FE sake. I dont think it will cost them less to make it. They can go back to single point fuel injection (a la Nano) and remove the brake booster. For my 1.5 lakhs, I'd rather buy a Nano..it looks more modern.
Old 17th June 2008, 21:51   #39

i think to match with nano,they have to bring the 800cc to 600-650 cc engine.

also i would like to know what would be the price difference if they reduce 800cc to 650 cc,

changing the looks is another area where MSIL should work
Old 17th June 2008, 21:52   #40

The driver and passengers will probably be stripped as well ..
Old 17th June 2008, 21:57   #41

800 with any less power than the current one will negate its main USP over the Nano.
People 'if' they buy the stripped version of the 800 the only reason will be the 37bhp it pumps out and hence is highway usable.
Nano on the other hand is not highway usable and hence will deter many buyers.
People in india love to travel and they dont want a car through which they are confined only to the city.
800 with its 131 kmph top speed barely makes it to the highway usable criteria.anythin less and its a adios to the highway.
In this case people might as well go for the nano.
Old 17th June 2008, 22:03   #42

I think many posts are just insulting M800.
Don't forget that it is the car which change the concept of car in India. I am driving M800 since 7 years and still in love with it.
Btw, now a days driving SONATA, but couldn't get the feel of M800...
Old 17th June 2008, 22:49   #43

Originally Posted by FERRO View Post
What a beauty some crazy drivers will still love it since its provided with Suzuki badge.

If this statement is directed against me, please make it a direct statement. This is not the first time you are using 'some crazy drivers here'. I love Suzuki and do not recommend FIAT for obvious reasons, but i think i am entitled to my opinion in the forum.

Mods, sorry for the OT post. But as you can see from the following thread, its not the first time this usage has come up, and i do not think its unintentional, as there was a previous discussion over PM too. Please delete this post if needed. Sorry once again for going OT. http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/intern...tml#post645897
Old 17th June 2008, 22:55   #44

If this statement is directed against me, please make it a direct statement. This is not the first time you are using 'some crazy drivers here'.

Directly or indirectly, IMO, all personal attacks should be avoided. I hope this episode ends with this.

The Nano could do with some competition. I am glad Maruti is trying to provide it.
Old 17th June 2008, 23:49   #45

Originally Posted by Mpower View Post
and remove the brake booster.
Hey I don't think 800 has brake booster already. Or am I missing something?