Old 19th October 2008, 00:08   #406

Originally Posted by madhokritesh View Post
Ok got some info as the training for the Mumbai region is over the cars have moved to Pune, So Pune guys better keep a watch.
Went to the Chandigarh Maruti Showroom to get some info about Swift, also inquired about AStar (Alto Star) and they said that the car would be launched somewhere on 18-19th Nov. I have kept my fingers crossed as i have been waiting yo see it live for long time now.
Old 19th October 2008, 10:13   #407

Originally Posted by blue_pulsar View Post
Yes, dimension-wise is smaller than the Swift but bigger than the WagonR/Estilo.

But the thing to be seen here is, with a puny 1.0L engine, can it beat the i10 Kappa? I seriously doubt. Unless they price it within the present WagonR/Estilo price, i10 Kappa will take all the customers. In the mean while, Hyundai might just launch the Era and D-Lite versions of i10 Kappa. If this happens, what will Maruti do?

So, to conclude(IMO), the idea of 1.0L engine was a very bad one. It should have been the 1.2. Else, price it within the Estilo range.
A-star will give stiff competition to Hyundai’s i10 and will be priced between Rs 3.5 to Rs 4lakhs. The sales guy told me that it would be of the price segment of Zen Estilo. I was also told that the car should give between 20-21 km/lit which is very good.
Old 19th October 2008, 12:31   #408

I test drove the UK version of the Splash yesterday. Its a good car, with practically everything that we need standard (6 Airbags, ABS/EBD, Power windows (front), tilt adjustable power steering, central locking), 185/60 R 15 tires! 1.2 ltr 86 PS engine and a on the road price of £9000. According to the salesman, its not selling too well, as it competes against too many other good cars from Vauxhall (Corsa), Ford (Fiesta), Toyota (Yaris) and Honda (Fit), which are all new as well and priced similarly.

As to the car itself, its built much better than any Maruti and drives ok, though the high seating position doesnt inspire confidence, at least initially. The space for 4 people is very nice, though am not sure how it will be with 3 people in the rear seat. Interior Materials/Finish is also much better.

I hope Maruti is able to carry over the build quality, if not all the equipment, given that no one in India will pay Rs 720,000 (£9000) for a hatchback of this size
Old 19th October 2008, 12:42   #409

I saw the A star parked at my office in Germany last July for some final tests. The car looked quite cool and would be really good as the replacement for Alto. I guess swift will get a higher sibling in splash.
Old 19th October 2008, 13:29   #410

Originally Posted by tarunmadhok View Post
A-star will give stiff competition to Hyundai’s i10 and will be priced between Rs 3.5 to Rs 4lakhs. The sales guy told me that it would be of the price segment of Zen Estilo. I was also told that the car should give between 20-21 km/lit which is very good.
Please keep in mind that when the sales guy tells 3.5-4lacs, it most probably means ex-showroom price. Or did he tell you the OTR price?

The mileage sounds really cool though. Even though if those are highway figures. Must give 14-15 in the city with sensible driving I believe.
Old 19th October 2008, 15:30   #411

Originally Posted by blue_pulsar View Post
Please keep in mind that when the sales guy tells 3.5-4lacs, it most probably means ex-showroom price. Or did he tell you the OTR price?

The mileage sounds really cool though. Even though if those are highway figures. Must give 14-15 in the city with sensible driving I believe.
Yes its always ex-showroom price...it should give 17-18KMPL in city driving.
Old 19th October 2008, 15:49   #412

These cars are better that WangonR specially Astar.
I think it must be discontinued for sales promotion.
Old 19th October 2008, 22:27   #413

Originally Posted by mail4ajo View Post
Transmission 5MT/4AT
Steering LHD/RHD
Number of doors 5

TRANSMISSION
Type 5MT 4AT
Gear ratio 1st 3.454 2.875
2nd 1.904 1.568
3rd 1.280 1.000
4th 0.966 0.698
5th 0.815 -
Reverse 3.272 2.300
Final gear ratio 3.650 4.375
Are you sure A-star is coming with a auto-transmission?
Old 19th October 2008, 23:27   #414

ote=drkunaldas;1021513]Are you sure A-star is coming with a auto-transmission?[/quote]

i don't think A-star will come with Auto-transmission in india. Auto-transmission would be for export.
Here are the details i got from a website

Alto Specifications
Engine : Petrol 1.0l
Drive system : 2WD
Transmission : 5MT/4AT
Steering : LHD/RHD
Number of doors :5

DIMENSIONS
Overall length (mm) : 3,500
Overall width (mm) : 1,600
Overall height (mm) :1,470
Wheelbase (mm) : 2,360
Tread Front (mm) : 1,405
Rear (mm) : 1,400
Minimum turning radius : 4.5
Minimum ground clearance : 150

CAPACITIES
Seating capacity : 4
Luggage capacity Max. Volume (l): 774
Rear seatback folded (VDA method) (l) : 367
Rear seatback raised (VDA method) (l) : 129
Fuel tank capacity (l) : 35

ENGINE
Type : K10B
Number of cylinders : 3
Number of valves : 12
Piston displacement (cm3) : 996
Bore x stroke (mm) : 73.0 x 79.4
Compression ratio : 11.0
Maximum output (PS/kW/rpm): 68PS/50/6,000
Maximum torque (Nm/rpm) : 90/4,800
Fuel distribution : Multipoint injection

TRANSMISSION
Type 5MT : 4.375 CHASSIS
Steering : Rack and pinion
Brakes Front : Ventilated disc
Rear : Drum, leading and trailing
Suspension Front : MacPherson strut with coil spring
Rear : 3-link rigid axle with coil spring
Tyres : 155/65R14

WEIGHTS
Kerb weight (min./with full options) (kg) : 855/885
880/910

Gross vehicle weight (kg): 1,250

PERFORMANCE

ENVIRONMENTAL PERFORMANCE
Emission standard compliance
Euro5
Fuel consumption (Combined) (litres/100km) : 62.7

CO2 emissions (Combined) (g/km) : 103
Old 20th October 2008, 11:51   #415

Oh sureshkishore,you have got all specs spot on buddie,he he.The only thing left out are the colors available.we are still in the dark regarding it,Any idea about it?

ram
Old 21st October 2008, 10:25   #416

Live pictures of the A Star -Alto

Here are a Live few pics that i managed to find of the AStar
Spotted: Maruti Suzuki Splash And A-star-2009suzukialtoreallifepictures.jpg  

Spotted: Maruti Suzuki Splash And A-star-2009suzukialtoreallifepictures2.jpg  

Spotted: Maruti Suzuki Splash And A-star-2009suzukialtoreallifepictures3.jpg  

Spotted: Maruti Suzuki Splash And A-star-2009suzukialtoreallifepictures4.jpg  

Spotted: Maruti Suzuki Splash And A-star-2009suzukialtoreallifepictures5.jpg  

Spotted: Maruti Suzuki Splash And A-star-2009suzukialtoreallifepictures6.jpg  

Spotted: Maruti Suzuki Splash And A-star-2009suzukialtoreallifepictures8.jpg  

Spotted: Maruti Suzuki Splash And A-star-2009suzukialtoreallifepictures9.jpg  

Spotted: Maruti Suzuki Splash And A-star-2009suzukialtoreallifepictures10.jpg  

Spotted: Maruti Suzuki Splash And A-star-2009suzukialtoreallifepictures11.jpg  

Spotted: Maruti Suzuki Splash And A-star-2009suzukialtoreallifepictures12.jpg  

Spotted: Maruti Suzuki Splash And A-star-2009suzukialtoreallifepictures14.jpg  

Last edited by madhokritesh : 21st October 2008 at 10:28.
Old 21st October 2008, 10:31   #417

Oh That white A-Star with those alloys look HOT!
Old 21st October 2008, 10:39   #418

This car certainly looks excellent.

1) The front door pockets are not spacious.
2) Rear door pockets are good and capable of holding a mineral water bottle.
3) The doors open almost 90 degree, indicating that this car has a lot of work done in India.
4) The tacho is more form than function at the location it is presently in. I hope this is not true for India.
5) Space seems to be OK.
6) I doubt the size of boot space will manage that Wagon R manages. It will be just about the size of Alto.
Old 21st October 2008, 14:59   #419

Kab aayenge Manoranjan ke PAPA? When is A star coming for sure? November?
Old 21st October 2008, 15:20   #420

November mid abt the 14th or so, if all goes well at Suzuki India Ltd. Fingers crossed on this one, also heard from a Hyundai Showroom guy that Hyundai is getting the CRDI i10 before the i20 just to capture the market and give the AStar a tough time, any info on this guys?