Old 6th July 2008, 23:47   #16

@Sahil -
What I am surprised at is that the 530d costs only 49L. We paid 52L for our newly acquired 525d on company reg. I am guessing the 530d would work out to be 2L more than the 525d on road then. Damn! And the 520d would be around 2L cheaper than the 525d.
I am sure as heck not complaining about the power, even though I havent driven the 525d, because getting a more powerful car doesn't make sense as even though we love cars, we wont exploit the power properly due to the lovely roads we are presented with in India.
Does the 520d come with the sunroof or is it the 'base' model like the 523i?
Old 7th July 2008, 00:06   #17

Originally Posted by lamborghini View Post
@Sahil -
What I am surprised at is that the 530d costs only 49L. We paid 52L for our newly acquired 525d on company reg. I am guessing the 530d would work out to be 2L more than the 525d on road then. Damn! And the 520d would be around 2L cheaper than the 525d.
I am sure as heck not complaining about the power, even though I havent driven the 525d, because getting a more powerful car doesn't make sense as even though we love cars, we wont exploit the power properly due to the lovely roads we are presented with in India.
Does the 520d come with the sunroof or is it the 'base' model like the 523i?
525d is 42.5 ex-showroom....if 530d is 49 ex-showroom...its too high

Also whats the point of the 520d if its not priced at par with the E220cdi? although performance wise the 520d is as quick as e280cdi.

@lambo...congrats on the 525d, i'm sure u will be far from complaining abt the power btw what color did u get?

Last edited by Sahil : 7th July 2008 at 00:10.
Old 7th July 2008, 00:18   #18

Guys, the pricing I have mentioned are on-road Chennai, with BMW secure.

The 530d highline is costing me approx 54L on road.
Old 7th July 2008, 00:30   #19

@Sahil - We got the Gray color. Hear was set on Black but mom didn't approve and silver and blue were too common as all the cars in the house are either silver and blue. Only option was the gray color with beige interiors. Still have to see the car though as I am in the U.S.
Old 7th July 2008, 00:40   #20

Originally Posted by ecclipse78 View Post
Guys, the pricing I have mentioned are on-road Chennai, with BMW secure.

The 530d highline is costing me approx 54L on road.
ok...that makes more sense...what was the on-road price of the 525d? i guess that makes the 530d approx 3 lakhs higher.

eccplise-there must be something more to the highline to command 5 lakhs more!
Old 7th July 2008, 00:53   #21

So i guess it should be around 2L more for the 530d in Mumbai and 5-6L for the 530d highline in comparison to the 525d.
I wonder if people would actually buy the 530d or stretch a bit more and get a 730i. I remember that when i went for the TD in Mumbai, the salesperson said that the base 7 series should be 60L ex showroom but he'd have to check whether it was available in India.
Old 7th July 2008, 10:55   #22

Two typo's in a row. I should'nt post when I'm almost asleep.

I meant the 530d is 2 lacs more expensive than the 525d.
Old 7th July 2008, 10:58   #23

Guys this may sound off topic but you guys really know a good deal about premium German Machines. I am in the market for a preowned E270 CDI. Seen a 2005 in New Mumbai run 20K. Brake pads/20K service and some touchup is due, and no insurance. The owner is qouting 32.5 and says dealer is quoting 30 lacs for it ( not sure if dealer quoted right based on work required). Given the introduction of E220 CDI should these prices take a beating and given an estimated expense of 2 lacs as soon as I buy it what is a price limit I should set? Thx for your help
Old 30th July 2008, 11:52   #24

Interesting article relevant to this topic : Will BMW race ahead of Mercedes in India?
Old 30th July 2008, 17:51   #25

Healthy battle going on between the German greats. Its anybody's guess who is going to win, but it will never be a permanent victory. Each year in the near future, Benz & BMW will shuffle places for top spot. Its truly remarking how BMW has caught up within a hair's breadth of DCIL, even though the latter had a 10 year lead in India.

Mercedes, too, is seeing a new rush of buyers. "The average age of Mercedes buyers has dropped to 35 and above from over 50 four years ago. New entrepreneurs who have generated wealth in this life want to spend it in this life only. They want the best they can afford," says Kadlaskar.
True. Lot more money in the market than ever before. Never been a better time to be an entrepreneur.
Old 30th July 2008, 18:52   #26

But for a year or so, the Beamer seems to hold the ruling key for the market.

The new model for the E class will be not in market till mid 2009 and this current one looks generation old then comp