Old 2nd April 2009, 22:00   #166

Originally Posted by roadlover View Post
Hi there, I have always liked innova, except that the diesel is a bit under powered. I was excited to know that a new, more powerful (140 BHP approx) diesel Innova may be on its way. Is that true? Please let us know!! Thanks!!
The innova will not get a higher powered engine. Confirmed from the employee there.
Old 3rd April 2009, 19:25   #167

August has been confirmed to me by them but the million $ question will they launch it with auto? I was told auto will come later!! can anyone confirm if it will have auto on day 1?
Old 8th April 2009, 16:40   #168

As per Economic times its coming in sep-
Toyota to launch Fortuner in India by September- Automobiles-Auto-News By Industry-News-The Economic Times
Old 8th April 2009, 17:24   #169

This is the first official word from Toyota reps. Was anyone able to confirm an auto option? Can anyone find out I am sure plans are frozen by now so they should be able to confirm if auto is coming with the launch?
Old 8th April 2009, 19:07   #170

It's official. Toyota announced that the Fortuner will roll out in September at est. 20 Lakhs:
Toyota to launch Fortuner by September
Old 8th April 2009, 19:50   #171

20 lakhs . People were saying 16l for a 4x2 version. Innova here I come....
Old 8th April 2009, 23:32   #172

At ex-showroom price of 20 big ones, it would breach the psychological barrier of 20 lac by leaps and bounds once on road.

Not that it really matters for a person willing to shell out 20 to cough up another couple of lacs, but it definitely has a psychological impact. I for one, was eagerly looking forward for the launch to be among the first owners of this model in India, am having second thoughts now.

I am sure, this price point of 20l would have been decided by TKM -
a) keeping in mind the prices of alleged competition in the segment to which Fortuner belongs;
b) hype that news/rumours of Fortuner's launch in India has been creating since last few years; and
c) eagerness shown by car enthusiasts in forum like ours towards Fortuner's edge over competition.

Today's marketeers should learn a lesson or two of pricing strategy vs. human psyche from Bata

Additionally they should bear in mind the general sentiment buyers have towards acquiring depreciable assets like vehicles in arguably the worst economic downturn since WW-2.
God bless TKM! Hopefully Fortuner does not meet the same fate as Camry..

PS - in case someone asks what is the difference between b) and c) --
(b) is what is created by insane comments of dime a dozen johnnies on ACI/carwale etc. whereas (c) is an informed discussion based on the merits (or demerits) of a vehicle
Old 8th April 2009, 23:41   #173

20L is way too much considering this based on the Innova's IMV platform!
Toyota knows it will have buyers making a beeline at this price too.
Old 9th April 2009, 11:01   #174

Originally Posted by bhp1 View Post
20L is way too much considering this based on the Innova's IMV platform!
Toyota knows it will have buyers making a beeline at this price too.

at 20 L price, Fortuner loses its sheen as it had in other markets like Thailand, Philippines. (sold at approx - 12 L)

Way too high, had they launched it at same international comparative prices as Innova, it would have been killer. Anyway, even at this price there will be a big queue for the product as for the reasons discussed here umpteen number of times.

Am sad to hear this pricing from Toyota for Fortuner, Mahindra here I come, keep one scorpio for me..
Old 9th April 2009, 11:13   #175

Originally Posted by tanwaramit View Post
Am sad to hear this pricing from Toyota for Fortuner, Mahindra here I come, keep one scorpio for me..
I agree. I may just settle for Safari/Scorpio if the Fortuner is priced at 20 Lakhs ex-showroom.
Old 9th April 2009, 11:26   #176

Batch value apart, is Toyota Fortuner that special?
Old 9th April 2009, 11:40   #177

Originally Posted by 1-Testosterone View Post
Batch value apart, is Toyota Fortuner that special?
No it is not - because it is no land cruiser.
Old 9th April 2009, 11:56   #178

Originally Posted by aerohit View Post
No it is not - because it is no land cruiser.

Believe me, it is different.

See this, just one of the several videos.

Mods: I tried my best to embed Youtube video here, couldnt do it. Pls Help

Edit: Just did it.

Last edited by tanwaramit : 9th April 2009 at 12:00.
Old 9th April 2009, 12:27   #179

20 lakhs, this is going the Altis way! I think Toyota should play the psychological game, price it at 18l so that OTR it just about stays under 20l.
Old 10th April 2009, 03:34   #180

Heard that the Land Cruiser is also coming by the year end,Toyota is said to take bookings for the Fortuner from July onwards I heard from a Toyota insider.