Old 20th August 2008, 11:23   #106

Originally Posted by danlalan View Post
I thought you were banned. Anyways you stick to the i10 with autobox and sunroof. I think you'll like that better Mr arya.

The altis already look a bit dated. Expect this car to drop sales in 3mths from its launch.

What makes you say that?
Old 20th August 2008, 11:30   #107

What has Civics cockpit design to do with cockpit. It dosen't have MID nor dose it have steering mounted controls, it has style but no substance.

Second, Civic in second market is now available in 7 lakhs and may be even less. This happens with all cars and reduces the Omph factor of the model. When you are buying a new Civic at 14.5 lakhs and your neighbour gets it at close to 7 lakhs in second hand market, then you will think that better I would have gone with Altis, or for that matter a newer model, to keep you exclusive. Anyway, now there ar tooo many Civics on road to call it exclusive. Am I right?
Old 20th August 2008, 11:37   #108

Received an SMS this morning from Ravindu Toyota, Bangalore, inviting me for an Exclusive Preview of Toyota Altis at Ravindu Toyota on 23/24/30/31 August.

I have asked them to confirm my name for the 23rd. Will keep the post updated.
Old 20th August 2008, 13:02   #109

Originally Posted by Jedi.Knight View Post
Received an SMS this morning from Ravindu Toyota, Bangalore, inviting me for an Exclusive Preview of Toyota Altis at Ravindu Toyota on 23/24/30/31 August.

I have asked them to confirm my name for the 23rd. Will keep the post updated.
See you there. Yesterday, they gave me a printed invitation for Aug 23.
Old 21st August 2008, 12:40   #110
oss

Here is the spec of new Altis as per Toyota pakistan.

Indus Motor Company Limited | Home

Looks like tough competition ahead for Civic.
Old 21st August 2008, 14:15   #111

Originally Posted by oss View Post

I don't think the Pak specs are indicative of what we will get here. There is a possibility that Toyota gives more/different features in Pak because taxes on cars may be lower and/or import duties may be lower than in our country. AFAIK Pakistan doesn't have much of a domestic car industry so imports are freely available. This could be a Middle East model imported into that country.
Old 21st August 2008, 14:48   #112

Site show 2.0 Lt diesel version too. Will this be available in India right from the begning? I think so...

No headlamp washers.. Indian will be still better.
Old 21st August 2008, 15:13   #113

The pak version of Altis Automatic costs PKR 1,709,000 which is roughly equivalent to INR 10 lacs. I also find the interiors drab compared to Civic.

Regarding resale prices, I think Civic is far better than corolla. My neighbour recently bought a Corolla H2 2006 model for 6.8 lacs. He wanted a Civic initially and he could not get one below 8 lacs for a 2006 model.
Old 21st August 2008, 15:32   #114

if pakistan gets sunroof option, so should india, if not shame on india and toyota both.
Old 21st August 2008, 17:03   #115

Originally Posted by muneemmk View Post
My Friend told me a million times that the Pricing would be "revolutionary" As said by Toyota
Will there be a diesel ''revolution'' any time soon?
Old 21st August 2008, 18:29   #116

Originally Posted by jesal View Post
if pakistan gets sunroof option, so should india, if not shame on india and toyota both.
No no, no shame on India shame only on Toyota India.. I think 4 exits are enough for us, in Pak may be they need more exits to get out of the car or sometimes to use bazukas.
Old 21st August 2008, 18:48   #117

Folks - Let's wait for the "Premiere" show on 23rd and we will get more dope on what India is getting. To be honest, i agree with most of you that Toyota should definitely bring out the Altis diesel in India to go one up on the Civic.
Old 21st August 2008, 20:18   #118

A Guy from TKM told me that they "might" bring in the d4d corolla but not anytime soon, i wonder what they are waiting for ?
Old 21st August 2008, 21:13   #119

Spy Pics.

These are some shots I could manage in my city.
All new Corolla coming soon EDIT: Corolla Altis now Launched-c.jpg  

All new Corolla coming soon EDIT: Corolla Altis now Launched-d.jpg  

All new Corolla coming soon EDIT: Corolla Altis now Launched-wd.jpg  

All new Corolla coming soon EDIT: Corolla Altis now Launched-mail.google.comw.jpg  

All new Corolla coming soon EDIT: Corolla Altis now Launched-mail.google.comq.jpg  

Old 22nd August 2008, 12:03   #120

Originally Posted by Ym-enjn View Post
No no, no shame on India shame only on Toyota India.. I think 4 exits are enough for us, in Pak may be they need more exits to get out of the car or sometimes to use bazukas.
LOL! Quite true. After so many donkey years I heard the word Bazuka!

Originally Posted by bhp1 View Post
These are some shots I could manage in my city.
Nice scoop! What does the name read? Corolla Altis or Plain Altis? Also, can we have some bigger pics please?