Team-BHP - Jaguar India by end-2005

-   -   Jaguar India by end-2005 (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian-car-scene/4425-jaguar-india-end-2005-a.html)

Another member to the one crore product range? Apparently Ford is all set to drive the cat onto desi shores and is selecting dealerships.

Models to be expected are the S Type, XJ and XK series.

Source : Times of India article

P.S. Do I hear Aditya screaming in bliss?

Another good reason for me to go sighhhhhhhh....

Good move - they need to increase sales in SE Asia - as they have a good parent infrastrucutre here - why not !

I think Jaguar can take the fight to Audi and BMW. Audi for sure, but I'm sure Jaguar will cut into BMW's slice of the pie as well.

I've been wondering why I keep seeing XJ's around recently.

What counts most in this segment? Badge and prestige. Thats one of the reasons that the Superb flopped, and Audi is having a hard time against the three pointed star.

I know more people who would own a Jaguar than a Merc. And with Fords already established infrastructure, service and parts distribution should not pose that much of a problem either.

Hey GTO,
most of the peoplei knownin germany drive audis.
With some good marketing, we will soon see it rise above the merc brand.
As for me, an jag over an Merc anyday.
But audi VS jag will be intresting to watch ...

India is the second largest market after china though Ford claims its bigger than China cos of the number of fakes in China. Anyways its a matter of time . Lets Wait and Watch. I think weve got a good number of companies in India. What companies (except the Italians) would you like in India now
I say Aston Martin

YAHHHHHHHHHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

FINALLY!!! IVE BEEN WAITING SO LONG FOR THIS!!!!!!!!!

I dont know why I like jags so much, ever since I saw S-type and XK I'm smitten. Roll on!!

This is certainly great news. The S-Type, XJ and XK are all quality products. Jaguar needs to be a little bolder and explore new markets if they want to survive. Ford's infrastructure and service are pretty fine too.
I wonder which model of the XK they are planning to launch here. The current one is 9 years old and is scheduled to be replaced by a new aluminium one towards the end of 2005.
While I'm pretty certain that Jaguar can take the fight to BMW and Audi, I'm not so sure about Mercedes Benz. Fellow Jag-lover, Jeremy Clarkson had once said this about Asia, "While BMW is a good car, in this part of the world, Mercedes Benz is considered to be a deity!"

I feel that Ford should launch the Mustang too in India. I'm sure it would do well. It's got almost 300 bhp and retails for only $ 19K in the US.

Originally Posted by bikefreak
I feel that Ford should launch the Mustang too in India. I'm sure it would do well. It's got almost 300 bhp and retails for only $ 19K in the US.

correction..the Ford Mustang GT has exactly 300hp and retails for just north of $25k. What ford should really launch in india is the european Focus..cause the ikon just sux, im sorry to say it.

the Ford Mustang GT has exactly 300hp and retails for just north of $25k.
$25k is like Rs 11,25,000/- which is very cheap. How much would they charge here?!?

If I'm not mistaken, the S Class costs around 25-30 lakhs abroad and here it is twice to thrice that price, +60 lakhs! What is the reason for this?! Isn't the duty waived off on these cars?!

Now i have even decided what car i am going to buy when i come to USA and earn.
Hey Gordon,
The duty is not waived off and we are still being ripped off.

i dont see Jaguar hurting MB.AUDI,BMW etc cannot make a significant dent in MB sales in India.if u see the E-class,S-class outsell their rivals in europe too.this can just cause MB to upgrade the engines in E,S class to higher power.i read somewhere the E320CDI is comming to india(224hp).

Originally Posted by CaliAtenza
correction..the Ford Mustang GT has exactly 300hp and retails for just north of $25k. What ford should really launch in india is the european Focus..cause the ikon just sux, im sorry to say it.

I was talking about power. We have enough choice of under-powered cars.
Mustang models cost from between $ 19 - 29k but the bhp ranges from 200 - 300 bhp.
http://www.fordvehicles.com/cars/200...section=MODELS

In comparision, Toyota camry models also cost between $ 19 - 25k but offer only 160 bhp.
http://www.toyota.com/vehicles/2005/camry/specs.html
The Honda Accord is also available in the same price range.

So the obvious deduction is that a Mustang should be available for the same cost as that of a Camry or an Accord.
Now wouldn't that be a terrific option for power hungry souls ?

BTW, just realised that the Celica is cheaper than the Camry
http://www.toyota.com/celica/index.html
Now that is another car that I would like to see being sold in India.
(although it has only 140 - 180 bhp)