Old 19th December 2008, 22:56   #91

The test production of Fortuner has indeed started. The prototypes would be on roads soon for testing. Keep your eyes wide open is what I would say to Bangalore Bhpians for the time being.
Old 20th December 2008, 17:05   #92
nbr

New Innova looks cheap!!!

Originally Posted by ravibhat View Post
Face lifted Innova looks impressive especially front. Reflective lights at rear look like made for Euro IV standard like Corolla, Even front is lifted bit more which I noticed in many new cars should be for better safety of pedestrian. I think now a days most of the facelifts for fixing the existing known bugs and giving better safety and luxury features.

I hope they come up with better refined Diesel engine also more fuel efficient (less powered is fine) Petrol Engine (just 1-2 km more FE is more than enough to draw attention of many buyers).

Anyway this is too much of expectation from me because I am looking forward to buy new Innova in coming months.

Ravi.

I had been to the Abudhabi intl Autoshow 08 yesterday and saw the new facelifted Innova . In my point of view, it would be the worst facelift ever done on any Toyota till date. It looks cheap and chinese !!! The rear looks like an aftermarket chinese rearlight. I would rather buy an old Innova and modify it then buy this ugly duckling. The snap which i have taken might look good,but in reality its the opposite.
Facelifted Innova in december. Edit - Launch on 28 Jan 2009.-dsc02710.jpg  

Facelifted Innova in december. Edit - Launch on 28 Jan 2009.-dsc02711.jpg  

Last edited by nbr : 20th December 2008 at 17:07. Reason: spelling
Old 20th December 2008, 17:33   #93

Toyota is determined to give their worst looking MUVs to the Indian market!
The problem is there is never a problem with these uglies!
Old 20th December 2008, 20:20   #94

Originally Posted by anupmathur View Post
Toyota is determined to give their worst looking MUVs to the Indian market!
The problem is there is never a problem with these uglies!

That looks like full of chrome and white... you will get better aftermarket chrome attachments.
Old 20th December 2008, 20:29   #95

dude.. u have pics of the rear of the innova.. eager to see the chinese style LED treatment..
Old 20th December 2008, 20:29   #96

If this is the facelifted innova, I see no reason why not to buy the current one at a discount. The chrome looks horrible anyway.

In today's scenario. GO WITH CASH, and watch the price of cars slide. Yesterday I negotiated a BMW 320d at 5 lacs off sticker price. Cash down.

NOBODY wants to hold inventory especially of this being December. Theprice I am getting for the 5 series....let's not even talk about it.

Last edited by Ricky_63 : 20th December 2008 at 20:31.
Old 20th December 2008, 21:29   #97

i totally disagree with you all. i find it more attractive than the current one
Old 22nd December 2008, 01:19   #98

I feel the new model looks better than the current model.

Some more Pictures of New Innova form Abu Dhabi Motor show.
Facelifted Innova in december. Edit - Launch on 28 Jan 2009.-frontgrill.jpg  

Facelifted Innova in december. Edit - Launch on 28 Jan 2009.-img_0012.jpg  

Facelifted Innova in december. Edit - Launch on 28 Jan 2009.-img_0016.jpg  

Facelifted Innova in december. Edit - Launch on 28 Jan 2009.-img_0017.jpg  

Facelifted Innova in december. Edit - Launch on 28 Jan 2009.-img_0018.jpg  

Facelifted Innova in december. Edit - Launch on 28 Jan 2009.-img_0019.jpg  

Facelifted Innova in december. Edit - Launch on 28 Jan 2009.-img_0020.jpg  

Facelifted Innova in december. Edit - Launch on 28 Jan 2009.-img_0021.jpg  

Facelifted Innova in december. Edit - Launch on 28 Jan 2009.-img_0023.jpg  

Facelifted Innova in december. Edit - Launch on 28 Jan 2009.-img_0027.jpg  

Facelifted Innova in december. Edit - Launch on 28 Jan 2009.-img_0030.jpg  

Facelifted Innova in december. Edit - Launch on 28 Jan 2009.-img_0035.jpg  

Facelifted Innova in december. Edit - Launch on 28 Jan 2009.-img_0036.jpg  

Facelifted Innova in december. Edit - Launch on 28 Jan 2009.-img_0038.jpg  

Facelifted Innova in december. Edit - Launch on 28 Jan 2009.-img_0086.jpg  

Facelifted Innova in december. Edit - Launch on 28 Jan 2009.-img_0087.jpg  

Facelifted Innova in december. Edit - Launch on 28 Jan 2009.-img_0088.jpg  

Facelifted Innova in december. Edit - Launch on 28 Jan 2009.-img_0092.jpg  

Facelifted Innova in december. Edit - Launch on 28 Jan 2009.-img_0096.jpg  

Facelifted Innova in december. Edit - Launch on 28 Jan 2009.-img_0103.jpg  

Old 22nd December 2008, 12:50   #99

Originally Posted by bkishore_77 View Post
Well, As per my source from Toyota(a friend who is avid auto enthusiast), Fortuner may be launched as early as in 6 mths. It is a CKD and they have already 3 Fortuners in the Bidadi plant. Expected price is ~17 lacs. He also said the new Innova will not be launched till the existing stock is exhausted and March would be a decent guess. There is a massive cut in the production and the workers have been given compulsory leave for x days in a week.
please excuse my knowledge on the abbreviations of auto industry, mind telling what is CKD?
price sounds ok to me, I was actually surprised when it was rumored to be around 10 Lakhs earlier.
A launch in 6 months is exactly in my plans, thanks for sharing the information.
Old 22nd December 2008, 13:25   #100

[quote=Avin;1102519]what is CKD?
quote]
CKD = Completely Knocked Down
CBU = Completely Built Up

If vehicles manufactured outside India are brought in as CBU, they attract higher taxes whereas, the ones brought in via CKD route are subject to lower tax rates since they provide employment to local resources.

Essentially, via CKD route, all components for the vehicle are brought in pieces and then assembled.
Old 22nd December 2008, 16:06   #101

[quote=AlokSriva;1102586]
Originally Posted by Avin View Post
what is CKD?
quote]
CKD = Completely Knocked Down
CBU = Completely Built Up

If vehicles manufactured outside India are brought in as CBU, they attract higher taxes whereas, the ones brought in via CKD route are subject to lower tax rates since they provide employment to local resources.

Essentially, via CKD route, all components for the vehicle are brought in pieces and then assembled.

Thanks for the information Alok
Old 22nd December 2008, 16:11   #102

The face lifted Innova has nothing new to offer!!Other than the more than required chrome treatment everywhere.
It is definetly old wine in new bottle(ooops..please read chrome bottle!!)
Old 22nd December 2008, 16:30   #103

Is it just me or is it the photos which makes the new model Innova look better? Apart from the puny wheels, I don't there's anything bad about the Innova.
Old 22nd December 2008, 16:40   #104

Only pic #15 looks good.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/attach...r-img_0086.jpg
Old 22nd December 2008, 16:42   #105

Looks a bling bling veichle to me Looking at the face lift even i would also pickup the current gen innova at decent discounts. I feel this is a golden month for one who is looking to buy innova.. December + news of facelift is perfect for a current gen innova buyer.