Old 8th April 2009, 08:57   #91

Originally Posted by harry10 View Post
Amit you might have seen the anniversary white color as i have not seen an all white in Vista till date. Not even heard of tata launching a white color.
No Harish. I am pretty sure it was all white as I saw it from a flyover clearly giving me an ariel view of the Vista. I would have known if it was an anniversary edition by looking at its roof. It didn't have a black roof.
Old 8th April 2009, 09:23   #92

all white vista's have been launched. pics were posted elsewhere in this forum !
Old 8th April 2009, 09:31   #93

Copy pasting from that thread. Here we go:

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-d...ml#post1235470
Old 8th April 2009, 13:45   #94

Yeah checked it right now. Well it seems Tata finally bowed to taxi owners demand and launched the white as well.
Old 8th April 2009, 15:17   #95

I do not face any issues distinguishing the old Indica and the Vista even from the rear. But yes, the non enthusiasts may not be able to do so.
Old 8th April 2009, 17:46   #96

Originally Posted by AkMar View Post
I do not face any issues distinguishing the old Indica and the Vista even from the rear. But yes, the non enthusiasts may not be able to do so.
Am not sure on enthusisasts vs non-enthusisasts, but yeah, over time it has become a bit easier to distinguish between the two.
Old 20th April 2009, 00:44   #97

Just got to park my Indica next to a new Vista last night.

I do not find any issue with Indica Vista having a similar identity with Indica. Infact I may buy Vista or Vista Sedan, only for this reason.

And of course, many may not be able to distinquish between the two easily. Whenver I see a Vista passing by, I say to my wife that we may perhaps buy that car. She would say why should we have same two cars!!

That's an Indica. Nope, Vista...Nah Indica!! SIGHHHH!-dsc01061.jpg

Last edited by sudheeshnairs : 20th April 2009 at 00:49.
Old 20th April 2009, 01:00   #98

Originally Posted by harry10 View Post
Yeah checked it right now. Well it seems Tata finally bowed to taxi owners demand and launched the white as well.
well yet to see any vista registered as taxi, dont think its the demand from taxi owner made tata to bring white colour. Moreover vista does not add any value to operate it as taxi.
Old 20th April 2009, 01:11   #99

so whats the deal guys

What is the problem with new car looking similar to the old one?

It is a new generation Indica - thats it. It is supposed to look like an Indica.
Thats why it is called "Indica" (vista)

Lets live with it, or else, lets create threads "Why the 2009 BMW M3 looks like 2005 BMW M3?"
Old 20th April 2009, 10:16   #100

Originally Posted by aerohit View Post
so whats the deal guys

It is a new generation Indica - thats it. It is supposed to look like an Indica.

Lets live with it, or else, lets create threads "Why the 2009 BMW M3 looks like 2005 BMW M3?"

I agree with this. Its much better to name/design/market the successor as one rather than taking something totally different and piggybacking on an old vehicle. Remember 'Zen' Estilo anyone?
Old 20th April 2009, 12:23   #101

so whats the deal guys

the tear-drop design of indica is still one of the most efficient formats. as they say why fix what is not broken
Old 20th April 2009, 17:37   #102

Simply because the Vista is targeting an upmarket / different clintelle than the regular Indica does. Further, they are being sold side by side (the Vista being at a premium). One of the major restrictions to the Vista's success has been its image.

The '09 M3 was a replacement for the '05, and has pretty much the same market positioning.
Old 20th April 2009, 18:02   #103

Originally Posted by sudheeshnairs View Post
Just got to park my Indica next to a new Vista last night.
Attachment 127366
That original shape still looks pretty neat - unlike the later 'V2', 'Xeta' or 'Turbo' shapes.

As someone here said, the original design (teardrop or whatever) was pretty good - that said, they could've changed the front view to distinguish it from its predecessor while retaining that profile.

Get rid of that smiley, Tata.
Old 20th April 2009, 18:23   #104

Very True. Even though the car is good and VFM package it has lost many customers including me because of its resemblance with old indica. Somebody who shells out about 5 lacs rupees will denfinetly dont want to call his/her car a taxi.If they had targetted premium buyers they could have put in a better and stylish rear end .IMO front look is quiet ok.
Old 20th April 2009, 18:27   #105

when the indica was launched 10 years ago, the entry level petrol, entry level diesel, and top level diesel cost 2.63, 2.99 and 3.99 lakh respectively. given 10 years of inflation, I think they're targeting pretty much the same segment with the saffire, TDi and Quadrajet

Last edited by greenhorn : 20th April 2009 at 18:29.