Old 14th October 2008, 09:25   #1

Oreva Super, A potential Nano killer?

An electric for Rs 1 Lac?

Oreva Super, an electric car could be India’s first car to be available within one lakh rupees. Ajanta Group, a Saurashtra-based clockmaker, plans to throw a challenge to the Nano project through its landmark Oreva Super project. The same will be priced between Rs 85,000 - Rs 1 lakh, thereby making it the cheapest small car in India. While the non-AC version is likely to be priced at Rs 85,000, the air conditioned one will be priced over one lakh rupees.

Read on,

Oreva Super: Another one-lakh car on the hunt

Moderators, Please merge the thread if already exists.
Old 14th October 2008, 09:32   #2

Neat huh?, looks like a two seater right with maybe a lil space for a Lab or a Pomm (dogs guys ! )
Lets see where this goes.
Old 14th October 2008, 09:50   #3

Just read about small car revolution in TOI. Many are going to attempt the same behind Nano's history. How many will succeed is something we have to wait and watch.

Good work from Ajanta group. Will be nice to see this in realty.

Where is Veesal Bhai? :lost:
Old 14th October 2008, 09:55   #4

if the car is what is shown at the pic, don't be fooled by its Indian origins.

that is a chinese electric vehicle called flybo 6000 zk.

it's cheap because it has parts that can fall of anytime, engine that can break down anytime, and is even unsafe than a maruti omni.

be sure to check this link before purchasing that POS.

Shandong Pioneer Motorcycle Co.,Ltd.

Flybo EV: Chinese Electric Smart Fortwo Clone Arrives In The U.S. - Carscoop

and of course, its a carbon copy of previous gen smart fortwo.

AT LEAST THE TATA NANO WILL BE SPACIOUS, SAFE, PROVEN and TRUSTWORTHY with a Tata name and good service backup than this chinese junk.

my advice: NEVER NEVER buy this car.
Oreva Super, A potential Nano killer?-2007516132621.jpg  

Old 14th October 2008, 14:16   #5

Originally Posted by sidindica View Post
if the car is what is shown at the pic, don't be fooled by its Indian origins.

that is a chinese electric vehicle called flybo 6000 zk.

my advice: NEVER NEVER buy this car.
And as usual a CHORI done by Chinese. copied the SMART design + BMW grill.
Old 14th October 2008, 14:31   #6

If this car is supposed to be a threat to the Nano then Lord save us all. Chinese products have always had huge reliability issues & I am sure this car is not going to be any different. However the price tag will surely attract some buyers in the semi-urban markets.
Old 14th October 2008, 16:43   #7

Cheap, unreliable, Intellectual Property violating, possibly toxic, Chinese crap. Its not worth our time discussing it.

IIRC Ajanta a few years back moved their factories from India to China so its hardly surprising they are importing Chinese knock-offs now.

Last edited by chncar : 14th October 2008 at 16:45.
Old 14th October 2008, 17:05   #8

They're not even original with the name - O Reva?

Kidney grille in front - I guess we'll see an M-Power badge in the rear?
Old 14th October 2008, 17:32   #9

Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
OReva is a brand name of Ajanta. They have some products already under that name.
OReva floor tiles are quiet a famous brand in the construction industry.

Oh! Where's Veesal bhai? He could've shed some light here.
Old 14th October 2008, 17:32   #10

Actually Oreva is a sub-brand of Ajanta for a long time (like Orpat). They have vitrified tiles (fixed by the builder in my apartment). Altho' I am not satisfied by their quality, they claim to be the largest vitrified plant in the country.

Sheer co-incidence their name is similar to the world's largest selling electric car?

Kidney grille in front - I guess we'll see an M-Power badge in the rear?
Saw it on the News on TV. Looks very much like the Merc Smart from the rear. But still looks bit ugly and hastily put together (like the e-bikes we see). Plastic panels and the car waddling like a duck on the road.

If it were really reliable, it would make a good buy. I'd buy 2!
Old 14th October 2008, 17:44   #11

How would they be able to price this electric car at 1 lakh when the other electric car Reva was unsuccessful in getting any subsidies/duty write-offs from the government in Maini's quest to reduce its cost ?
Old 14th October 2008, 18:02   #12

i think our western neighbouring country is a big fan of chinese technology, so this car should be exported to them, we have TATA to make NANO for us.

we are happy with chinese food!!

i was waiting to see who makes the mistake of posting about this car without checking its chinese origins! well some one did just that!
Old 14th October 2008, 18:55   #13

if the chinese really wanted to copy it they could have copied the smart as it is
whats the use of copying 96% of the car and just the grill to differentiate

but seriously, roaming around in a copy of some wellknown car at a cheap price could be very very embarrasing for the owner in my opinion
i wonder how the chinese manage to sell cars like these in volumes

also this copying business they are in will also hit the image of the car industries in china aswell ,i wonder how they dont realise it

Last edited by AMATMO : 14th October 2008 at 18:59.
Old 14th October 2008, 19:13   #14

I think that is because out their copying/piracy are just part and parcel of everyday life. People there do not really bother much about such stuff. I think everything, and particularly the automobiles there, look like rip-offs of things more popular elsewhere.

The problem only starts when they showcase it to the world. I am sure this one sells well in China. But the moment you all saw it you created a ruckus. Ditto about cherry (or cheri or some such name) which was another rip off that was doing ok till GM saw it haa haaaa... Ditto with Gulsar till Bajaj got a wind of it.

So its not really a big deal there AMATMO. They do not get worked up about it all. And the market there is so big that the local manufacturers earn enough selling domestically without having to bother about such petty stuff as image-shimage and all in the phoren markets.

P.S.: I hope Bajaj does not jump all over Ajanta guys for another violation. Long time back Bajaj also used to have a very popular 2 seater call Bajaj Super.

Last edited by Zappo : 14th October 2008 at 19:15.
Old 14th October 2008, 22:05   #15

Originally Posted by Zappo View Post
Ditto about cherry (or cheri or some such name) which was another rip off that was doing ok till GM saw it haa haaaa... Ditto with Gulsar till Bajaj got a wind of it.
Since you mentioned it:

Top 10 Copycat cars Gems Sty

Lifan creates MINI look alike - AKA Lifan 320 at China Car Times

The Chinese Humvee Copy - Eastwind EQ2050 Dongfeng EQ2050 at China Car Times

Another Chinese copy, the BYD F8 - MotorAuthority - Car news, reviews, spy shots

http://www.caradvice.com.au/14583/fi...d-from-europe/

Hell, they even copy HYUNDAI !!!

Copycat Cars – Price Over Quality | BizAims