Old 8th March 2012, 11:33   #181

re: Highest reading on the odometer!

The maximum I have crossed is 1.1L kms in my 96 M800 before selling it in 2007. Crossed 1L kms in three other cars being used simultaneously since 2005, 2007 and 2009 respectively. Nothing when compared to Mr HVK and others.
Old 8th March 2012, 11:53   #182

My 2001 Palio had clocked 110,000 KMS or so and was still going strong when I sold it last June. Drove like a dream even then.
Old 8th March 2012, 12:05   #183

Originally Posted by hvkumar View Post
TVS-Suzuki AX100 (1986): 1.25L, Daewoo Matiz (1999): 2.60L,
Goodness gracious- AX100@1.25LAC kms seems to be a Guinness record.

Even a Matix with 2.6 lac on the odo is unbelievable

the max I've seen is 99000 on my 1993 Padmini(which I got at approx 91000)

did the ax100 need an engine overhaul?
Old 8th March 2012, 12:08   #184

Originally Posted by vigsom View Post
Goodness gracious- AX100@1.25LAC kms seems to be a Guinness record.

Even a Matix with 2.6 lac on the odo is unbelievable

the max I've seen is 99000 on my 1993 Padmini(which I got at approx 91000)

did the ax100 need an engine overhaul?
I still have the AX100, although it has not been in use for the last 2 years thanks to a fuel tank leak (rusted) that I could not fix.
I have changed the piston rings twice in the AX100.

Daewoo Matiz I have overhauled the engine twice. That is my second car used over the weekends.

Scorpio still is on its original engine.
hvkumar is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th March 2012, 12:39   #185

I was in Baroda few weeks bad and had hired a full day taxi. The car was 2 years old Indido and it had 2.5 Lac on the odo.. and hats off to the driver, it was in sublime condition. That is the highest i have ever seen on the odo.
Old 8th March 2012, 12:48   #186

...Scorpio still is on its original engine.
Any major work done on the Scorpio? Or just general i.e. brakes, clutch etc?
Had to replace the AirMass sensor but that was the service stations mess up, and more recently the AC compressor had to be changed. Besides that I think the only other major was the Star Joints being replaced and of course brake drums. What about you?
Old 8th March 2012, 14:51   #187

140120 on my 2000 Wagon R VX.
Still going strong and no issues. The engine should be good for another 60-70 k KMS.
Old 8th March 2012, 20:29   #188

My ikon 1.6l is pushing 2.16 lac KM. only regular service my self. as this is very less in Miles. The fords in USA in some cases have crossed 234kmiles that is about 374 lackm.
Old 8th March 2012, 21:05   #189

Nice thread. A man is always curious about the other guys odo - Old Jungle saying...hehe

I do not know if I qualify for a single vehicle, but I think I have put a decent amount of rubber on the road in self owned vehicles:

//Ford Taurus SE -> driven 90K miles --> Sold in 2003 with no real issues on it. A few nagging tertiary issues had began cropping up (mostly electrical), but the V6 was still strong when I gave her up.
//Honda CRX (my darling) --> Bought 75K sold 110K miles --> Sold in 2005 with no issues on it. Regret my decision to date. Should have held on to her.
//Mercury Villager Estate 3.3L --> driven 65K miles --> Sold in 2011 to a friend. Ran like a tank and had the heart of a tireless horse.
//Nissan Maxima SE 3.5L --> Driven 113K miles --> Sold in 2009. Began giving O2 sensor issues repeatedly, but the V6 was still sublime and the sport suspension tight as a race car, when I let her go. Was my highway mile eater.
//Honda Civic --> Currently driving @ 33K miles on odo --> No issues. (Disclaimer: About 50% of this mileage is on my wife's driving account).
//Acura TL Type S --> Currently driving @ 48K miles --> No issues.

Net sum: ~380K Miles => ~600K kms driven in self owned vehicles to date. I do not have an accurate count of the driving I've done in rental vehicles over the years.

Funny thing is I have not driven a four wheeler for even a single km in India. (Pune was a city of two wheelers back in my day, and moreover a 4 wheeler was unaffordable for my family then). Each travelogue penned upon our Indian roads makes me realize what I am missing.
NinadJoshi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th March 2012, 21:11   #190

Our family car - Chevrolet Tavera had done close to 3.5L km in 4 years. Was fantastic even on the day that we sold it. We had travelled in that car all way to Jaipur in North and Kanya kumari in south. Unfortunately I never went on any of the long journeys.
Although it was a non Crdi engine it was a work horse. Tyres had been changed 6 times and we almost tried every company.
My FIL even had a blown tyre once near Manor.
In fact that was the same car which was my wife's carriage on our big fat Indian wedding... Super sweet memories 4 sure
Maverick1977 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th March 2012, 00:17   #191

Tata Indica DLS 2006, our family car is now 96,000 and counting. Needless to say, maintenance costs have gone sky high. Tires changed twice, struts replaced once, one or the other major repairs make a huge bill on every service interval. It never goes past 110, (pushed real hard on a stretch) stays at the number like its got a speed governor Does that mean its time to overhaul the engine?
Old 9th March 2012, 00:47   #192

175000 on our bolero GLX sold in 2010
99800 on my Accent GLE-sold in Jan 2012.
73K on my Karizma sold last week:(
Old 9th March 2012, 00:52   #193

I used to own a Volvo 244 that had clocked 398,000something kms on the odo, all driven by me (the odo had a six-digit window, so it'd reset only after a miilion clicks; says something about Volvos' confidence and assurance, eh?) when I sold her in 1989/90. She was still as good to drive as on day one. And barring consumables like tyres, one battery and minor items like a bulb or two, oils, filters, etc. almost everything on her was still stock.

We also, still have a 1958 Ambassador in the family that has clocked two lakh miles on the odo (approximately equivalent to 3.2 lakh kms) and the powerplant is still unopened, the paint and upholstery original too. She still performs perfectly whenever driven - the caretaker at the house (who's also one of our old drivers) fires her up at least twice a month and takes her out for a short burst around the locality. And, I do that too whenever I'm visiting back.
Old 9th March 2012, 03:19   #194

Crossed 3,00,000 kms in my 7-year old Scorpio last week.
300000 kms..!! This is legendary stuff. Last 2 days you must have clocked in another 1000kms..

My i20 has done 4800kms in 8 months..
I'll catch up with you soon.
arrowaby is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th March 2012, 09:40   #195

Crossed 3,00,000 kms in my 7-year old Scorpio last week.
Wow! HVK sir! that's nearly 117 kms per day (single driver). Hats off

though i have not crossed that elusive 1L mark on any of my individual vehicles still hers's my list (all figs rounded off) All are single driver driven.

1996 Kinetic Honda zx 47000 when sold
2000 OHC 1.5 75000 when sold
2002 HH Passion 59000 when sold
2005 Hyundai Santro 38000 when sold
2009 Indica vista qjd 35000 going strong
2009 RE TBTS 25000 going strong

Last edited by schitre05 : 9th March 2012 at 09:42.
schitre05 is offline   (1) Thanks