Old 29th December 2008, 16:29   #166

Originally Posted by hell_rider View Post
i don't think hyundai has ever offered a product with iffy build quality. i do believe their build quality is right up there.
I own two Hyundais and I know about their build quality. I mentioned it in quotes because I have not checked it myself and right now its a guess.
Old 29th December 2008, 16:31   #167

Originally Posted by hell_rider View Post
the swift can really move. highly doubt if the i20 can match up there.

and like the discussion is about, its what you want to pay for, an engine or bells and whistles.
how many of them shoots their swifts or i10 to their peak torque? lol i think swift's initial response is not good as i20. correct me if i'm wrong.

Originally Posted by joslicx View Post
depends where u want to drive. If 98% of the time it is city driving than i20 is better.

I dont think 80 bhp i20 would be "that" bad. Wasnt a 77bhp City a best seller?
yup right dude.
Old 29th December 2008, 16:36   #168

Isn't it suppose to be launched with 1.4 Lt baby under her hood . Anyways seems cuttest among its competition with fat baby swift .
Old 29th December 2008, 16:37   #169

Regarding pricing, right now it looks pretty good in comparison to the competition. Also i20 Magna is positioned about 10k cheaper than i10 Asta MT and that is a brilliant tactic considering the value adds in i20 in terms of size/space and maybe some thing more.

Last edited by appuchan : 29th December 2008 at 16:38.
Old 29th December 2008, 16:44   #170

Originally Posted by appuchan View Post
I appreciate Hyundai for launching this great car with an excellent pricing. I am sure a 1.4 litre version will be out soon with about 20-25k extra, as they did in the case of i10. Even then the pricing looks good considering the features, interior space and "apparent build quality".

high hopes my friend high hopes, thats what this whole country lives on what will be the next. only 20k difference no ways more like 50k
Old 29th December 2008, 16:57   #171

Originally Posted by WILDTHING View Post
high hopes my friend high hopes, thats what this whole country lives on what will be the next. only 20k difference no ways more like 50k
50k? i would say it would be close to 1 lakh, Getz CRDI is costing 6+lakh on road, I20 CRDI would cost at least 7+lakhs on road.
Old 29th December 2008, 16:59   #172

Originally Posted by revhappy View Post
Well Said Extreme_Torque!
If somebody has 5.5 lacs then
He would by the Vista QJD if:
1)He loves driving
2)Likely to do a lot of driving because of point 1
3)Concerned about running cost because of point 2

Let me think why would somebody buy i20
1)Doesnt like driving and doesnt care about engine specs
2)Keeps the car always in garage because of point 1 and is concerned about running costs
3)Likes to show off about the goodies inside but would never drive the car
I quite like your style of stating your opinions as a matter of fact. However its quite subjective to different people. Here is my list of what ppl will buy i20 over Vista QJD:

1) Cant stand the taxi image -> i20
2) Rate safety over thrill -> i20
3) Want audio mounted steering control, gizmos, chilled glove box, trip meter, etc -> i20
4) Want a petrol car due -> i20
5) Better resale -> i20 (subjective)
6) Want more space ->i 20

Its the same reason that some ppl pay more for an automatic version of the same car over manual. Manual is cheaper, gives more FE, is faster. However the automatic gives you convinience -> a feature that rates highest in my criteria when selecting a car.

In a country where bullock carts roam on express ways, 90% of time spent under 80 kmph, I would rather have a car with all the features, good music system, that isolates me from the external noise, has no niggling issues, and preferably automatic.

Mind you QJD is no Skoda RS either!

Having played the devils advocate, I do sincerely hope that Hyundai come with a better engine for the petrol heads. For most folks though (like my bro, and parents) this is a terrific package at a decent price point. If only they had not chosen biege interiors!
Old 29th December 2008, 17:00   #173

Originally Posted by throttleking View Post
50k? i would say it would be close to 1 lakh, Getz CRDI is costing 6+lakh on road, I20 CRDI would cost at least 7+lakhs on road.
getz crdi when selling in bombay was 6.5 laks.
Old 29th December 2008, 17:08   #174

Originally Posted by madhokritesh View Post
Guess Hyundai Website team was in a Sunday Holiday mood when they uploaded the site details with so many mistakes or is it the 31st party mood hahaha.
BTW wot does PAB (Passanger Airbag) ON/OFF Switch mean does that mean if u dislike ur co passenger u just switch his airbag off hahahahaha real funny this feature.
no no no. its not like that.

the on/off switch is for the following reasons.

1) if there is no front passenger with you. and you get into head on collision with something. the airbag will deploy even when there is no front passenger. its not useful and waste of the safety feature.

2) second is that when you have little kids in the front seat you are supposed to turn off the pass airbags as airbags deployment can hurt the kids.(babies are supposed to be seated in the back with thier own special seats )

this is the international norm. which we indians either dont know or dont care about.
Old 29th December 2008, 17:09   #175

new i20

I think the i20 rocks....
I have booked a test drive and will go and see if I can see and drive it tom....

A mentioned by someone do we think that the 1.4 engine will be also launched for the i20?

Sid....

Any updates from you on this???

Ash
Old 29th December 2008, 17:11   #176

WILDTHING - what do u mean by Getz CRDI when selling? isent it available now?
Old 29th December 2008, 17:13   #177

Originally Posted by throttleking View Post
I was talking about the 1.4 ltr Kappa. I think CRDI will be about 40-50k more.
Old 29th December 2008, 17:13   #178

Originally Posted by WILDTHING View Post
getz crdi when selling in bombay was 6.5 laks.
5.90 lakh in haryana and 6.05 lakh in new delhi.
Old 29th December 2008, 17:18   #179

Hey Guys...

I saw this price list on the website..

Its seems we in Mumbai will have to wait for the i20...

Btw whats the (O) in Asta meant for???

Ex-Showroom Prices for Delhi (Introductory Price) Model
Ex-Showroom Prices (Rs.)
i20 Magna
479900i20 Asta
559900i20 Asta (O)
Old 29th December 2008, 17:23   #180

Hyundai should have made airbags optional across all models