Old 2nd January 2009, 13:30   #1

Captiva AWD launching on Jan 26th EDIT: Now launched

Hey people

Just spoke with "someone" from General Motors chennai, and was told that the new captiva awd is getting launched on the republic day !!

Major changes are

1. automatic transmisiion
2. all wheel drive
3. number of airbags have been increased to 8
4. touch screen audio system with 2 lcd screen for second row passenger

ohh the price expected is 26 lac +

regards

vish

ps: i am not much of a writer, so please excuse the mistakes.

will post entire details as i am expecting the details to reach me by monday
Old 2nd January 2009, 13:54   #2

Originally Posted by machhan81 View Post
Hey people

Just spoke with "someone" from General Motors chennai, and was told that the new captiva awd is getting launched on the republic day !!

Major changes are

1. automatic transmisiion
2. all wheel drive
3. number of airbags have been increased to 8
4. touch screen audio system with 2 lcd screen for second row passenger

ohh the price expected is 26 lac +
The move is welcome except the price. The basic advantage is eroded. The AT, AWD and airbags move is appreciated, but they are gunning too much for luxury segment.
It was sometime back that the news about Captiva being assembled in India was floating. Any updates.
Also do post details about the AT.
Old 2nd January 2009, 15:16   #3

How much the current version costs? i am sure it wont be above 22L isnt it?
Old 2nd January 2009, 16:10   #4

Originally Posted by fx45 View Post
How much the current version costs? i am sure it wont be above 22L isnt it?
I think it is 18-19 L.
Old 2nd January 2009, 16:45   #5

26 Lac & launch on the 26th... how Ironic

It's too overpriced and it's CBU status is going to ruin the road tax further, putting the car at close to 30 lakhs on road! You can almost get 2 Endeavours at that price.
Old 2nd January 2009, 16:47   #6

If it is a CBU then doesnt this 26L take it well above USD 40k? didnt the GOVT. of India annoucne some new norms for this? OR that is something else?
Old 2nd January 2009, 19:05   #7

The OTR price in Hyd is 21 Lacs for the current FWD model.

26 lakhs for AWD!!!

The FWD vehicle would've been a good buy in the 16-18 lacs bracket and AWD for 20 Lacs max.

Another poorly positioned product from GM (GM-DAT). Wont these guys ever learn?

Last edited by Digital Vampire : 2nd January 2009 at 19:10.
Old 2nd January 2009, 19:13   #8

Wonder what GM is smoking these days! If the Captiva is priced at 26, wonder what Honda will do if and when the 2.2 CRV comes out.

I know, I know
Old 2nd January 2009, 19:24   #9

26 Lakh. People would rather buy a Petrol CR-V than to even think of the A/T Captiva as an option.
By the way, I like the fact that airbags will be increased to 8 and DVD player ( touchscreen ) + 2 screens are being provided.
Old 2nd January 2009, 19:38   #10

Its sometimes amusing at the price these manufacturers intend to sell their vehicles.I wonder what GM was thinking .Infact I dont think they were thinking before they came out with that pricing.
Old 2nd January 2009, 21:30   #11

Originally Posted by Digital Vampire View Post

26 lakhs for AWD!!!

Wont these guys ever learn?
There goes my dreams about Captiva! Now the Pajero 2.8SFX looks very good value.

But if 26L is OTR, then not much of a problem. Let's hope.

GMI must be emboldened with the response they got with 2WD Captiva's pricing. I always felt it was 1.5- 2 lacs overpriced.
Old 2nd January 2009, 21:39   #12

When are they planning to have this assembled inside India? CBU puts the price on the highest side. Time to get it done here. Else, they can forget this.
Old 3rd January 2009, 08:08   #13

Well the current version is 22lac 10000 on the road. Add about 10 more for a fancy number and 10 for side foot board. Well 2230000 is the price on road.

Is it worth it for 26 then?? NO! Not for for 26lacs. I would rather go for the Outlander.
Old 3rd January 2009, 09:10   #14

I think most Indian manufacturers think they can take the customers for a ride. This is a time where there is no dearth of options in any segment.. (Maybe the Nano is an exception )

This is the reason why we see ridiculous pricing and in the end expecting the products to sell. At 26L what exactly does GM even think they can achieve ? As someone quoted, we can buy 2 Endeavours.. or a CRV plus a Safari

On the flipside, maybe such highly priced products do sell.. people who have no idea about market pricing and just want a vehicle with all the cash to splurge!
Old 3rd January 2009, 09:29   #15

What is the source of the 26 lakhs price, i am pretty sure thats a overkill and at best it should be 2-3 lakhs more than the current model, i.e. 21-22 lakhs ex showroom.