View Poll Results: If not NANO, then what?
No options, its NANO all the way 30 40.54%
MARUTI 800/OMNI 17 22.97%
All other cars, not being made now 13 17.57%
Wait for the NANO's competitors 14 18.92%
Voters: 74. You may not vote on this poll

Old 12th February 2009, 13:52   #31

Well, why not look at :

1. Premier Padminis - Good RWD cars ranging around 50K
2. Contessa Classic 1.8 GL - Good RWD ranging around 75K
3. Jeeps - 2WD/4WD ranging upwards of 60K
4. Omnis are hard to come by, atleast the decent ones under 1L.
5. Ambassador Petrol 1.8L MPFi - wonderful car if you wanna be chafeur driven and can afford the fuel - Averages around 10 Max..

You could manage a decent MPFi Esteem if budget stretched to 1.5. The On Road of NANO will be around 1.3 to 1.4L Minimum.

Today Most Carburetted Petrol cars are available under 1L. The Premier 118NE etc.

In the MPFi range, choice is limited to Daewoo Ceilo / Nexia and Matiz only!
Old 12th February 2009, 14:06   #32

It has to be the 800. I sold my 2002 800 in 2007 for 1.2L. May be now, it would cost 1L. It had run only 30k. Rarely used second car.
Old 12th February 2009, 14:25   #33

Nano will be best choice but if you do not want to wait than you can go in for a nice 800 or santro or even old Zen or esteem if you get good piece. Nano's on road cost is going to be around 1.2 L so you may concider cars upto 1.3 lakhs. Won't suggest too old cars or discontinued bigger cars as 1. they will be high on running cost and 2. they will be very unreliable. You will be scared to give them to any lady members or go along with family too far as they could give trouble anytime.
Old 12th February 2009, 14:33   #34

1998/99 santros will be available for less than a lakh.
Old 12th February 2009, 14:53   #35

My choices for a lakh (Delhi prices):

If you want maintenance / fuel costs proportionate to initial cost, i.e. very low, and no AC:
Maruti 800 (2000 model or thereabouts).

If you can afford slightly higher fuel costs / maintenance cost:
Santro or Zen (1998 or so)

If you prefer "the thud" but don't minding a little extra maintenance:
Palio 1.6 (power), 1.2 (FE), Corsa, Corsa Sail

If you own a Petrol Pump AND a major stockist / supplier of Spare Parts AND a good non ASC mechanic:
Opel Astra

For Cielos, we'll need another poll for "2 cars for a lakh"
Old 12th February 2009, 14:54   #36

I can buy around Half a Dozen Fiats for a LAkh!!!
Old 12th February 2009, 15:03   #37

This url for carwale lets you search much better
Used Cars - Search used cars available for sale in India - CarWale.com

I found 69 cars in Hyderabad for the price range of 1 - 100000.

Contains 800's, 118 NE, Ford Escort etc.
Even a Tata Sierra and a petrol Amby.
Old 12th February 2009, 16:46   #38

Originally Posted by Cyrus43 View Post
I can buy around Half a Dozen Fiats for a LAkh!!!
Are you sure you can get me 6 Fiats in running condition for a Lakh? Maybe I should book my order with you

Last edited by headers : 12th February 2009 at 16:48.
Old 12th February 2009, 23:24   #39

I'd go for a car with character:

1. A junk Jeep or Gypsy

2. A Contessa 1.8

3. An Ambassador 1.8
Old 12th February 2009, 23:32   #40

w-124 who has a third owner.
Old 12th February 2009, 23:37   #41

after that, maybach after ONLY 10 YEARS

brand new-6 crore
value after 1st year-3 crore
value after 2nd year-1.5 crore
value after 3rd year-75 lakh
value after 4th year-37.5 lakh
value after 5th year-18 lakh
value after 6th year-9 lakh
velue after 7th year-4.5 lakh
value after 8th year-2.25 lakh
value after 9th year-1.1 lakh

source:Slumping economing crushing high-end resale values
Old 12th February 2009, 23:39   #42

Anything but a Nano for me, and I guess for everyone from CCU! Mamata Banerjee will get her cadres to stone every Nano plying in WB out of existence. How dare we show our "Nano" to Mamata-di?
Old 13th February 2009, 00:47   #43

Originally Posted by SS-Traveller View Post
Anything but a Nano for me, and I guess for everyone from CCU! Mamata Banerjee will get her cadres to stone every Nano plying in WB out of existence. How dare we show our "Nano" to Mamata-di?
Why not an IKON..... now a days we see IKONS from 1 to 1.5

Also lookout for Fiat UNO Diesel.... Cheap in maintenance also

hmmmm.........

Get a Cielo for 20K add a diesel engine for 60K other spares and reconditioning for 20K.... you get a diesel CIELO for 1,00,000

What said mates
Old 13th February 2009, 13:00   #44

@reitz: You will not get a ceilo for 20K, but 40K. If you have the time to spare then it becomes a good choice.. BUT

which mechanic is going to do it?
Old 13th February 2009, 17:43   #45

Im in for the Nano! Good car for inner City runabouts.
Most importantly I want to show/do my part to express solidarity with Tata for conceiving such a good product for India.