Team-BHP - Skoda plans to bring Yeti to life in India!

-   -   Skoda plans to bring Yeti to life in India! (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian-car-scene/53781-skoda-plans-bring-yeti-life-india-10.html)

Originally Posted by Guna (Post 1670034)
Looks like SX4 wagon version is on cards. If they can retain the original 4X4 ability of the hatch and launch with a diesel engine, it is worth even 12+ lakhs.

I missed to add that wagon version is likely to be a 7 seater

Rehaan's thread on Skoda at the Auto Expo has many pictures of the Yeti. All Yeti discussions can continue at this link:

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/auto-e...po-2010-a.html

This thread is closed.

I am waiting for the Skoda Yeti to get it as my next car.

I quite liked the format / size of the small SUV. Just perfect for my needs I think.

Does anyone know when it is going to be available?

Is anyone else waiting for it? If so, let us start a discussion about what we like about it.

I am waiting for a Yeti like SUV with an on road cost of less than 10L.

There is an existing thread on Skoda Yeti
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...ife-india.html

That will never happen !

As to waiting part, I definitely am, but not sure of the Skoda badge.
Also there was a rumor that highest end diesel version will be somewhere closure Laura Elegance. Keeping fingers crossed.

But I still feel that the 100 BHP TSI petrol may be an interesting one to watch out. As I mentioned in other threads, I don't see the petrol version rolling in, this year at least. This will not happen till lower displacement TSI engines start being produced in India (I mean 1.2/1.4/1.6 TSI).

I am sure many Fusion owners will be waiting :). I feel it is a logial upgarde for Fusion owners if priced around 12 lakhs onroad.

Guess anyone expecting Skoda India to price their Mini SUV at 12 Lakhs on road is stretching his/her imagination way too far.:Shockked:

For God's sake don't compare a Ford fusion ( which was a sub 4 meter hatch ) to a Skoda Yeti which is quite comparable in size (length , heights & width) with a Hyundai Tuscon.
To things in perspective Tuscon measure the same width as Yeti; albeit that Yeti is 10 cm shorter , thanks to minimal overhangs or flared bumbers. Even a Mahindra Scorpio - forgive me for using such a comparison to Skoda- retails for 12+ Lacs on Road in Bangalore for the top end version.

Skoda official mentioned on CNBC that Yeti would be priced comparable to Laura. I guess he was refering to the 2000 cc Diesel Engine. For in all probability they would be launching this version first with 4WD. If they can price it between 12 - 14 lakh bracket then it would be certainly a leader in the segment, eaating in to sales of Scorpio and Safari. But my hunch is that they would price it in the 16 - 18 lakh bracket.

Originally Posted by Guna (Post 1834042)
I am sure many Fusion owners will be waiting :). I feel it is a logial upgarde for Fusion owners if priced around 12 lakhs onroad.

I do not think yeti would be lesser than 15L.

Originally Posted by Rasputin (Post 1834126)
Guess anyone expecting Skoda India to price their Mini SUV at 12 Lakhs on road is stretching his/her imagination way too far.:Shockked:

For God's sake don't compare a Ford fusion ( which was a sub 4 meter hatch ) to a Skoda Yeti which is quite comparable in size (length , heights & width) with a Hyundai Tuscon.
To things in perspective Tuscon measure the same width as Yeti; albeit that Yeti is 10 cm shorter , thanks to minimal overhangs or flared bumbers. Even a Mahindra Scorpio - forgive me for using such a comparison to Skoda- retails for 12+ Lacs on Road in Bangalore for the top end version.

I said it will be an upgrade, not equal. Fusion length is 4 mt and Yeti is 4.2. Width is identical too. Fusion has cargo space of 330 lts a against 380 ltrs of yeti. Fusion has some sUV traits like high GC and Yeti comes with some 4X4 capabilities. For me it is a definite upgrade. If they price it close to 20 lakhs, it would loose those buyers but then that will be a diffarent story.

Not just Fusion, but many folks who are looking for some snob value and are ready to invest over and above Scorpio/Safari would be on the look out. Having said that the vehicle is a definite head turner with the plush feeling of a car plus decent off-roading capabilities and high GC.

As I said before, I have a gut feeling that even the petrol version would be eagerly looked out for, as you may get near similar performance and comfort equivalent to sedans like Altis/Civic.

Did I say something too atrocious? Well thats my take on Yeti!

Wouldn't Renault Duster be a better option for a 100 BHP mini SUV? It should be cheaper than the Yeti and probably does not carry the scary A$$ package that the Yeti does.

Waiting for a Skoda! No way, rather nowhere in my lexicon. Rather the Skoda dealers would do well waiting for customers despite their shoddy reputation in every respect.

Originally Posted by Guna (Post 1834042)

Exactly up gradation from Fusion to Yetti will be a good option. But we need to also think of the price/A$$/reputation of Skoda in India too. I believe in India we have some potential of Compact SUV like Yetti, but again from What brand :)

Thats the only sad story. So nice automobiles, every ones dream, but they get shattered in the sleep itself !

We now learn how not to dream a brand !